Jump to content

Roxio Community

Photo

Roxio Easy Cd And Dvd Burning


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Genealogybuff

Genealogybuff

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 October 2017 - 01:04 PM

I just downloaded this software and installed it on my computer running Windows 10. The add for the product says it will run in either 32 or 64 bit. After installing and I tried to use it the program is slow to load, slow to get from on screen to the next and when I select something I get an hour glass forever! When I run task manager it tells me this program is running in 32bit mode. This sucks!!!! Have I spent $50 + dollars for nothing?



#2 Brendon

Brendon

    Digiital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,380,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 06 October 2017 - 01:17 PM

It is a 32-bit program. I have it running quite rapidly in Windows 10, so something on your system must be slowing it down.

 

Roxio has a 30 day return policy if you bought it direct from them.


Assorted computers in Windows XP, 7, and 10.

[This space unexpectedly left blank]


#3 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,518 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 October 2017 - 01:22 PM

All or Roxio programs are 32 bit which will run on both a 32 bit or 64 bit PC.

 

It shouldn't load all that slow. I get 4 seconds to load on my Win7 and 7 seconds for Win 10. As Brendon says, something in your system is slowing things down. If you are in your Task Manager, look at performance Both my PCs show 1% up to 3.5%.

 

Let us know what you see on yours.



#4 Genealogybuff

Genealogybuff

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 07 October 2017 - 05:17 AM

OK, here is what is happening: I have the program loaded and it now opens rather quickly. I also have some videos in VOB format I want to burn to DVD. After opening the program I select video/movies. Then I select create dvd's. My DVD opens. Select DVD. Title screen opens and I give it a name. Then in upper left I select add new movie. Window with the folder the VOB format movies are in opens. I select which movie I want to burn to dvd and type the name in the file name line. I then select add. A window titled "import movie from fob" opens with nothing in it. At the bottom of the window it says "no movies shown". At this point I am dead in the water. Can't do anything further.

 

If I am doing something wrong or out of order please tell me what the correct steps are to burn a video to DVD.



#5 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,518 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 October 2017 - 03:59 AM

Only thing I see missing from your description is the option to choose which movie(s) to use after picking the IFO or VOB file...

 

Here is the sequence from the test sample I made this morning"

 

Add New Movie: (pick any shown)

Image3.jpg

 

Choose the movie: (may be more than one)

Image4.jpg

 

Added to Project:

Image5.jpg

 

Preview of Project:

Image6.jpg

 

That is what you should be seeing as you go through the steps???



#6 Genealogybuff

Genealogybuff

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 08 October 2017 - 05:03 AM

I think I see the problem but not sure what to do about it. I have 9 videos that I converted to VOB format. The are in a folder in my "Movies" folder. These are the ones I want to burn to DVD. I see yours have the VOB and IFO indicators. When I click on the add movie the same window comes up with all 9 videos but all just show as VOB. When I click on one and then click add, the import movie from VOB comes up but nothing is in the window. 



#7 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,969 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 October 2017 - 06:29 AM

How did you convert to VOB forma? Do you have a Video_TS folder under your myMovies folder?

Videos in the "VOB format" are only created when authouring a DVD. This creates a Video_TS folder which will contain the files as shown in Jim's first image in his post.

 

So please explain exactly what you are doing



Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#8 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 08 October 2017 - 08:12 AM

VOB = mpg2 .  Try changing the extensions of those VOB files to mpg2.  Do the VOB files all show properties other than zero?


PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#9 Genealogybuff

Genealogybuff

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 08 October 2017 - 08:50 AM

I converted  the mp4 videos to VOB using a mp4 to VOB converter. I did this because I HAD a program that would convert just about any file format to a VOB. I could then use the same program to burn the vob file to a DVD and it would play on any of my DVD players or on my PC. That program went south. So I then chose and downloaded the Roxio program thinking (maybe incorrectly) that roxio would be as simple and I could just take my converted mp4 video files to VOB and burn to a DVD and all would be good. I guess this is not the case. I did look at the properties in some of the VOB video files and there are items there, no zeros. 



#10 Brendon

Brendon

    Digiital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,380,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 08 October 2017 - 01:26 PM

Genealogybuff,

 

The "full" version of Roxio Creator will take your original MP4 files and render them direct to DVD, and this would have been the easiest path for you to follow. 

However Easy CD & DVD Creator has been deliberately cut down so that it won't handle MP4s, and then sold cheaply. You may consider quickly arranging a return and refund from Roxio since the program won't do what you need.

 

As for VOBs - they are container files or "Video Objects" which carry interwoven Mpeg video and audio streams. They have companion IFO  or "Information" files which carry all the navigational information about the VOB contents, such as menu functions, chapter start and end, and where subtitles are stored in the VOBs.  Each DVD carries a set of VOBs and their matching IFOs, and you should always deal with them as VOB/IFO sets.

If you remove the IFOs and have bare VOBs, your importing program can't tell where a movie starts and finishes - as you saw when you tried it.

 

You can treat VOBs as if they are separate MPG files, and import them like that. Rename them to MPG and then import them.  It's not as good as IFO/VOB sets, though.

 

Regards,

Brendon


Assorted computers in Windows XP, 7, and 10.

[This space unexpectedly left blank]


#11 Genealogybuff

Genealogybuff

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 08 October 2017 - 02:38 PM

Thanks to everyone for the information. I will take your suggestion Brendon and return the program for a refund. Thanks again and have a great week.



#12 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,969 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 October 2017 - 08:37 PM

If you were to change the vob extension to mpg, the movies can be added without problems.

 

I just duplicated your problem by creating a vob file - it would not add. I then changed to vob to mpg and it added with no problems



Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#13 Brendon

Brendon

    Digiital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,380,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 08 October 2017 - 09:49 PM

As I said . .

 

"You can treat VOBs as if they are separate MPG files, and import them like that. Rename them to MPG and then import them.  It's not as good as IFO/VOB sets, though."


Assorted computers in Windows XP, 7, and 10.

[This space unexpectedly left blank]





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users