4 replies to this topic

#1 Squid3660

Squid3660

Rookie

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 31 January 2007 - 01:54 PM

Hi!  I am trying to burn a 900MB mp4 to a DVD-DL.  I had planned on adding other video to the DVD-DL as well, but after I dragged the 900MB mp4 file over to the blank Toast 8 DVD-Video window, the DVD-DL green bar filled up about 90%.  

Does anyone know why this is?  The specs on the mp4 are:

Video: H.264/AVC, 752 x 480, 23.97 fps
Audio: MPEG-4 Audio, Stereo, 48000 Hz

I am really bummed cause I spent quite a while encoding this mp4 file from a VOB (I needed subtitles burned onto the video, and Toast 8 refuses to work with subtitles).  Also, this is my first attempt at working with MP4 to DVD, so I was excited that I could fit lots of small size MP4s on one DVD and have like 4 or 5 hours worth of MP4 video playing on a single DVD-DL.  I guess thats now how it works.

Can anyone explain whay this 900MB file is taking up so much space on the DVD-DL?  The original VOB file was only 4G.  

Thanks!

#2 tsantee

tsantee

Digital Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,515 posts

Posted 31 January 2007 - 04:19 PM

As I understand this you are wanting to keep the video in MP4 format. In that case, burn it in the Data window. It won't be playable as a video DVD, though, because that requires MPEG 2 format.
I'm just a fellow Toast-user so please don't blame Roxio for any misguidance I may provide. And do let me know if your issue gets solved. Cheers from Eugene, Oregon!

#3 Squid3660

Squid3660

Rookie

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 01 February 2007 - 12:28 PM

No... actually, I wanted Toast to see the MP4 file that I drug into the DVD video pane and realize that I wanted to burn that as an mpeg-2 file on a video dvd, which would be playable on a dvd player for my viewing enjoyment.  

Does it not work this way?  Let me guess..... no.  ::SIGH::   :)