• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 elsquared

elsquared

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 March 2006 - 08:42 PM

Hi all - I'm new to the DVD burning world, so pardon me if my question seems an easy answer to the rest of you.  I use Sony DVD-Rs, and until now have been very pleased with them.  But I noticed that when I burn a DVD from mpeg files, I can only fit about 1 hour's worth of video on a single DVD-R, even though they are advertised as 120 minutes long.  The DVD-R packaging says I can fit either 60, 120, or 240 minutes, so I guess my question is how can I change the setting?  Also, will using a different setting affect the quality of the burned video?  (I should also mention that when I copied a DVD from the library - which was about 90 minutes long - it fit fine with no problems.  Why would that work, but burning mpeg files won't?)  Thanks very much for your help.
Larry

#2 myguggi

myguggi

Digital Guru

• Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,576 posts

Posted 20 March 2006 - 09:05 PM

View Postelsquared, on Mar 20 2006, 11:42 PM, said:

Hi all - I'm new to the DVD burning world, so pardon me if my question seems an easy answer to the rest of you.  I use Sony DVD-Rs, and until now have been very pleased with them.  But I noticed that when I burn a DVD from mpeg files, I can only fit about 1 hour's worth of video on a single DVD-R, even though they are advertised as 120 minutes long.  The DVD-R packaging says I can fit either 60, 120, or 240 minutes, so I guess my question is how can I change the setting?  Also, will using a different setting affect the quality of the burned video?  (I should also mention that when I copied a DVD from the library - which was about 90 minutes long - it fit fine with no problems.  Why would that work, but burning mpeg files won't?)  Thanks very much for your help.
Larry