Jump to content

Roxio Community

Restore Qic File


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 JuneKuw

JuneKuw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 August 2008 - 05:33 PM

Can I use Back on Track to restore an old .QIC file?


#2 firenhancer

firenhancer

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,612 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 August 2008 - 06:29 PM

Nope. BOT is completely a different animal. You will need BUMP to restore your .qic files.

Edited by firenhancer, 05 August 2008 - 04:59 AM.


#3 deb123

deb123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 10 December 2008 - 01:48 PM

i was told to buy that to resore qic files. whereis bump?

#4 deb123

deb123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 10 December 2008 - 02:25 PM

where do you get bump

#5 deb123

deb123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 10 December 2008 - 03:26 PM

PLEASE HELP ME GET MY SYSTEM UP.  I AM TRYING TO DO A RESOTE FROM A SYSTEM CRASH FROM LAST FRIDAY. DISABLEDD. NO INCOME DELL WONT HELP CAUDSE I DONT HAVE 300 FOR SUPPORT

#6 deb123

deb123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 17 December 2008 - 04:15 PM

rrrrrr

the sales guy at roxio said to find the original version of backup my pc.  They dont sell it nor does DELl.

so i found one one amazon and it get the folliwing error on restore

catalog empty for selected device.

even though it identties items but wont allow a restore

I am going to to pull my hair out





deb

#7 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 17 December 2008 - 05:00 PM

QUOTE (JuneKuw @ Aug 3 2008, 08:33 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Can I use Back on Track to restore an old .QIC file?


What actual program did you use to create these .qic file?.



#8 lynn98109

lynn98109

    Digital Master

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 867 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 December 2008 - 05:07 PM

.qic is the file name of BackUp My PC (BUMP) backups.  So you need BUMP to restore the files.

See if anything in this google search is of any use -
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=.qic+file

And for next time - if these are files you made like .doc and .jpg - insteard of an emergency restore program, use a Sessions-based data-writing program, like the one built into WinXP, or Roxio's Creator Classic.

Lynn

#9 deb123

deb123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 17 December 2008 - 09:24 PM

QUOTE (lynn98109 @ Dec 17 2008, 08:07 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
.qic is the file name of BackUp My PC (BUMP) backups.  So you need BUMP to restore the files.

See if anything in this google search is of any use -
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=.qic+file

And for next time - if these are files you made like .doc and .jpg - insteard of an emergency restore program, use a Sessions-based data-writing program, like the one built into WinXP, or Roxio's Creator Classic.

Lynn



QUOTE (lynn98109 @ Dec 17 2008, 08:07 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
.qic is the file name of BackUp My PC (BUMP) backups.  So you need BUMP to restore the files.

See if anything in this google search is of any use -
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=.qic+file

And for next time - if these are files you made like .doc and .jpg - insteard of an emergency restore program, use a Sessions-based data-writing program, like the one built into WinXP, or Roxio's Creator Classic.

Lynn

thats what i i used

#10 lynn98109

lynn98109

    Digital Master

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 867 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 December 2008 - 09:56 PM

QUOTE (deb123 @ Dec 17 2008, 09:24 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
thats what i i used

Yep, you used BUMP (BackUp My PC) - that's why you have a .qic file.

Lynn

#11 deb123

deb123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 17 December 2008 - 10:08 PM

then why wont it recogize the file

#12 lynn98109

lynn98109

    Digital Master

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 867 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 December 2008 - 03:58 AM

As I said befoe, And for next time - if these are files you made like .doc and .jpg - insteard of an emergency restore program, use a Sessions-based data-writing program, like the one built into WinXP, or Roxio's Creator Classic.

Emergency Recovery programs, just like Packet-Writing programs (Sonic's DLA, Roxio's Drag2Disc, Nero's InCD, etc), are notorious not only for not working with other such programs, but also for not being compatible from one Version to another.  You may have a different Version.

There was a regular here who is familiar with BUMP, but he hasn't been in for a year or two.

You can try copying a file you can see in the restore window (Ctrl+C) and pasting it to the Hard Drive (Ctrl+V) (perhaps in MyDocs) and see if you can open it.  However, in all probability it is compressed and you are stuck.  The program (BUMP) is history.

Lynn

Edited by lynn98109, 18 December 2008 - 03:59 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users