Sign in to follow this  
FrankieBabe

Installation Of The Easy Vhs To Dvd Program

Question

Hello from Australia,

I am brand new to the Easy VHS To DVD program. I have read lots of posts on this site getting ready to do some conversion of VHS tapes but would appreciate some advice on the following::.

What affect does the Data Rate have on the finished (converted) file?

Would some kind person to suggest the settings that will give the optimum quality that the tape is capable of? Currently the settings are: Frame Rate = Pal(25 fps) - Resolution = 720x576(Pal) - Data Rate = 10000

Regarding the Resolution setting - is there a way to determine what is the resolution the video tape? For setup/export purposes.

Many thanks in anticipation.

Operating System : Windows 7 Home 64 Bit

Make : ASUS

Processor speed : 3.40GHz

RAM : 8GB

Free hard drive space : 860 GB on Drive C :.6TB on external drive

• Like 1

18 answers to this question

MBPS directly effects Quality! HQ, 8 - 9 mbps is the way to go! VHS Tapes are low to begin with, about 335 X 576 for PAL at SP.

Using anything less than HQ for output will degrade the lower VHS quality even more...

Capture is out of your control but Output is not!

ALWAYS use HQ settings

Never exceed 1 hour for a 4.7 GB disc - if longer, use 2 discs or an 8.5 GB disc

That should keep you out of trouble ;)

• Like 1

Don't BATCH!

At least at first... Do one or 2 from start to finish and make sure you are happy with the results!

A lot easier to fix a basic mistake before you have spent hours getting there ;)

• Like 1

Thanks James for the heads up.

Just to clarify your previous reply specifically "ALWAYS use HQ settings"

I assumed your were referring to the output from the tape recorder. If this is so I cannot see such an output setting.

I would be grateful if you expanded on that specific point a little more - or point to a reference of some kind.

My only excuse is my 85 years of age and - presumably, some dementia setting in!