Jump to content

Roxio Community

Error code 0643 during installation


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 PhillipK

PhillipK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 September 2007 - 04:12 AM

I have been using EMC 9 for a couple of months with no problems. Two days ago I bought and downloaded EMC 10 from Roxio/Digital River. Installed it without uninstalling EMC 9 first. It worked, but after installation the application wouldn't start. No error code, or anything, it just wouldn't start.

I tried to install it once again, same error. (The next time I got a "missing ...dll file" when I tried to start the program.)

Uninstalled EMC 9 and EMC 10 and tried to install it again (have no tried that several times), but the installation process stops about halfway through the process, with the following error code: 0643. I also got the message "Cannot find certificate file".

I have tried searching through the Knowledge Base and asking "RoxAnn", but haven't found any sensible information.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what might bring me back on track again?

PhillipK

#2 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,345 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 September 2007 - 04:20 AM

QUOTE (PhillipK @ Sep 9 2007, 07:12 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I have been using EMC 9 for a couple of months with no problems. Two days ago I bought and downloaded EMC 10 from Roxio/Digital River. Installed it without uninstalling EMC 9 first. It worked, but after installation the application wouldn't start. No error code, or anything, it just wouldn't start.

I tried to install it once again, same error. (The next time I got a "missing ...dll file" when I tried to start the program.)

Uninstalled EMC 9 and EMC 10 and tried to install it again (have no tried that several times), but the installation process stops about halfway through the process, with the following error code: 0643. I also got the message "Cannot find certificate file".

I have tried searching through the Knowledge Base and asking "RoxAnn", but haven't found any sensible information.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what might bring me back on track again?

PhillipK


Have you followed the instructions in the clean install method, here?

http://kb.roxio.com/content/kb/Creator/000127CR

Or, if you don't have Vista:

http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?showtopic=24606

Edited by grandpabruce, 09 September 2007 - 04:23 AM.

Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

Main System:
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard; Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
PLEXTOR Black DVD Burner, Model PX-880SA; Pioneer Black 8X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R Burner
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670 2GB Video Card
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series Sound Card
Windows XP Pro w/SP3

Backup Computer:
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Windows 7 Pro w/SP1

#3 PhillipK

PhillipK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 September 2007 - 07:34 AM

Thanks, Bruce

I'm trying to do that now, but I can't delete the necessary folders. It says I have to be logged on as Administrator to do that. I am logged on as an administrator, so I don't understand that.

#4 PhillipK

PhillipK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 September 2007 - 08:06 AM

I was able to work my way around the "Administrator" problem. However, when I rebooted the computer and started the installation again, the installation suddenly stops with the message "The installation process was interrupted. Nothing was changed, blabla, Please try the installation again at another time. (Which I have no done about ten times.  mad.gif

#5 REDWAGON

REDWAGON

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redlands, California

Posted 09 September 2007 - 09:17 AM

Read this thread and see if it helps at all---


http://forums.support.roxio.com/index.php?...266&hl=0643

Frank...
REDWAGON

5 Custom Built ASUS/ Intel Computers


3 with Windows 7 Pro Retail Operating Systems
2 with Windows 8.1 Pro/WMC Operating Systems


1 HP laptop with W7 Pro OS (HP OEM)
1 Apple iPAD2 & 1 iPhone 5 OS7

#6 kathi

kathi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 September 2007 - 07:58 AM

Exactly my experience. I am so tired of trying to install this program. I have wasted HOURS and HOURS and HOURS with it and still it is not installed. I am really sick of it.  angry.gif  I have followed all instructions for clean install, am running nothing while I install, etc. etc. etc. etc.

Furthermore, the online help was exactly ZERO help. The answer was to turn off the anti-virus. Period.

QUOTE (PhillipK @ Sep 9 2007, 09:06 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I was able to work my way around the "Administrator" problem. However, when I rebooted the computer and started the installation again, the installation suddenly stops with the message "The installation process was interrupted. Nothing was changed, blabla, Please try the installation again at another time. (Which I have no done about ten times.  mad.gif

Edited by kathi, 11 September 2007 - 08:07 AM.


#7 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 11 September 2007 - 12:41 PM

Actually if you'd read the splash screen at the start of the installation, you would have seen a notice to turn all running programs off.

That includes the anti-virus

Just about every single installation says the same thing no matter who produced it
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#8 kathi

kathi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 September 2007 - 06:43 PM

The point is, everything WAS turned off, yet it still wouldn't install. And the answer I got was to "turn the anti-virus off."


QUOTE (gi7omy @ Sep 11 2007, 01:41 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Actually if you'd read the splash screen at the start of the installation, you would have seen a notice to turn all running programs off.

