Jump to content

Roxio Community

Photo

Unable To Capture Hd Video

Video Capture 1

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Bill Mason

Bill Mason

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 12 February 2015 - 04:04 AM

I have just upgraded to NXT3 and am unable to Capture Video from my Panasonic DC-TM20. It is connected via a USB Cable. The camera details are shown the Video Drop Down Box. a notice says "please wait" and then I get another notice saying "Capture Device Lost." I cannot play the camera whilst it is connected to my PC so cannot save the movie elsewhere.

It always worked fine with all other products such as NXT2, NXT, Creator 12 etc. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. This is the first time I have used NXT3.

Bill

Edited by Bill Mason, 12 February 2015 - 04:06 AM.


#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 12 February 2015 - 04:12 AM

I have just upgraded to NXT3 and am unable to Capture Video from my Panasonic DC-TM20. It is connected via a USB Cable. The camera details are shown the Video Drop Down Box. a notice says "please wait" and then I get another notice saying "Capture Device Lost." I cannot play the camera whilst it is connected to my PC so cannot save the movie elsewhere.

It always worked fine with all other products such as NXT2, NXT, Creator 12 etc. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. This is the first time I have used NXT3.

Bill


I looked at that camcorder's specs. If it is the one that I think it is, it records to an internal card or an external card. You would NOT capture from that camera; you would just COPY the videos to your computer. You would use Windows to do the copying; not NXT3.

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#3 Bill Mason

Bill Mason

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 12 February 2015 - 05:26 AM

It copies on to a Memory Card or Hard Drive. I have recorded this movie on to the Hard Drive of the Camera. n connecting to the PC there is no facility to play or record the movie other than via Video Capture. I had tried opening in Windows etc but to no avail I have never had problem with NXT 2 or NXT.I am unable to make copy directly on to the computer from the had drive of the camera. I a operating in windows 7

#4 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 12 February 2015 - 06:03 AM

It copies on to a Memory Card or Hard Drive. I have recorded this movie on to the Hard Drive of the Camera. n connecting to the PC there is no facility to play or record the movie other than via Video Capture. I had tried opening in Windows etc but to no avail I have never had problem with NXT 2 or NXT.I am unable to make copy directly on to the computer from the had drive of the camera. I a operating in windows 7


Bolded text: Then you have a problem with the USB connection to /from the camcorder/computer or with Windows 7. When you explore your computer with the camcorder plugged in, do you see two entries with Windows? If not, try another USB port (unless a laptop). Do not use a hub or a USB port on the front of your computer.

Even if you got it connected, the capture might force that camcorder to act as an internet USB camera.

The program won't work if it can't see the camcorder; and that would be a Windows or computer hardware problem.

Edited by sknis, 12 February 2015 - 06:05 AM.

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#5 Bill Mason

Bill Mason

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 12 February 2015 - 06:28 AM

Thank you for your advice.
I do get two entries with Windows. Neither play.
I am connecting via a USB port on the front of my PC (not Laptop) so will try switching to the back of the Computer. I will get a new connector.

I have another system to edit Videos - Movie Plus X6. This picks up the movie in the camera Ok with the front USB and the same connector. I am able to download into the Serif Moviemaker. I am then able to Export Mpg files to a Folder from Serif and then download that file into Roxio NXT3.

This is not an ideal solution but I can at least get a movie from my Camera into Roxio via this method. I still need to get NXT3 properly operational so will try all the ideas you have put forward. I have only had NXT3 for a couple of weeks. Everything worked fine with NXT2.

#6 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,938 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 February 2015 - 07:14 AM

The only time you need to use "capture software" is when your camcorder uses tape as its storage media. With hard drive or SD cards you simply use Windows Explorer to copy the video files from the camcorder to your hard drive. Using "capture" is a waste of time.

What do you mean you get by "two entries with Windows. Neither play."?

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#7 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,281 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:28 AM

I hate to add to this but you are not looking in the right place...

Plug in your camcorder via USB.

Open Windows Explorer and look for something like this:

Attached File  Explorer - Camcorder.jpg   101.25KB   0 downloads


You see that this particular Camcorder shows up as 3 separate drives (H, I & J) :o

The top one is the removable memory card which contains both still and video files.

