Jump to content

Roxio Community

Can't Get Out Of "sonic Update Manager" Loop - Help!


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 fodou

fodou

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 January 2009 - 06:38 AM

I'm stuck in to a two window loop that I can't get out of.

The first window is titled "Sonic update manager", and tells me that "the feature I am trying to access is on a CD ROM", and to "insert the Sonic Update Manager CD ROM". I don't have that CD. I didn't know what Roxio or Sonic was until yesterday. I don't remember ever buying it or installing it.

When I cancel out, it takes me to another window that says: "an installation package for Sonic Update Manager cannot be found. Try the installation again using a valid copy of the installation package UM.MSI". When I cancel out, it takes me back to the first window.

HELP! I've no idea what this means. I just want all that stuff off my computer.

Thank you!

#2 jrapp

jrapp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 January 2009 - 11:16 AM

I am having the same problems. Someone please help us!

#3 nbumbaugh

nbumbaugh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 February 2009 - 08:11 AM

dog gone it!..I'm having the SAME horrific problems and I want it to stop!.....what do we need to do to delete Sonic Update Manager from our PCs???????????????????????????????????.....nothing is working for me as far as deleting this program and yes, it's in a loop of it's own.....please advise ...quick!..thanks...!...nlb


#4 sparky2000

sparky2000

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 March 2009 - 09:48 AM

I am having the same problem with Sonic Update Manager loop.  what is the fix?

#5 mapabeso

mapabeso

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 March 2009 - 01:02 AM

Hello,
I've the same problem! Sonic Digital Media came with my HP desktop and I never had to update it, now it asks for update that should be on a disk I haven't... the only way to break this loop is Task Manager! Can anybody help me?
Thanks!

#6 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 14 March 2009 - 02:00 AM

Hello folks,

I am a customer, same as you. However I recently saw the "Sonic Update Manager" push out some excruciatingly urgent update which wasn't for the software you run, but was actually for the update manager itself.

I wonder if this urgent update was actually to prevent/repair the problem you're having ?

I don't know if it is, but nobody else is answering your pleas for help so I thought it was worth risking a message to you all.

If you can, would somebody be willing to click on the "Check for updates" button, and if the update to the Updates Manager is offered, download and apply it, and tell us if it solves your problem ??

Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

As a very wise man told me, "You do it until . . . . ."

#7 AlterGeek

AlterGeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 May 2009 - 09:15 AM

QUOTE (Brendon @ Mar 14 2009, 03:00 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hello folks,

...

If you can, would somebody be willing to click on the "Check for updates" button, and if the update to the Updates Manager is offered, download and apply it, and tell us if it solves your problem ??

Brendon


My SUM is for Sonic DigitalMedia (Home) Deluxe 7 (Dec2006 HP, running WinXP MCE 2005 XP3+). The "Check for Updates" button brought up a "Preparing to Install ..." popup, then ... eventually a complaint that UM.msi could not be found (path shown in that popup dialog did not exist).  Cancel only took 1 try.

Retried the Updates button, and again got the complaint about UM.msi.  That dialog is titled "Sonic Update Manager", and begins "The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable. ..."





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users