Jump to content

Roxio Community

CD Plays on Computer but not Car


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Tom O

Tom O

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 February 2010 - 09:20 AM

Added software last week. Downloaded CD onto computer and burned on CD w/Roxio. CD plays fine on the computer, but not in my Lexus CD player. Used a memorex 52X CD-R disc.  Wasssupp?
I Am A "Hit And Run" Poster!

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 27 February 2010 - 09:26 AM

QUOTE (Tom O @ Feb 27 2010, 11:20 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Added software last week. Downloaded CD onto computer and burned on CD w/Roxio. CD plays fine on the computer, but not in my Lexus CD player. Used a memorex 52X CD-R disc.  Wasssupp?


1) Cheap media?
2) You made an mp3 disc and not an audio CD (what files do you see on the CD in your computer?
3) Have you tried to lay it on another car CD - perhaps a Chevy or Ford?
4) Where did you get original the CD?
5) Is ITunes or other on-line music store involved with any of this?
PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#3 d_deweywright

d_deweywright

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,287 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 March 2010 - 04:08 AM

To clarify the first point there, Memorex media has been a problem for more people than any brand mentioned on these boards.  You might do well to get some Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden discs, which may solve your problem.  But until we know more about exactly what you did, and how you did it (as per the above questions), we're only guessing.
Dave D-W

Beware the lollipop of mediocrity.  Lick it once and you'll suck forever.  - Brian Wilson

[ASUS M4N98TD EVO MB | Athlon II X6 440 (3.3 GHz) | 4GB DDR3 RAM | GE Force 7800 video card | 1-500GB HD (C: XP, G: Win7 , D: - Apps, E: data & apps), 1-500 GB HD Data), L: 1-1 TB WD Green, M: 1 - 2TB Toshiba HD  | 2 - LiteOn DH20A4P DVD burners | External Dell QFlix DX-20A6Q DVD +/- writer  | Windows 7 (32-bit) | Creator 2012 | Tektronix Phaser 8560 solid ink printer | Epson R220 Photo/Disc printer | Ricoh GX 3110db dye sublimation ink | Epson Workforce 1100 printer | Microtek i900 Scanner]
XP w/EMC9
XP w/EMC10
Win7 w/Creator NXT Pro
Win7 w/Creator NXT 2 Pro

#4 PAS42

PAS42

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 March 2010 - 12:40 PM

[quote name='sknis' date='Feb 27 2010, 10:26 AM' post='318179']
1) Cheap media?
2) You made an mp3 disc and not an audio CD (what files do you see on the CD in your computer?
3) Have you tried to lay it on another car CD - perhaps a Chevy or Ford?
4) Where did you get original the CD?
5) Is ITunes or other on-line music store involved with any of this?


I am having the same problem. Wehn I burn an audio CD, it plays on my new CD player and my car CD player, but not on my older Bose CD palyer. What can I do? Thanks

#5 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 10 March 2010 - 12:46 PM

QUOTE (PAS42 @ Mar 10 2010, 08:40 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I am having the same problem. Wehn I burn an audio CD, it plays on my new CD player and my car CD player, but not on my older Bose CD palyer. What can I do? Thanks


Same answer - try a different brand of media - do NOT buy 'cheap and cheerful'
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#6 d_deweywright

d_deweywright

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,287 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 March 2010 - 02:32 PM

Also make sure you're using CD-R, not CD-RW media.

Edited by d_deweywright, 10 March 2010 - 03:44 PM.

Dave D-W

Beware the lollipop of mediocrity.  Lick it once and you'll suck forever.  - Brian Wilson

[ASUS M4N98TD EVO MB | Athlon II X6 440 (3.3 GHz) | 4GB DDR3 RAM | GE Force 7800 video card | 1-500GB HD (C: XP, G: Win7 , D: - Apps, E: data & apps), 1-500 GB HD Data), L: 1-1 TB WD Green, M: 1 - 2TB Toshiba HD  | 2 - LiteOn DH20A4P DVD burners | External Dell QFlix DX-20A6Q DVD +/- writer  | Windows 7 (32-bit) | Creator 2012 | Tektronix Phaser 8560 solid ink printer | Epson R220 Photo/Disc printer | Ricoh GX 3110db dye sublimation ink | Epson Workforce 1100 printer | Microtek i900 Scanner]
XP w/EMC9
XP w/EMC10
Win7 w/Creator NXT Pro
Win7 w/Creator NXT 2 Pro

#7 PAS42

PAS42

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 March 2010 - 11:33 AM

Thanks. I might have been using Memorex; now I'll go get Verbatim. My next question is can I burn using mp3 or wma extensions or do I need to use something else? Thanks again.

#8 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,381,909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 26 March 2010 - 01:21 PM

QUOTE (PAS42 @ Mar 26 2010, 12:33 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Thanks. I might have been using Memorex; now I'll go get Verbatim. My next question is can I burn using mp3 or wma extensions or do I need to use something else? Thanks again.

Please see paragraph #2 of Sknis' post that you quoted.

There are two types of CD, data and audio. If you make a data CD that holds MP3 and other music files it will play on your computer and will probably play on newer CD/DVD players but not some of the older players which will only play Audio CDs.

You can use MP3s and other audio files as the music source with Roxio software to burn a standard Audio-CD. That should play on your older player, unless the older player is one of the real old types which won't play any burned discs at all - they only play pressed silver commercial CDs.


P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
DVDRW IDE 16X, in Windws XP, 7, and 8

So, what happens now?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users