The middle is the built-in RAM (I don't use it) and the bottom one is the camcorder ROM containing software etc.

All you do is find your files you want and COPY them to your PC -_-

I use a folder on the PC for each project.Attached File  Explorer - Camcorder.jpg   101.25KB   0 downloads

#8 Bill Mason

Bill Mason

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 February 2015 - 01:59 AM

Wow. Some good information and something that I can experiment with. As you can gather I am not a computer"geek" so your diagrams will help me to find out the best way.
The thing that puzzles me is why Roxio NXT 2 opens them from the "Capture Video" of Roxio but NXt 3 does not. Has something changed or would it help if I Uninstalled and Installed again.

I have never tried anything with Windows Explorer so this is a new avenue for me to learn. I have been trying to play them with Windows Media Player, which is obviously wrong.

Thank you for your help.

.

#9 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,281 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 February 2015 - 05:22 AM

... computers 'open' things based on many things. File Extensions are one but often we may have clicked one of those Questions, 'Do you want to open this type of file/device/drive with....'

Users often click OK because they do not know but figure that the computer does :lol:

So most likely you clicked something in NX2 that you have not in NX3. Even so, what I am showing is a much better way to handle files ;)

#10 Bill Mason

Bill Mason

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 February 2015 - 06:25 AM

I have managed - but I have no idea how I did it.

I used Window Explorer and come up with 3 files from the Camera. ACCHD: DCIM: and MISC.

I then copied the one AVCHD into another Folder.

I then opened this file and was given three other Files AVCHDTN; BDMV and IISVPL. The first file, (AVCHDTN) when opened gave me THUMB.DTD and THUMB.TID which I could not open.
The next fie BDMV gave me four other files.CLIPLINE; PLAYLIST; STREAM; INDEX.BDM AND MOVIEOBJ.BDM.

As the most likely source of Video was STREAM I opened this one and was confronted with a whole list of sequential numbers. Each of these numbers, when clicked on was a scene from the HD Camcorder.

I then opened Roxio and was able to drag these across into Videowave.

If I double clicked on these numbers I was able to see the clip in a small box in the top left of my screen. I was unable to create a Thumbnail clip of these numbers to enable me to see what was in the clip. Any advice on how I could do this.

At least I can get somewhere but it seems very long winded.

Thank you for all your help so far.

#11 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 13 February 2015 - 07:12 AM

Look in the DCIM folder. That is usually where the files are stored.

Are you sure that when doing the copying that you didn't accidentally switch to a different drive?

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#12 d_deweywright

d_deweywright

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,780 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 February 2015 - 02:14 PM

Steve, the DCIM folder on my video camera is where the still photos are stored. The STREAM folder has the video clips.

Dave D-W

Beware the lollipop of mediocrity. Lick it once and you'll suck forever. - Brian Wilson

[ASUS M4N98TD EVO MB | Athlon II X6 440 (3.3 GHz) | 4GB DDR3 RAM | GE Force 750 TI video card | 1-500GB HD (C: XP, G: Win7 , D: - Apps, E: data & apps), 1-500 GB HD Data), L: 1-1 TB WD Green, M: 1 - 2TB Toshiba HD | 2 - LiteOn DH20A4P DVD burners | External Dell QFlix DX-20A6Q DVD +/- writer | ASUS-12B1ST Blu-Ray writer | Windows 7 (32-bit) | Creator 2012 | Tektronix Phaser 8560 solid ink printer | Epson R220 Photo/Disc printer | Ricoh GX 3110db dye sublimation ink | Epson Workforce 7610 all-in-one printer/scanner | Microtek i900 Scanner]
XP w/EMC9
XP w/EMC10
Win7 w/Creator NXT Pro
Win7 w/Creator NXT 2 Pro

Instructions for posting images in your post.
Contact Roxio/Corel Support to reset your Key after too many install attempts


#13 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,281 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 February 2015 - 02:41 PM

The mts or m2ts files in the Stream Folder are the video files or clips.

Each time you click Record a new file is created AND anytime a file reaches 4GB it is stopped and a new file created.

You need to load the clips (files) sequentially into VideoWave and you will have a Project.

Use the Dates they were created to keep things intact ;)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users