Jump to content

Roxio Community

Photo

Capture Application Crashes When I Try To Login To Twitch

Livestream gaming Roxio Game Capture HD PRO

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic

#1 ShadowArchAngel

ShadowArchAngel

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Citrus Heights, CA
  • Interests:Metal music, Skinny Jeans (cut-offs or non-cut doesn't matter), FPS Games (Call Of Duty and Battlefield Mostly), Gothic themed art, clothing, furniture, Gothic anything really lol, and Anime.

Posted 28 January 2017 - 10:18 AM

Hey here Roxio community, I'm having a repeated issue of my capture software being unable to login to my Twitch account nor can I do anything with the Youtube account for it due to it crashing every single time I attempt to login. I am running on windows 10, I don't want to be forced to downgrade back to windows 8 just to livestream like I used to be able to, is there a fix for this? Perhaps a specific file that I can download and replace with the existing file used for the livestreaming components? Anything that will solve this issue or anything to suggest doing other than reverting my OS is welcome. Thank you for reading!



#2 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,528 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 January 2017 - 02:31 PM

Did you even read any of the threads below yours, before you posted?   There is one right below yours.


  • ShadowArchAngel likes this

Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

 


#3 ShadowArchAngel

ShadowArchAngel

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Citrus Heights, CA
  • Interests:Metal music, Skinny Jeans (cut-offs or non-cut doesn't matter), FPS Games (Call Of Duty and Battlefield Mostly), Gothic themed art, clothing, furniture, Gothic anything really lol, and Anime.

Posted 10 February 2017 - 11:13 AM

Did you even read any of the threads below yours, before you posted?   There is one right below yours.

Yes, I did, the issue is though, unlike them mine worked with windows 10 before and is now suddenly not working. I figured there might be a way to fix it if that were the case, which it is.



#4 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,934 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 February 2017 - 02:00 PM

If it worked before and now suddenly doesn't then something has changed in your system. What updates,etc have you done to your system?


  • ShadowArchAngel likes this

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#5 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,198 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2017 - 05:12 AM

Got the SP 2.1 installed? (Help - Check for Updates)

 

If so, have you run it again since this started and have it do 'Repair'?


  • ShadowArchAngel likes this
Posted Image

#6 Joe Grover

Joe Grover

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 February 2017 - 09:03 AM

I have the same issue.  Since I see a number of folks saying they're using Windows 10 I tried a Dell Mobile Workstation at the office that still has Windows 7 on it and it still crashes upon trying to log into Twitch.  I'm going to try Open Broadcaster Software on this machine as I had little luck getting it to recognize as a video capture card on my Windows 10 machine (no video would pass through to OBS, though it would show up in Capture mode in the Roxio software).

 

I'll add that I have installed the 2.1 update. This is a new purchase I just received yesterday, so I don't have a "it worked previously" story, heh.


Edited by Joe Grover, 15 February 2017 - 09:05 AM.


#7 ShadowArchAngel

ShadowArchAngel

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Citrus Heights, CA
  • Interests:Metal music, Skinny Jeans (cut-offs or non-cut doesn't matter), FPS Games (Call Of Duty and Battlefield Mostly), Gothic themed art, clothing, furniture, Gothic anything really lol, and Anime.

Posted 18 April 2017 - 01:08 PM

If it worked before and now suddenly doesn't then something has changed in your system. What updates,etc have you done to your system?

Honestly I wish I knew for certain however, I did do a bit of folder scanning(in other words I looked through each individual folder for the installed program) and noticed that there were no files relating to twitch at all but there were files that were for youtube I thought that was odd, maybe I really am missing some critical files that is causing the crash? I can show you what I mean via screenshot if that'll be any help. Because otherwise I am lost on what to do I already tried to do a factory reset on my Laptop but.. I discovered that the option to do so has, for some reason, been removed(or I am unable to locate it through the areas it should be located) even when I boot the Laptop via Advanced Startup.



#8 ShadowArchAngel

ShadowArchAngel

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Citrus Heights, CA
  • Interests:Metal music, Skinny Jeans (cut-offs or non-cut doesn't matter), FPS Games (Call Of Duty and Battlefield Mostly), Gothic themed art, clothing, furniture, Gothic anything really lol, and Anime.

Posted 18 April 2017 - 01:19 PM

Got the SP 2.1 installed? (Help - Check for Updates)

 

If so, have you run it again since this started and have it do 'Repair'?

I have. Actually there is one thing that I just remembered that seems odd to me, besides the fact that it suddenly stopped working, I had my account logged in and I don't recall needing to log in more than once since I always use the "remember me" check box but the day this started to occur I was trying to sign in when I should have already been logged in by default, I never even noticed that until now I didn't think anything of it really.


