• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 computerinfant

computerinfant

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 May 2010 - 06:03 AM

Despite its having been on my computer for a while, I am new to toast.

I get the part that, in order to play mp3s in my car, I have to record them onto a disk with toast. What I don't get is why. That is part b of my question.

Part a of my question is - why, when I try to burn mp3 files of less than 500 mb does toast tell me there's not enough free space on the disk?

I have a bunch of mp3 files on my computer, and I started up toast and clicked on 'audio', and then dragged them (all 470 mb of them or whatever) into the window. When I try to burn the disk it says I need much more memory (the figure was quite oddly expressed). What does toast do to the files that they get bigger? And how can I see HOW big they are getting?

#2 tsantee

tsantee

Digital Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,596 posts

Posted 19 May 2010 - 06:23 AM

Did you get an "out of memory" error? If so, that's not what's really wrong although I can't seem to recall what actually makes that error appear. In any case, what you're trying to burn is an mp3 disc that can play in a CD player equipped to play mp3 discs. Is that right? Does your version of Toast have an "MP3 Disc" setting in the Audio window and that is what you're using? If so, at what point does the error message appear? An alternative is to choose ISO9660 as the format in the Data window. Click New Disc and then add your MP3s. This creates the same thing as the MP3 Disc setting except that Toast doesn't check to make certain all the audio files include the .mp3 extension in their file name.

You also can burn MP3 discs with iTunes. Create a playlist containing your MP3 files. Insert a CD-R. Choose Burn disc. Select MP3 disc as the format and burn the disc.