• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 levlvl

levlvl

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 February 2008 - 10:48 AM

I have used Popcorn 2 in the past for copying dvd discs which I own and have had no problem with this simple task - I insert the disc into my drive, and then drag it onto the popcorn window and everything goes smoothly.  However, I have received a movie with a title .avi at the end and would like to know how to copy it onto a dvd disc.  It is on the hard drive of my intel iMac not on a disc.  Whenever I try to drag the file onto popcorn, I get the message that it not an acceptable image file.  I have no technical knowledge of  dvd copying except for the simple process I described above.  Is there any way I can make a DVD disc copy of this .avi file to view on my TV using my DVD player or do I need a product like Toast?

#2 tsantee

tsantee

Digital Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,518 posts

Posted 08 February 2008 - 01:07 PM

The AVI needs to be encoded into MPEG 2 format and then authored into a VIDEO_TS folder. Popcorn 2 cannot do that. Popcorn 3 and Toast 6, 7 and 8 can do this.
I'm just a fellow Toast-user so please don't blame Roxio for any misguidance I may provide. And do let me know if your issue gets solved. Cheers from Eugene, Oregon!

#3 levlvl

levlvl

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 February 2008 - 01:14 PM

QUOTE (tsantee @ Feb 8 2008, 01:07 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
The AVI needs to be encoded into MPEG 2 format and then authored into a VIDEO_TS folder. Popcorn 2 cannot do that. Popcorn 3 and Toast 6, 7 and 8 can do this.

Thanks tsantee.  I assume that the instructions for this procedure are clearly outlined in the newer version of Popcorn and in Toast so that a pitiful novice like me can have success.

#4 tsantee

tsantee

Digital Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,518 posts

Posted 08 February 2008 - 01:35 PM

QUOTE (levlvl @ Feb 8 2008, 01:14 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>