Jump to content

Roxio Community

Video Flicker


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
31 replies to this topic

#21 op351

op351

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 20 May 2009 - 09:26 AM

Brendon, you're right,  new products take some time to be consolidated in the market. I have the feeling that in Europe the brand Roxio is not that much strong!! I got my Easy VHS to DVD straight from Roxio, using Internet (maybe it didn't like to cross Atlantic ocean).

Anyway, I wish I could do what you ask me!! The only thing I know is that for some tapes I see flickering for others no. It's even more difficult because they are about the same age (some VHS records I made many years ago) and all of them look, apparently, very similar if we talk about the tape conservation. Because I don't remember what cameras I have used for capturing, I can't tell you that too. My VHS VCR is a Sony SLV-SE800 which is also (still) in a very good shape.

Finally, let me remind you that I own too a computer where I have installed an old TV/video capture PCI card, Conexant 2388 drivers, with what I see no flickering at all.

Sorry, this is everything I can tell you. I hope Roxio will upgrade the V2D software which is quite bad in other aspects than the video processing.
OP351, Internet Services
http://op351.net/
Porto - PORTUGAL

#22 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,087 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 May 2009 - 11:46 AM

Oh, now it is an intermittent software problem that failed to show up for 6 ˝ months.

We call that grasping at straws  laugh.gif

Posted Image

#23 JeanetteNZ

JeanetteNZ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 May 2009 - 03:40 AM

Hi everyone, have been interested in following all the comments.  I have tried this software on my daughters desktop with much higher specs than mine and still the flickering continues......I dont have as much understanding of how this works technically but can someone explain to me why when I am playing my videos thru Roxio program they play perfectly with clear picture and sound but it is only when I click the 'Capture Now" button that it all turns to custard???

Many thanks
A very frustrated Kiwi

#24 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,089 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 22 May 2009 - 04:31 AM

Hi Jeanette,

I'm gathering that you're capturing from a VHS player.  Can you tell me exactly how you are doing it [what hardware you're using to connect, and what software program you're using and steps you're taking] so I can try and reproduce the effect/error?

Regards,
Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

"I did it until . . "

#25 op351

op351

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 May 2009 - 09:14 AM

Hi Jim,

let me tell you, using my best English, that intermittent means something that for the same conditions sometimes happens, sometimes not. But what I said was that in some VHS tapes the video flickers (and it flickers always) and in other tapes the video does not flicker (and never flickers in this case). Therefore, there is not intermittence.

This means that Roxio Easy VHS to DVD has a very bad video processing, very much dependent of I don't know what (I wish I knew). I also said that with other video capturing card I never see any flickering with exactly the same tapes mentioned above.

Fortunately for me, someone else (Jeanette) already stated here that she has similar problems which means that Roxio software has some kind of bug. Unfortunately for me Roxio is giving no support at all and I am almost considering the 60+ US dollars I paid a waste...

Brendon, I keep capturing video-tapes and I will let you know if I notice any particular detail which can help you in your investigation. Regards,
OP351, Internet Services
http://op351.net/
Porto - PORTUGAL

#26 JeanetteNZ

JeanetteNZ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 May 2009 - 04:58 PM

Hi Brendon
Yes I am using a video recorder (Mitsubishi Black Diamond) old but works fine and using Roxio easy VHS to Dvd software and the hardware provided connected to usb port and at other end I have a two prong cable, one with red plug connected to Video out and white plug connected to Audio out. To connect these two cables the red plug is in the yellow Roxio adapter and the white plug is connected to the Roxio double black plug marked audio in. When running the software I have tried "Plug and Burn" where the VHS supposedly burns to DVD and I have tried "Capture Video"  (in the hopes of editing) and then burning to DVD. As stated when trying both "Capture Video" and "Plug and Burn" the video plays perfectly in the small square screen with both sound and picture appearing perfect. I then click the "Capture Now" button while the video is playing and it falters momentarily then starts jumping and flickering with intermittent sound. After capturing I go to My Videos and play this back using various software including Windows Media Player and VHS player and the results are inaudible,  flickering crap.
Any help would be gratefully accepted Jeanette (Dunedin)

#27 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,880 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 May 2009 - 07:22 PM

QUOTE (JeanetteNZ @ May 22 2009, 08:58 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi Brendon
Yes I am using a video recorder (Mitsubishi Black Diamond) old but works fine and using Roxio easy VHS to Dvd software and the hardware provided connected to usb port and at other end I have a two prong cable, one with red plug connected to Video out and white plug connected to Audio out. To connect these two cables the red plug is in the yellow Roxio adapter and the white plug is connected to the Roxio double black plug marked audio in. When running the software I have tried "Plug and Burn" where the VHS supposedly burns to DVD and I have tried "Capture Video"  (in the hopes of editing) and then burning to DVD. As stated when trying both "Capture Video" and "Plug and Burn" the video plays perfectly in the small square screen with both sound and picture appearing perfect. I then click the "Capture Now" button while the video is playing and it falters momentarily then starts jumping and flickering with intermittent sound. After capturing I go to My Videos and play this back using various software including Windows Media Player and VHS player and the results are inaudible,  flickering crap.
Any help would be gratefully accepted Jeanette (Dunedin)



Your connections are "totally crap" to quote you!
The red and white connectors are for the audio only and the yellow are for the video. I think you had better check the VHS2DVD Users guide how to do the hookup.

