Jump to content

Roxio Community

Does Not Recognize that blank CD is in Drive


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jerry B.

Jerry B.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 16 June 2007 - 01:04 PM

When I try to burn an audio CD using Roxio v9 I receive the message, "Please insert a blank or rewritable CD into the HL-DT-ST DVDRW DL Drive," even though there is a new CD in there.  When I insert a DVD, I receive the message, "The blank disk you have inserted does not have enough free space for the image file you selected.  Please insert a 327 MB disk."  The disk that I am using is a new, blank Memorex DVD-R with 4.7GB capacity.  Has anyone had a similar problem?  I am hoping that this is a software problem instead of a hardware problem.  The CD/DVD drive is a 16X DVD+/-R/RW dual layer RAM LightScribe optical disk drive.  The computer is a HP Pavilion Media Center PC with 2.0 GB memory and 500 GB hard drive and I am using Windows XP.

#2 tbrewst

tbrewst

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taos,NM

Posted 16 June 2007 - 03:39 PM

For starters do you see the drive in Device Manager with no yellow !'s or X's.
RIP Johnny Winter


Terry

64 bitWindows 8.1 OS
AMD FX-8320 8 core 3.5Ghz processor with Arctic Freezer 64 Pro cooling fan
Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 AM3+ motherboard
Galaxy  GeForce GTX 550 Ti video card with 1Gb memory
8Gb G Skill Ripjaws Series DDR3 1600 RAM
120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD drive
1Tb Hitachi SATA hard drive
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray drive
Lite-On iHAS224-06 SATA DVD drive
Rosewill Destroyer case
Cambridge Soundworks THX 5.1 speaker system
Onboard Realtek HD audio
I-inc iH-252HPB 25" widescreen monitor connected via HDMI
Samsung 2525W Laser Printer

#3 Jerry B.

Jerry B.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 17 June 2007 - 08:31 AM

There are no yellow !'s or X's and when I open the Properties for this drive it says, "This device is working properly."  In trying to get a solution from HP earlier they told me that the CD/DVD drive was bad.  I can still copy audio CD's from this drive to the hard drive and it still reads data DVD's so I feel that they copped out by telling me that.  In checking for a replacement on the Internet I found prices of $271.00 and $325.00 for refurbished units.  That's quite a bit to pay for just wanting the ability to copy audio CD's.  There has to be a simpler route to go.  I do appreciate your help and advice.

#4 tbrewst

tbrewst

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taos,NM

Posted 17 June 2007 - 08:58 AM

That seems way high for a DVD drive.You should be able to pick one up for less than $50.
So Roxio sees the drive it just doesn't recognize the media?If so see if there is an updated firmware release on HP's site and install it.
RIP Johnny Winter


Terry

64 bitWindows 8.1 OS
AMD FX-8320 8 core 3.5Ghz processor with Arctic Freezer 64 Pro cooling fan
Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 AM3+ motherboard
Galaxy  GeForce GTX 550 Ti video card with 1Gb memory
8Gb G Skill Ripjaws Series DDR3 1600 RAM
120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD drive
1Tb Hitachi SATA hard drive
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray drive
Lite-On iHAS224-06 SATA DVD drive
Rosewill Destroyer case
Cambridge Soundworks THX 5.1 speaker system
Onboard Realtek HD audio
I-inc iH-252HPB 25" widescreen monitor connected via HDMI
Samsung 2525W Laser Printer

#5 Michel Daoust

Michel Daoust

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts

Posted 17 June 2007 - 12:52 PM

I have a Hp Pavillion a1020n computer with a DVD Burner 640 b.

I had problems with this burner and even with the cd player (Assus S480)
They would not recongnise a blank DVD or Cd or a CD or DVD I have made.
I was ready to take my computer to be repaired, when I decided to try to clean these devices
I open the computer cover, disconnect the drivers and remove them, very easy to do, I am not an expert!
I saw that my computer was load with dust and hair from the cat and the dog, I blowed everything with a air compressed can.

I openned the drives, blowed the inside with compressed air can and cleaned everything that seems to be an optical reader with friction alcool and a Q-tip. I know that we are not supposed to use alcool to clean optic reader, but I have nothing to lost.  To open the drives, you have only few screws to remove and a pin ( you insert that in the little hole in front of the drive) to open the drawer of the drive, that allowed you to remove the top of the drive and seen all the inside.

I reinstalled everything and it was working fine. My computer was not so old, about 2 years, but the fans sucks air inside it with all the dust and hairs. I have to repeat this cleaning procedure about every 6 months ... even if my wife is a vaccum cleaner maniac!

Edited by Michel Daoust, 17 June 2007 - 08:01 PM.

M. Daoust

#6 Jerry B.

Jerry B.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 17 June 2007 - 08:08 PM

I removed the CD/DVD drive from the CPU, took the covers off of the drive, nothing looked out of place.  Everything is spic and span --- no hairs or any obstructions.  Reinstalled it but it still does not burn audio CD's.  Using Roxio v9 software, it says 'Project Running'.  In a little bit though I get the message, "There was a problem writing to the disc.  You can try again by clicking the Retry button.  You will need another blank disc ready." I tried four different 700MB CD-R's: Fujifilm, Maxell, eWorks black vinyl and GQ 'Great Quality'.  All to no avail.  Michel, your tale of your wife's fastidious vacuuming habits gave me a chuckle.  My wife is like that too --- which I appreciate.

#7 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 18 June 2007 - 04:30 AM

Check by using the inbuilt Windows software to write to a CD (it uses session writing and is a vbery basic writer app). If that still fails, then you may have a faulty drive

btw - the 'CPU' is the little square thing on top of the motherboard inside the case with a dirty big fan on top of it - you took the drive from the case biggrin.gif
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#8 Jerry B.

Jerry B.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 19 June 2007 - 09:03 PM

Wouldn't you know it.  After fretting for much too long thinking my burning of audio CD's problem was with the software I decided to replace the CD/DVD drive, and, lo and bebold, that solved the problem.  The new drive was $46.55 including tax so I feel that I got off lightly.  I apprecate all the advice I was given and I did learn a few things during the ordeal.  Thanks everyone.

Edited by Jerry B., 19 June 2007 - 09:04 PM.


#9 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 20 June 2007 - 02:54 AM

Glad you're up and running again - and just think, a few years back you'd probably have had to pay up to 10 times that price for a new drive wink.gif

Any other problems, feel free to ask
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#10 Michel Daoust

Michel Daoust

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts

Posted 20 June 2007 - 11:57 AM

If your problem was with the drive, may be you can try to clean the optic lens of your old drive with a q-tip and alcool even if it seems clean ...just a little film of dust can get a drive out of function.

Your old drive can be installed in your system and can be usefull if you want to copy a DVD from drive to drive or as a back-up

Edited by Michel Daoust, 20 June 2007 - 11:59 AM.

M. Daoust




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users