Edited by ShadowArchAngel, 18 April 2017 - 01:20 PM.


#9 ShadowArchAngel

ShadowArchAngel

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Citrus Heights, CA
  • Interests:Metal music, Skinny Jeans (cut-offs or non-cut doesn't matter), FPS Games (Call Of Duty and Battlefield Mostly), Gothic themed art, clothing, furniture, Gothic anything really lol, and Anime.

Posted 18 April 2017 - 01:25 PM

Well I think I just discovered my issue a troubleshooter file I ran discovered corrupt patch registry keys along with corrupt files preventing any proper installation AND uninstall from finishing correctly



#10 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,528 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 April 2017 - 03:05 PM

Well I think I just discovered my issue a troubleshooter file I ran discovered corrupt patch registry keys along with corrupt files preventing any proper installation AND uninstall from finishing correctly


Good. Case closed.

Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

 


#11 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,198 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 April 2017 - 02:32 AM

Well I think I just discovered my issue a troubleshooter file I ran discovered corrupt patch registry keys along with corrupt files preventing any proper installation AND uninstall from finishing correctly

 

But does it work now?

 

I find that explanation a little far fetched... Most Reg Cleaner always find something, usually many things, to make themselves look self important.

 

And why would it not affect any and all program installations? Likewise the uninstall or repair should be enough to fix it.


Posted Image

#12 Kai Hiwatarii

Kai Hiwatarii

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 May 2017 - 10:45 AM

I am having the same issue as everyone here.
It is strange though because everything worked perfectly fine for about a year on my laptop until recently. 
Now every time I go to log into twitch using Roxio, the second I hit that log in button, the application crashes.

What I have tried;

- Reformatted my computer to factory restore settings.

- Reinstalled the Roxio software and fully updated.

- I tried to mess around with the settings however nothing seemed to work.

- Tried two different twitch accounts.

- Laptop is up to date.

- Logging in after deactivating anti-virus

 

What I am still in need to try;
- Using the software of a different laptop.

 

Below are pictures of the crash and my dxdiag.

 

 Untitled_zps5icnffil.png

Untitled_zpse8htnczy.png


Edited by Kai Hiwatarii, 06 May 2017 - 10:49 AM.


#13 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,198 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 May 2017 - 03:08 AM

When you reformatted to factory settings did this included any updates that were recorded into that? The restore from a partition that was on there when new would not normally allow any updates.

 

After format did you update Windows? (could be a windows update causing the issue)

 

Did you try it out before adding any updates to the Roxio software?

 

It would be nice if you can try another PC to test the software on but these things can be madding!


Posted Image

#14 Kai Hiwatarii

Kai Hiwatarii

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 May 2017 - 06:58 PM

Hi there, sorry for the late reply but thank you for your reply.

 

I just thought I would put together an update, since my last post I tried the following to resolve;

 

- I tried my flatmates Laptop however the same problem happens. 

- I tried before and after updating the roxio software

- Windows is fully up to date. 

 

To summarise my problem, The recording kit still captures and records however the problem is with streaming. Anytime I click the login button to Twitch, the application crashes which I would assume is an issue with the software communicating with Twitch

 

All troubleshooting What I have tried;

- Reformatted my computer to factory restore settings.

- Reinstalled the Roxio software and fully updated.

- I tried to mess around with the settings however nothing seemed to work.

- Tried two different twitch accounts.

- Laptop is up to date.

- Logging in after deactivating anti-virus

- I tried my flatmates Laptop however the same problem happens. 

- I tried before and after updating the roxio software to 2.0

- Windows is fully up to date. 

 
All together I have given up, I will contact Roxio just to let them know of the issue in hopes they fix this bug however I believe I have done all troubleshooting to resolve. Its a shame though because this kit was perfect and was working perfectly and I loved it. I dunno if it is worth contacting Twitch in case the bug is on their side but I don't think anyone has found a resolution to this problem. 


#15 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,198 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 May 2017 - 01:30 PM

OBS would be worth a try to see if it works through that. It is the only software I know of that works with Roxio's GameCap.

Take a look OBS download: HERE and OBS Setup from Roxio: (Open Broadcast Streaming)
HERE


Posted Image

#16 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,528 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 May 2017 - 12:41 PM

Pixel, the short reply is, you are wrong.

Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

 


#17 Pixel Bandits

Pixel Bandits

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 28 May 2017 - 08:21 AM

No. You've told me yourself to create a new thread when my issues were exactly the same as the op.

#18 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,198 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 May 2017 - 03:15 PM

Time to put this one to sleep...


Posted Image





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Livestream, gaming, Roxio Game Capture HD PRO

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users