Jump to content

Roxio Community

Photo

Unable To Select Folders To Burn


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 kewl2bme

kewl2bme

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 September 2015 - 05:17 AM

When creating a data disk, I am unable to select folders, I can select single files but not folders. When I select folders it only gives me the option for desktop only.



#2 kewl2bme

kewl2bme

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 September 2015 - 06:14 AM

Creator NXT2 is the version

Trying to do a data backup. When I hit the down arrow for select, I get the 'Folder -- Files'. If I select files, it will display the folder tree. If select folder, all I get is 'desktop'  no tree to select from.


Edited by kewl2bme, 05 September 2015 - 05:53 AM.


#3 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,913 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 September 2015 - 07:05 AM

Can you describe exactly what you are doing?



Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#4 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,025 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 September 2015 - 01:00 PM

Specifically What Program with in the Suite and what kind of folders?


Posted Image

#5 kewl2bme

kewl2bme

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 September 2015 - 06:00 AM

Trying to do a data backup.  When I try to select I get the 'Files  Folders' option.  If I select files I get a tree to select from but only for files.  If I select 'Folders', I get 'Desktop' and the desktop files in the folder. no tree is displayed to select from.

 

Version is Creator NXT2



#6 d_deweywright

d_deweywright

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,754 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 September 2015 - 01:48 PM

What version of Windows are you running?


Dave D-W

Beware the lollipop of mediocrity. Lick it once and you'll suck forever. - Brian Wilson

[ASUS M4N98TD EVO MB | Athlon II X6 440 (3.3 GHz) | 4GB DDR3 RAM | GE Force 750 TI video card | 1-500GB HD (C: XP, G: Win7 , D: - Apps, E: data & apps), 1-500 GB HD Data), L: 1-1 TB WD Green, M: 1 - 2TB Toshiba HD | 2 - LiteOn DH20A4P DVD burners | External Dell QFlix DX-20A6Q DVD +/- writer | ASUS-12B1ST Blu-Ray writer | Windows 7 (32-bit) | Creator 2012 | Tektronix Phaser 8560 solid ink printer | Epson R220 Photo/Disc printer | Ricoh GX 3110db dye sublimation ink | Epson Workforce 7610 all-in-one printer/scanner | Microtek i900 Scanner]
XP w/EMC9
XP w/EMC10
Win7 w/Creator NXT Pro
Win7 w/Creator NXT 2 Pro

Instructions for posting images in your post.
How to get your CD key "reset" after too many install attempts


#7 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,025 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 September 2015 - 02:44 PM

The steps should be from the Data/Copy tab of Creator NXT 2 Pro choose Backup and Restore.

 

Then Advanced Backup, then click on +Create a new backup.

 

Once there the add folder button at the bottom.

 

Now you said you have NXT 2 and did not specify NXT 2 Pro. There are differences between the two but I do not think BackOnTrack is even in the NXT 2 version.


Posted Image

#8 Brendon

Brendon

    Digiital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,380,237 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 05 September 2015 - 04:37 PM

kewltobme,

 

There are two distinct ways you can "do a data backup" in NXT 2. The first is 'Burn Data Disc', and the second is 'Backup and Restore'.

Because of the way you've said it, I'll guess you're using 'Burn Data Disc' Please correct me if I'm wrong.

 

When you're in 'Burn Data Disc' and select Add and then Folder you should see a display like this. This is in XP, and the display will be a little different in later versions of Windows.

Attached File  Browse For Folder.jpg   64.67KB   0 downloads

 

 

If you click on the little plus sign (+) alongside 'My Computer' a tree should be displayed showing your drives, each with a cross alongside. Clicking on those crosses will open those drives, and so on.

Attached File  Browse For Folder2.jpg   21.5KB   0 downloads

 

Is this what you were looking for?

 

Regards,

Brendon

 

 


P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
2 x DVDRW IDE 16X, in Windows XP, 7, and 8.

[This space unexpectedly left blank]


#9 kewl2bme

kewl2bme

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 September 2015 - 05:22 PM

OS is Windows 10



#10 kewl2bme

kewl2bme

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 September 2015 - 05:38 PM

Using MS edge and am unable to paste screen shot into this window.



#11 Brendon

Brendon

    Digiital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,380,237 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 05 September 2015 - 05:50 PM

Well, NXT 2 isn't compatible with Windows 10 anyway.

 

Pity you hadn't told us more details when requested in the start - it would have saved us wasting some time..

 

Regards,

Brendon


P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
2 x DVDRW IDE 16X, in Windows XP, 7, and 8.

[This space unexpectedly left blank]


#12 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,025 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 September 2015 - 02:38 AM

Brendon is correct, just not going to happen... :(


Posted Image

#13 d_deweywright

d_deweywright

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,754 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 September 2015 - 03:06 AM

One more thought before we completely abandon this, can you drag folders from the built-in Windows Explorer in Win 10 into the project?  (Yes, guys, I realize NXT 2 isn't W10 compatible, but thought this is worth a shot.)


Dave D-W

Beware the lollipop of mediocrity. Lick it once and you'll suck forever. - Brian Wilson

[ASUS M4N98TD EVO MB | Athlon II X6 440 (3.3 GHz) | 4GB DDR3 RAM | GE Force 750 TI video card | 1-500GB HD (C: XP, G: Win7 , D: - Apps, E: data & apps), 1-500 GB HD Data), L: 1-1 TB WD Green, M: 1 - 2TB Toshiba HD | 2 - LiteOn DH20A4P DVD burners | External Dell QFlix DX-20A6Q DVD +/- writer | ASUS-12B1ST Blu-Ray writer | Windows 7 (32-bit) | Creator 2012 | Tektronix Phaser 8560 solid ink printer | Epson R220 Photo/Disc printer | Ricoh GX 3110db dye sublimation ink | Epson Workforce 7610 all-in-one printer/scanner | Microtek i900 Scanner]
XP w/EMC9
XP w/EMC10
Win7 w/Creator NXT Pro
Win7 w/Creator NXT 2 Pro

Instructions for posting images in your post.
How to get your CD key "reset" after too many install attempts


#14 kewl2bme

kewl2bme

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 September 2015 - 02:28 PM

Thanks for your help... Sorry to have wasted your time and energy



#15 Brendon

Brendon

    Digiital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,380,237 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 06 September 2015 - 03:29 PM

Thanks for your help... Sorry to have wasted your time and energy

 

's okay. We have the time and energy to try and help you so please don't let me put you off asking. It's just easier if we can get as much info as early as possible. :)


P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
2 x DVDRW IDE 16X, in Windows XP, 7, and 8.

[This space unexpectedly left blank]


#16 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,025 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 September 2015 - 02:46 AM

 

's okay. We have the time and energy to try and help you...  :)

 

I Second! :D


Edited by Jim_Hardin, 07 September 2015 - 02:47 AM.

Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users