Gbob

Vhs To Dvd Plus Problem - Split From Hijacked Thread

Question

Hi,

I am new to this. I used Roxio vhs to dvd plus and recorded a vhs to my hard drive. Then burned the cd. I took the cd over to my Hitiachi DVD player and it will not play, Next I tried the living room DVD player it is a Sony and it did not play. It plays in the computer cd player. I need to be able to make copies of old VHS tapes that will play in all DVD set top players.

What can be done

Thanks.

• Like 1

10 answers to this question

I am not sure but it appears as though easy VHS to DVD plus burns disks that can not be read on older DVD set top players. I have 2 DVD players, a Sony and a Hitachi. Neither one of them can be more than 5 years old. Regardless if this is true I will be returning the product and search for something else.

I have a friend that recently gave me a copy of a movie made in 1974. It plays on both of my 5 year old DVD players.

This is an important issue.

What is going on here?

They should play. How did you make them (steps please). Can you take them to your friend's and see if they will play there. High end DVD players are sometimes very picky in what they will play. Will the play on your computer using a DVD player program?

Are you using good media (No Memorex or store brands). What burner do you have - can it burn to the type of media that you are using?

It is important to be accurate - you didn't burn to a cd did you?

Please only one post (thread) per issue.

• Like 1

Most likely, it's a combination of three things, the drive they were burned on, the brand/type of disc that was used, and the players themselves. The easiest thing to change, is the brand/type of disc.

For example, if you're using "x" brand discs, buy a few "y" and "z" (and maybe "t") brand discs and see if those work. (I've most often used Verbatim brand discs with good success.)

If you're using -R discs, try +R discs. Some players prefer one type over another.