That includes the anti-virus

Just about every single installation says the same thing no matter who produced it


#9 Edward50

Edward50

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 September 2007 - 08:09 PM

QUOTE (PhillipK @ Sep 9 2007, 05:12 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I have been using EMC 9 for a couple of months with no problems. Two days ago I bought and downloaded EMC 10 from Roxio/Digital River. Installed it without uninstalling EMC 9 first. It worked, but after installation the application wouldn't start. No error code, or anything, it just wouldn't start.

I tried to install it once again, same error. (The next time I got a "missing ...dll file" when I tried to start the program.)

Uninstalled EMC 9 and EMC 10 and tried to install it again (have no tried that several times), but the installation process stops about halfway through the process, with the following error code: 0643. I also got the message "Cannot find certificate file".

I have tried searching through the Knowledge Base and asking "RoxAnn", but haven't found any sensible information.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what might bring me back on track again?

PhillipK



Try the Windows clean utility to remove all traces of the roxio 9 and 10.  Disable your virus protection (use the "msconfig" command to uncheck the "services" and the "startup" tabs for your virus potection software and windows defender etc. and then reboot your system.
Next when your system is back up; go to accessories and right click to "run as administrator" the command prompt.  Change the directory to (cd\windows\system32) to system32 and run this command "regsvr32 vbscript.dll".  After successfully running this command, reinstall Roxio 10

Hope this helps!

#10 PhillipK

PhillipK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 September 2007 - 04:31 AM

QUOTE (Edward50 @ Sep 11 2007, 08:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Try the Windows clean utility to remove all traces of the roxio 9 and 10.  Disable your virus protection (use the "msconfig" command to uncheck the "services" and the "startup" tabs for your virus potection software and windows defender etc. and then reboot your system.
Next when your system is back up; go to accessories and right click to "run as administrator" the command prompt.  Change the directory to (cd\windows\system32) to system32 and run this command "regsvr32 vbscript.dll".  After successfully running this command, reinstall Roxio 10

Hope this helps!


Thanks for your help. I had run the windows clean install, switched "everything" off in msconfig, but it turned out that there were some Roxio-related software from the previous EMC9-installation that hadn't been removed (Xingtones, etc.). Once I removed every trace, and did the clean install-procedure once again, it installed perfectly.

And, by the way: It runs perfectly, too ;-)

#11 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,345 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 September 2007 - 05:23 AM

QUOTE (PhillipK @ Sep 14 2007, 07:31 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Thanks for your help. I had run the windows clean install, switched "everything" off in msconfig, but it turned out that there were some Roxio-related software from the previous EMC9-installation that hadn't been removed (Xingtones, etc.). Once I removed every trace, and did the clean install-procedure once again, it installed perfectly.

And, by the way: It runs perfectly, too ;-)


That is great, Philip!  I hope that it stays that way.
Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

Main System:
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard; Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
PLEXTOR Black DVD Burner, Model PX-880SA; Pioneer Black 8X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R Burner
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670 2GB Video Card
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series Sound Card
Windows XP Pro w/SP3

Backup Computer:
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Windows 7 Pro w/SP1

#12 N8VZ

N8VZ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 September 2007 - 12:15 PM

I finally solved this problem after three days of no joy.  The key was using a program I have called Your Uninstaller 2006.  It has an advanced uninstall option.  When I put in Roxio it found about six different hidden Roxio programs that were still on the system -- or at least remnants.  Once those were removed, and I did registry cleans using RegCure and the Vista version of XP Repair Pro, the program (EMC 10) finally installed without that blasted error.  I just thought others might benefit from this information, as I was helped by reading this thread.  Good luck to everyone that's been suffering through this install issue.

#13 ThomasK

ThomasK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 September 2007 - 12:02 AM

Hi
I faced exactly the same trouble and I hope, I can solve it now, using the instriuctions listed above. However, isn't it a pitty that you have to eliminate all traces of a previous version to install an update  angry.gif ?? I think, this needs to be improved by ROXIO with the next version.
Regards from Munich
Thomas

#14 julianekg

julianekg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 November 2007 - 04:30 AM

Ok.  I had this problem with Roxio 10.  It will not start after a system restore even though its still in there.  Have to uninstall everything, use the Microsoft Installer Clean up Utility.  After that
Go To Start
Click RUN
Type in msconfig
Go to Startup Tab
Disable All
Go To Services Tab
Hide Microsoft Services
Disable all
Apply
Ok

Then Restart

Install Roxio 10

Go into msconfig
Select Normal Start
Apply
Ok

Restart.

Don't know why this version so glitchy, but until there is a patch, try this for workaround.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users