Jump to content

Roxio Community

Roxio not working


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 sbdrumr

sbdrumr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 July 2007 - 09:12 AM

I searched and found a couple threads but they were not resolved

new computer, new to vista, new to roxio
I would expect it to work without hassle
all I've been hearing is how incompatible everything is with Vista
finished ranting

I copy my DVD movie and attempt to burn onto a new Philips DVD+R, the tray opens each time and says to insert the proper media (mine is on the list)
I went to the website..I have all the latest drivers (supposedly) firmware rev KH1A
can someone please help
Thanks
here's the drive info

ATAP1 DVD DH16A1L SCSI CD ROM

Edited by sbdrumr, 28 July 2007 - 09:47 AM.


#2 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 28 July 2007 - 09:36 AM

What is the make and model of your drive?

You can get that from control panel, system, device manager

It's also possible that it just doesn't like the Philips media (that can happen). Did you try a different brand?

One final thought - you didn't 'format' the disc before using it did you?
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#3 sbdrumr

sbdrumr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 July 2007 - 09:46 AM

QUOTE (gi7omy @ Jul 28 2007, 10:36 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
What is the make and model of your drive?

You can get that from control panel, system, device manager

It's also possible that it just doesn't like the Philips media (that can happen). Did you try a different brand?

One final thought - you didn't 'format' the disc before using it did you?

Hi, thanks for taking the time while I'm on rookie status
I updated the info
I planned on buying a dif brand of media today and no formatting done
although, I thought I may need to
can you recommend a brand of DVD?
Cheers

#4 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 28 July 2007 - 09:56 AM

QUOTE (sbdrumr @ Jul 28 2007, 01:46 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi, thanks for taking the time while I'm on rookie status
I updated the info
I planned on buying a dif brand of media today and no formatting done
although, I thought I may need to
can you recommend a brand of DVD?
Cheers


Read this:    http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm

Also check with the manufacturer of your burner.

#5 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 28 July 2007 - 10:00 AM

You never format an optical disc (unless you intend using Drag to Disc which is possibly the easiest way to lose data known to mankind) wink.gif

Blanks - ask half a dozen people and you'll get half a dozen answers really

The problem is we still don't know what make the srive is - 'super multi' doesn't say very much. It could be LiteOn, LG or even Panasonic (HP usually rebadges drives). Go to control panel, system, device manager, click on the DVD drive and go to details - in that you will see a 'device instance ld' - copy that and paste it here and then we can tell what drive it is
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#6 sbdrumr

sbdrumr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 July 2007 - 02:47 PM

QUOTE (gi7omy @ Jul 28 2007, 11:00 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Go to control panel, system, device manager, click on the DVD drive and go to details - in that you will see a 'device instance ld' - copy that and paste it here and then we can tell what drive it is


device instance path is the only one that's close
SCSI\CDROM&VEN_ATAPI&PROD_DVD_A__DH16A1L\4&4D7CBB2&0&010100

matching device ID
gencdrom

hope this helps
thanks for the info

#7 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 28 July 2007 - 02:56 PM

That's a Philips LiteOn SATA drive - check this thread
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#8 sbdrumr

sbdrumr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 July 2007 - 04:06 PM

QUOTE (gi7omy @ Jul 28 2007, 03:56 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
That's a Philips LiteOn SATA drive - check this thread

Philips, as in the same mfgr. of my DVD+R disc?

thanks a lot for the thread
I'll give it a shot tonight
I'm liking Roxio not so much for their product but the assistance  wink.gif
late

#9 earache_k

earache_k

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 July 2007 - 02:01 PM

So if I understand this as I am having the same issue with not recognizing the media, it really just depends on the media I select.  I have a Dell with a TSSTCorp DVD+-R TS-L632D ATA Device.  I purchased Memorex DVD-R media.  Does that mean the media needs to be different?  Does it mean it has to be DVD+RW?  I am new to this as well and am baffled as to how to fix it.

#10 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 29 July 2007 - 02:54 PM

Basically all it means is try a different brand of media (DVD-R or +R)

Some brands are good, some indifferent and some downright horrible laugh.gif
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#11 earache_k

earache_k

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 July 2007 - 08:10 PM

QUOTE (gi7omy @ Jul 29 2007, 02:54 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Basically all it means is try a different brand of media (DVD-R or +R)

Some brands are good, some indifferent and some downright horrible laugh.gif


Ok so now with the right media DVD+R DL (using 2.4x) it works, puts it on the disk and the disk does not work in several different dvd players.  Should I be using 8x or is the yet another configuration piece I am missing?

#12 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 30 July 2007 - 03:19 AM

For playable DVDs on a standalone player, stick to lower speeds (try not to go above 4x)

Failure to play in some DVDs is, again, down to the media. Some players are picky about what they will and won't play (some stuff I do plays in my cheap and cheerful box made by A.Non of Taiwan but not in my sister in law's high end Sony - go figger laugh.gif )
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#13 d_deweywright

d_deweywright

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,243 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2007 - 05:20 AM

QUOTE (earache_k @ Jul 30 2007, 12:10 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Ok so now with the right media DVD+R DL (using 2.4x) it works, puts it on the disk and the disk does not work in several different dvd players.  Should I be using 8x or is the yet another configuration piece I am missing?

Also, some players like DVD-R (dash) media instead of "+" (plus) media.  So, that may be another point of contention you're trying to overcome.
Dave D-W

Beware the lollipop of mediocrity.  Lick it once and you'll suck forever.  - Brian Wilson

[ASUS M4N98TD EVO MB | Athlon II X6 440 (3.3 GHz) | 4GB DDR3 RAM | GE Force 7800 video card | 1-500GB HD (C: XP, G: Win7 , D: - Apps, E: data & apps), 1-500 GB HD Data), L: 1-1 TB WD Green, M: 1 - 2TB Toshiba HD  | 2 - LiteOn DH20A4P DVD burners | External Dell QFlix DX-20A6Q DVD +/- writer  | Windows 7 (32-bit) | Creator 2012 | Tektronix Phaser 8560 solid ink printer | Epson R220 Photo/Disc printer | Ricoh GX 3110db dye sublimation ink | Epson Workforce 1100 printer | Microtek i900 Scanner]
XP w/EMC9
XP w/EMC10
Win7 w/Creator NXT Pro
Win7 w/Creator NXT 2 Pro




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users