Jump to content

Roxio Community

Photo

Trouble Using Video From My Iphone


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Flygalpam

Flygalpam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 October 2017 - 03:50 PM

I have made a lot of videos over the years with my Easy Media Creator/Videowave but have been away from it for about 5 years because I bought a Mac.  I really never learned how to use Final Cut Pro and I really miss making videos.  Anyway, my husband bought me a HP laptop so I can go back to my old favorite Video Program.  The problem is, I made a short 10 minute video with photos and video clips from my Iphone.  Everything shows up right in the preview but when I try to render it the rendered copy is white with sound only for the portions with the video clips.  Is there a quick answer about what I am doing wrong?  Thanks!

 

Pam



#2 Flygalpam

Flygalpam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 October 2017 - 06:18 PM

I may have answered my own question, I have been playing around with the Video file choices with rendering.



#3 Flygalpam

Flygalpam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 October 2017 - 07:38 PM

I got the format right and rendered my movie as a MPG4 file, it works great on my computer.  Now my problem is I move the movie to my ITunes playlist to play on my A??pple TV and while it shows up on my computer playlist just fine, it is not on the playlist on my TV through AppleTV.  Any ideas?



#4 Brendon

Brendon

    Digiital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,380,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 04 October 2017 - 10:00 PM

Which Easy Media Creator are you using, Pam?


Assorted computers in Windows XP, 7, and 10.

[This space unexpectedly left blank]


#5 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,518 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 October 2017 - 01:16 AM

Also, how did you Add it to your iTunes? (step by step)


Edited by Jim_Hardin, 05 October 2017 - 01:17 AM.


#6 theoldarchiver

theoldarchiver

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 626 posts

Posted 05 October 2017 - 07:55 AM

Not all MP4s are created equal. The Apple TV may want an MP4 with just the right settings. There are now five generations of Apple TV media players (which one do you have?); each has its own limitations to what it can play/decode. E.g. the second generation (2010) can handle 720p but not 1080p. The profile (Simple/Baseline/Main/High/…) and level (3.0/3.1/4.2/…), and possibly a few other parameters can also influence compatibility.

What software did you use to convert to MP4 (was it with Easy Media Creator/Videowave?), with what exact settings?

Can you get other local movie files to show up in the playlist? In other words: Is the issue will every movie file, or only this one file?

Do you have Home Sharing enabled on each of your devices, but on five or less computers? Are all devices (iTunes, Apple TV) on the same network? Has the same Apple ID been used?



#7 Flygalpam

Flygalpam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 October 2017 - 12:34 PM

Thank you for replying.  I got frustrated and took a break for a while, now I am back.  I think part of my problem is the Quicktime movies from my Iphone.  I will have to convert them to use them.   I don't remember what I need to convert them to in order to use them.  The I am using Roxio VideoWave from Easy Media Creator 10.

 

The movies I made a few years ago play just fine on my AppleTV, I just don't remember how I rendered them.

 

As for how I moved them into ITunes, I did it the same way I add movies when I buy them.  I move them off my desktop by trackpad into the ITunes Movie library. 

 

I can't believe how much I have forgotten!  Going between PC and Mac is very confusing.  I wish my son had never talked me into the Mac!



#8 Flygalpam

Flygalpam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 October 2017 - 12:37 PM

Sorry, I have no idea which Apple TV I have...it is a little black box.



#9 Flygalpam

Flygalpam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 October 2017 - 01:09 PM

My husband just informed me we have the 3rd generation Apple TV.



#10 theoldarchiver

theoldarchiver

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 626 posts

Posted 09 October 2017 - 09:51 AM

We have the 3rd generation Apple TV.

 

OK, now we know what the player officially can play:

Video Formats

  • MPEG-4 Part 10 AVC/H.264 video up to 1920×1080 pixels (HD), 30 frames per second, High or Main Profile level 4.0 or lower, Baseline profile level 3.0 or lower (non-HD) with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps per channel, 48kHz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats
  • MPEG-4 Part 2 video up to 2.5 Mbps, 640×480 pixels, 30 frames per second, Simple Profile with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps, 48kHz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats

 

Easy Media Creator 10 was from 2007-2008. Not sure if H.264 output was an option back then. I don’t have means to check its MPG4 output options and/or properties unless someone provides a sample file. Do check if the output file from your video editor conforms to Apple TV Gen 3 restrictions, e.g. with MediaInfo. It may conform perfectly fine, and the issue may lie elsewhere, but I think it has to be ruled out to continue.

 

Apple TV can browse iTunes Libraries with the same login (Apple ID), and on the same network (router), and with Home Sharing enabled (in iTunes and on the Apple TV). E.g. if Home Sharing isn’t enabled on iTunes where this new video file is added, then that Library will not be shared and will not show up on the Apple TV. If you have set restrictions to only share selected playlists, then make sure that includes Movies/Home Videos/whatever media kind it is added to.



#11 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,518 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 October 2017 - 08:16 AM

Thank you for replying.  I got frustrated and took a break for a while, now I am back.  I think part of my problem is the Quicktime movies from my Iphone.  I will have to convert them to use them.   I don't remember what I need to convert them to in order to use them.  The I am using Roxio VideoWave from Easy Media Creator 10.

 

The movies I made a few years ago play just fine on my AppleTV, I just don't remember how I rendered them.

 

As for how I moved them into ITunes, I did it the same way I add movies when I buy them.  I move them off my desktop by trackpad into the ITunes Movie library. 

 

I can't believe how much I have forgotten!  Going between PC and Mac is very confusing.  I wish my son had never talked me into the Mac!

 

You are using too many 3rd party software programs to do what is built into the software you have. (not saying that is the reason, but it is a contributing factor).

 

Add movies through iTunes itself. File - Add Movie to Library or Add Folder to Library.

 

Let's try a test file. Grab something, anything short (10 seconds long is all you need).

 

Throw it into either VideoWave or Copy and Convert Video.

 

Export it using the H.264 or MP4 option for Compression.

 

Add it to your iTunes Library as I indicated and see what it does ;)

 

Archiver: H.264 came out in 2003 But I don't have Creator 2010 installed anywhere to run an actual test it. Likewise any version of Apple TV will play any resolution of MP4 file since Apple TV 2 came out. I run SD on my 2 & 3 all the time when HD is not available as well as some older Laser Disc conversions I have :lol:



#12 Flygalpam

Flygalpam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 10 October 2017 - 11:16 AM

Thank you for the suggestions.    My movies are added to Home Movies, just like the old ones that work are, they just do not show up on Apple TV.  I will play around with your suggestions and let you know what happens.



#13 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,518 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 October 2017 - 01:47 AM

Keep track of your steps and settings so we can try to duplicate it after your test.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users