Jump to content

Roxio Community

Roxio Cineplayer Decoder Pack?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 funkifized

funkifized

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 November 2008 - 08:42 AM

Whenever I use Windows Media Player to watch DVDs, listen to CDs, open mpegs, etc., I get this message:

"Please wait while Windows configures Roxio CinePlayer Decoder Pack"

If I wait through the "configure", it ends up with this message: "An installation package for the product Roxio CinePlayer Decoder Pack cannot be found. Try the installation again using a valid copy of the installation package 'CPDP.msi'."

What is this and how do I get it to stop?

#2 malatekid

malatekid

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,667 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 November 2008 - 11:30 AM

What is the full name of the Roxio software that you have?

Check out this post to see if there's anything that might help.

There are other posts that involved "'CPDP". Do a search on that word in this forum.

Edited by malatekid, 18 November 2008 - 11:52 AM.

"The work of science is to substitute facts for appearances, and demonstrations for impressions"
   -- John Ruskin


Roxio Creator 2012 Pro
Dell XPS 410
Windows XP Professional,Service Pack 3
Intel 2 Duo Processor E6700 (2.66GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz
500GB Serial ATA II Hard Drive(7200RPM)

1 GB DDR3 EVGA GeForce GT 630
Sound Blaster® X-Fi™ XtremeMusic (D) Sound Card
Samsung SH-S203B, Asus DRW-2014L1T
Epson R300 printer, Epson 4490 Scanner

#3 gyurika

gyurika

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 December 2008 - 07:20 PM

I installed Picasa 3.
The moment I start the program I have the same scenario - until I close Picasa. I have Creator 2009 - getting rid of it for Picasa is obviously not an option.
I tried to browse to the install file on the CD, but the Windows installer which is popping up rejects it as not a valid installer. (CPDP.msi if I recall correctly).
Practically can not use Picase  - that would be important for a project... Although this may be Picasa's fault, maybe you would have a tip...

#4 gyurika

gyurika

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 December 2008 - 07:37 PM

QUOTE (gyurika @ Dec 7 2008, 10:20 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I installed Picasa 3.
The moment I start the program I have the same scenario - until I close Picasa. I have Creator 2009 - getting rid of it for Picasa is obviously not an option.
I tried to browse to the install file on the CD, but the Windows installer which is popping up rejects it as not a valid installer. (CPDP.msi if I recall correctly).
Practically can not use Picase  - that would be important for a project... Although this may be Picasa's fault, maybe you would have a tip...


I have read the posts on the CPDP search. There was an euphoria after people found the file. I am puzzled because that file is rejected, but now I double clicked on it, and made a "repair" install. No change, Picasa still brings up the stubborn window.

#5 DLISF89

DLISF89

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 01 November 2009 - 09:48 PM

QUOTE (gyurika @ Dec 7 2008, 07:37 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I have read the posts on the CPDP search. There was an euphoria after people found the file. I am puzzled because that file is rejected, but now I double clicked on it, and made a "repair" install. No change, Picasa still brings up the stubborn window.


So it's almost a year later, and no solution has been posted for this?  I'm having the same problem.  I have Roxio Creator 2009, and whenever I start Picasa, I keep getting dialogs saying "Please wait while Windows configures Roxio Cineplayer".  At some point it does say something about an .msi file.  In any case, what can be done about this?  Anyone??

#6 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,638 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 02 November 2009 - 02:47 AM

QUOTE (DLISF89 @ Nov 1 2009, 11:48 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
So it's almost a year later, and no solution has been posted for this?  I'm having the same problem.  I have Roxio Creator 2009, and whenever I start Picasa, I keep getting dialogs saying "Please wait while Windows configures Roxio Cineplayer".  At some point it does say something about an .msi file.  In any case, what can be done about this?  Anyone??


Have you tried asking Picasa why Picasa calls the CinePlayer Installer?

Download the Microsoft Installer Clean-Up Utility and see if the CinePlayer is listed.  Delete it from the list.  Reinstall from the download or disc.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#7 DLISF89

DLISF89

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 02 November 2009 - 08:14 AM

QUOTE (sknis @ Nov 2 2009, 02:47 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Have you tried asking Picasa why Picasa calls the CinePlayer Installer?

Download the Microsoft Installer Clean-Up Utility and see if the CinePlayer is listed.  Delete it from the list.  Reinstall from the download or disc.


Thanks, I'll try that.  Yes, I've asked Picasa (Google) as well.  As someone earlier said, we know it's likely a Picasa problem, but thought people here might know a solution.

#8 firenhancer

firenhancer

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,612 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 November 2009 - 12:00 PM

QUOTE (DLISF89 @ Nov 2 2009, 11:14 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Thanks, I'll try that.  Yes, I've asked Picasa (Google) as well.  As someone earlier said, we know it's likely a Picasa problem, but thought people here might know a solution.


If you have installation disc or files for Roxio Creator 2009, when prompted by windows installer, simply point to the "\CPDECODERPACK_431" or "\CINEPLAYER_5X" whichever applicable.

Edited by firenhancer, 02 November 2009 - 12:02 PM.


#9 Mr. Jim

Mr. Jim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 February 2011 - 01:31 PM

Problems with CPDP, if you are running the software from something like, "X16-32007". You need to extract the information from it to a fill on your hard drive. Then run the setup from there and it will put all of the neccessary files in its place and run the software properly. To extract the files use WinARA, you can find free version online.

#10 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,638 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 21 February 2011 - 01:44 PM

View PostMr. Jim, on 21 February 2011 - 01:31 PM, said:

Problems with CPDP, if you are running the software from something like, "X16-32007". You need to extract the information from it to a fill on your hard drive. Then run the setup from there and it will put all of the neccessary files in its place and run the software properly. To extract the files use WinARA, you can find free version online.

You realize that you are replying to a 1 1/2 year old post where the OP didn't come back?

What is x16-32007 ?
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#11 OhGee

OhGee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 August 2011 - 02:04 PM

View Postfunkifized, on 18 November 2008 - 08:42 AM, said:

Whenever I use Windows Media Player to watch DVDs, listen to CDs, open mpegs, etc., I get this message:

"Please wait while Windows configures Roxio CinePlayer Decoder Pack"

If I wait through the "configure", it ends up with this message: "An installation package for the product Roxio CinePlayer Decoder Pack cannot be found. Try the installation again using a valid copy of the installation package 'CPDP.msi'."

What is this and how do I get it to stop?


Just remove the terribly designed Cine Player. Problem gone.

#12 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,880 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 August 2011 - 02:10 PM

View PostOhGee, on 22 August 2011 - 02:04 PM, said:

Just remove the terribly designed Cine Player. Problem gone.

Besides responding to a long dead post, the poster was not even using Cineplayer but Windows Media Player.

Besides, Cineplayer works just fine

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
Intel® 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#13 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 22 August 2011 - 05:23 PM

Ain't it strange how two complete newbies with one post each both hit on a moribund thread - school holidays must be still in full swing ;)
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users