5 replies to this topic

#1 kitty2000

kitty2000

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 October 2007 - 03:55 AM

Hi.  I'd really appreciate some advice.
I have a Windows vista OS and a dvd+r multi recorder rewriter.  The burner is "roxio creator 9".  I have a video file that i want to burn to disc.  I have some recordable dvd+r blank discs, and everything was finally going well until the dvd maker said it was ready to burn, and i inserted a disc and pressed "burn".  A message came up saying"the disc in your DVD burner is not recordable. Please insert recordable or rewritable blah blah blah."

Do i need to get a different kind of blank dvd, eg dvd-r or something, if so then how do i find out what one to get? I've tried to find out but i can't.  Do i need a different burner?  As you can most likely tell, i am new to this, i hope i've given you enough information.  Please someone help it's driving me mad!!

#2 james_hardin

james_hardin

Digital Guru

• Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,000 posts

Posted 21 October 2007 - 04:02 AM

If you have a PC with Vista it is more likely that your Burner can handle both 'plus' and 'dash' type media.

In most cases like this, your Burner needs a Firmware update.

To be sure, open Creator Classic and from the Tools menu, run the Disc and Device Utility.

We will want to know the Make and Model of your Burner as well as the Firmware version installed.

It will also tell you what type of media it can write to.

One other thought: Confirm that you have not formatted the media before trying to use it! You never format optical media!!!
Dell 8300 3.0ghz 1.5gb RAM 300gb & 200gb HDs
XP Pro/SP2
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 w/AGP8X

#3 kitty2000

kitty2000

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 October 2007 - 05:44 AM

QUOTE (james_hardin @ Oct 21 2007, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
If you have a PC with Vista it is more likely that your Burner can handle both 'plus' and 'dash' type media.