PhillipK

Error code 0643 during installation

Question

I have been using EMC 9 for a couple of months with no problems. Two days ago I bought and downloaded EMC 10 from Roxio/Digital River. Installed it without uninstalling EMC 9 first. It worked, but after installation the application wouldn't start. No error code, or anything, it just wouldn't start.

I tried to install it once again, same error. (The next time I got a "missing ...dll file" when I tried to start the program.)

Uninstalled EMC 9 and EMC 10 and tried to install it again (have no tried that several times), but the installation process stops about halfway through the process, with the following error code: 0643. I also got the message "Cannot find certificate file".

I have tried searching through the Knowledge Base and asking "RoxAnn", but haven't found any sensible information.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what might bring me back on track again?

PhillipK

13 answers to this question

I have been using EMC 9 for a couple of months with no problems. Two days ago I bought and downloaded EMC 10 from Roxio/Digital River. Installed it without uninstalling EMC 9 first. It worked, but after installation the application wouldn't start. No error code, or anything, it just wouldn't start.

I tried to install it once again, same error. (The next time I got a "missing ...dll file" when I tried to start the program.)

Uninstalled EMC 9 and EMC 10 and tried to install it again (have no tried that several times), but the installation process stops about halfway through the process, with the following error code: 0643. I also got the message "Cannot find certificate file".

I have tried searching through the Knowledge Base and asking "RoxAnn", but haven't found any sensible information.

PhillipK

Have you followed the instructions in the clean install method, here?

http://kb.roxio.com/content/kb/Creator/000127CR

Or, if you don't have Vista:

http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?showtopic=24606