Jump to content

Roxio Community

Multiple .gi files


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 RobDog

RobDog

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 April 2010 - 03:38 AM

Hi all,

I have just created a .gi image of a DVD using Roxio Creator.

This process has created 3 .gi files rather than the single file that I was expecting!

One file is 1.99GB, another is 1.72GB and the last is 1.6KB

Question is, why have 3 files been created rather than one, and when I come to burn a DVD from this image, which file do I select to start the process?

Thank you.

#2 tbrewst

tbrewst

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taos,NM

Posted 12 April 2010 - 05:13 AM

As long as the original data is less than 4GB than I would have expected to get 1 file.

What app did you use to create the image?
What does the image consist of?Is it data,video,etc?

Edited by tbrewst, 12 April 2010 - 05:14 AM.

"Mild-mannered Supermen
Are held in kryptonite
And the wise and foolish virgins giggle
With there bodies glowing bright
And through the door a harvest feast
Is lit by candle light
It's the bottom of a staircase
That spirals out of sight"


Terry

64 bitWindows 8.1 OS
AMD FX-8320 8 core 3.5Ghz processor with Arctic Freezer 64 Pro cooling fan
Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 AM3+ motherboard
Galaxy  GeForce GTX 550 Ti video card with 1Gb memory
8Gb G Skill Ripjaws Series DDR3 1600 RAM
120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD drive
1Tb Hitachi SATA hard drive
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray drive
Lite-On iHAS224-06 SATA DVD drive
Rosewill Destroyer case
Cambridge Soundworks THX 5.1 speaker system
Onboard Realtek HD audio
I-inc iH-252HPB 25" widescreen monitor connected via HDMI
Samsung 2525W Laser Printer

#3 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,802 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 12 April 2010 - 05:14 AM

QUOTE (RobDog @ Apr 12 2010, 06:38 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi all,

I have just created a .gi image of a DVD using Roxio Creator.

This process has created 3 .gi files rather than the single file that I was expecting!

One file is 1.99GB, another is 1.72GB and the last is 1.6KB

Question is, why have 3 files been created rather than one, and when I come to burn a DVD from this image, which file do I select to start the process?

Thank you.


Have you tried making an ISO file?  What version of the software do you have?  How did you make the gi (image)?  If you have 3 gi, then you have 3 separate images and will need to be burned separately.  There is software to combine the gi images; Google for it.

Just to make sure, is your disc NTFS?
PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#4 RobDog

RobDog

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 April 2010 - 07:33 AM

I used Roxio Creator DE 10.3 which came with my new Dell laptop.

It only gives me the choice of creating a GI; no ISO option.

The DVD I'm creating an image of is the first disc of Adobe Creative Suite 4.  I used the COPY - CREATE DISC IMAGE option.

I am burning the image to an NTFS partition as a backup.

I do have other ISO image creators; I just thought I'd give Roxio Creator DE a whirl as it was pre-installed on my new machine and ready to use.  If there is a solution to this issue that would be great as it would save me installing something else.

Thank you for your responses so far.

#5 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,381,975 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 12 April 2010 - 02:27 PM

When you're making a .GI image from a disc, the software saves it as a multi-part set.

Each part is a tad under 2GB and when you're burning back to disc from the set you use the name of the first part and the other pieces follow on. It's handled very similarly to a multi-part archive file set. The down side is you can't use just any software to burn it back to disc like you could with an ISO.

I don't know why that <2GB size is set for the pieces, perhaps to cope with other file systems such as FAT12 or FAT16 etc.

Have a good look around the software to make sure there isn't a pull-down menu which allows you to select ISO.
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
DVDRW IDE 16X, in Windws XP, 7, and 8

So, what happens now?

#6 tbrewst

tbrewst

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taos,NM

Posted 13 April 2010 - 05:10 AM

Good info Brendon.Seems like I remember this coming up sometime in the past.
That's why I asked about the source.I wanted to try it but didn't get back in time.
"Mild-mannered Supermen
Are held in kryptonite
And the wise and foolish virgins giggle
With there bodies glowing bright
And through the door a harvest feast
Is lit by candle light
It's the bottom of a staircase
That spirals out of sight"


Terry

64 bitWindows 8.1 OS
AMD FX-8320 8 core 3.5Ghz processor with Arctic Freezer 64 Pro cooling fan
Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 AM3+ motherboard
Galaxy  GeForce GTX 550 Ti video card with 1Gb memory
8Gb G Skill Ripjaws Series DDR3 1600 RAM
120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD drive
1Tb Hitachi SATA hard drive
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray drive
Lite-On iHAS224-06 SATA DVD drive
Rosewill Destroyer case
Cambridge Soundworks THX 5.1 speaker system
Onboard Realtek HD audio
I-inc iH-252HPB 25" widescreen monitor connected via HDMI
Samsung 2525W Laser Printer




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users