The video out from the recorder goes to the yellow plug on the Roxio USB, and the audio out go to the red and white plugs on the device. If you have only one audio out plug on your recorder it means that its mono and you will need a Y-cable to split the audio out signal.

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
Intel® 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#28 op351

op351

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 May 2009 - 08:01 PM

Hi Jeanette,

yes, you should start with cable. Connect a 3 wired cable ending with RCA plugs to Roxio V2D as follows:

- yellow for video (composite)
- red for one audio channel (right)
- white for the other audio channel (left)

If you connect just one audio plug then you will listen just one channel, of course, meaning you will get sound only coming from one loudspeaker. If you have not two audio wires then you should use a Y connector like MyGuggi said.

After this, try using Roxio hardware but with Windows Movie Maker software instead (like Brendon suggested to me some posts behind). Then let us know what's gonna happen... Regards,,,
OP351, Internet Services
http://op351.net/
Porto - PORTUGAL

#29 op351

op351

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 25 May 2009 - 02:18 PM

Hi Zsk,

after reading your post I feel you're going through... a biiiig problem!

Let's start with Vista. It was the worst crap invented by MS and I always downgrade to XP when I can. Anyhow, once I have tried to install Roxio Easy VHS to DVD on Windows Vista and it was really a mess. I haven't insisted because I took the wise decision of downgrading the OS to XP. So, you might have an installation problem and it might not be caused by Roxio...

I say this because Windows Movie Maker is part of Windows and it should detect automatically the Roxio hardware. I mean, if you open Windows Movie Maker and click File > Capture you should immediately see on the given window a list of all installed video capture hardware. If you don't see USB 2861 Device then you are... in troubles.

If this is the case, I would suggest you remove totally Roxio Easy V2D and reinstall but... with Windows Vista we never know!
Regards,
AF


POST SCRIPTUM: no need to contact Roxio Support. They will tell you that your laptop and software on it is crap or outdated. Believe me! They did it with me and I already gave up after some hundreds of support tickets. They will never admit they have put in the market such a crap...
OP351, Internet Services
http://op351.net/
Porto - PORTUGAL

#30 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,476 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 May 2009 - 02:27 PM

QUOTE (op351 @ May 25 2009, 05:18 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi Zsk,

after reading your post I feel you're going through... a biiiig problem!

Let's start with Vista. It was the worst crap invented by MS and I always downgrade to XP when I can.


Actually, you UPGRADED to XP.  Others will argue, but XP has always been rock solid for me, and my wife's laptop has Vista on it, and I really don't like it.

I am waiting to see the final results, and comments, on Windows 7.  I will probably build a new computer, and install that, once it is released to the general public.

I will always have XP, on the machine I am currently using.

Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

Main System:
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard; Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
PLEXTOR Black DVD Burner, Model PX-880SA; Pioneer Black 8X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R Burner
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670 2GB Video Card
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series Sound Card
Windows XP Pro w/SP3

Backup Computer:
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Windows 7 Pro w/SP1

#31 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,089 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 29 May 2009 - 03:12 AM

QUOTE (JeanetteNZ @ May 22 2009, 05:58 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi Brendon
Yes I am using a video recorder (Mitsubishi Black Diamond) old but works fine and using Roxio easy VHS to Dvd software and the hardware provided connected to usb port and at other end I have a two prong cable, one with red plug connected to Video out and white plug connected to Audio out. To connect these two cables the red plug is in the yellow Roxio adapter and the white plug is connected to the Roxio double black plug marked audio in.
<snip>
Any help would be gratefully accepted Jeanette (Dunedin)


Hi Jeanette,

I left a private message [PM] for you. Did you get it? There's an area near the top of the page which says "New messages" - click on that.

How did you get on with the new cabling?  Did that solve the flickering??

Regards,
Brendon (ChCh)

P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

"I did it until . . "

#32 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,089 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 07 June 2009 - 03:14 PM

No reply from Jeanette. She has my contact address if she reads her PM, so we'll close this thread for now.
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

"I did it until . . "




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users