Jump to content

Roxio Community

Photo

Saved Emc7 Projects Are Corrupted


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Bunkie

Bunkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkeley Springs WV
  • Interests:food, practical gardening, old movies, Victorian novels, homeschooling, Catholicism, 1940's pop music

Posted 23 July 2010 - 02:16 AM

After I upload saved projects to the project window and try to play files, the little monitor window on the left displays the selected file then scrolls through all the rest of the files and doesn't play anything. Also, I get an error message if I try to burn the project. All the files are prominently displayed in the project window, but I can't play them or burn the project.

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 23 July 2010 - 04:31 AM

After I upload saved projects to the project window and try to play files, the little monitor window on the left displays the selected file then scrolls through all the rest of the files and doesn't play anything. Also, I get an error message if I try to burn the project. All the files are prominently displayed in the project window, but I can't play them or burn the project.


You are going to have to provide much more information. Confirm that you have Easy Media Creator 7 or 7.5 nd that you are not trying to use a newer version.

What is the type of project (extension). What application (part of the program)? Are the files still on your computer IN THE SAME PLACE?

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#3 Bunkie

Bunkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkeley Springs WV
  • Interests:food, practical gardening, old movies, Victorian novels, homeschooling, Catholicism, 1940's pop music

Posted 23 July 2010 - 01:07 PM

You are going to have to provide much more information. Confirm that you have Easy Media Creator 7 or 7.5 nd that you are not trying to use a newer version.

Yes, EMC7.

What is the type of project (extension).

Project? Audio CD? Is that right?

What application (part of the program)?

This is Greek to me. Could it be 'create audio CD'?


Are the files still on your computer IN THE SAME PLACE? Yes and yes.


Yes, files are still on the computer in the same place.

#4 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,625 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 July 2010 - 01:22 PM

After I upload saved projects to the project window and try to play files, the little monitor window on the left displays the selected file then scrolls through all the rest of the files and doesn't play anything. Also, I get an error message if I try to burn the project. All the files are prominently displayed in the project window, but I can't play them or burn the project.


Have you changed your operating system, lately?

Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

 


#5 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,041 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 23 July 2010 - 01:23 PM

Yes, files are still on the computer in the same place.


Re-read post #2 and answer ALL the questions. If you can,t get a friend/neighbour/relative to help you.

#6 Bunkie

Bunkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkeley Springs WV
  • Interests:food, practical gardening, old movies, Victorian novels, homeschooling, Catholicism, 1940's pop music

Posted 23 July 2010 - 03:22 PM

Have you changed your operating system, lately?


I have not changed my operating system ever - it is WINXP.

Re-read post #2 and answer ALL the questions. If you can,t get a friend/neighbour/relative to help you.


C'mon, gimme a break!!

When do we eat?

What's the Neapolitan 6th chord in G-flat minor?

Whose on first? You bet!

#7 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,625 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 July 2010 - 03:40 PM

I have not changed my operating system ever - it is WINXP.



C'mon, gimme a break!!

When do we eat?

What's the Neapolitan 6th chord in G-flat minor?

Whose on first? You bet!


What you might think is insignificant, isn't. Answering ALL questions may result in you getting up and running.

The folks here, are users of Roxio software, like you. You are the one having the problems, not us.

If you are trying to burn music CDs, use Creator Classic to do it.

Edited by grandpabruce, 23 July 2010 - 03:42 PM.

Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

 


#8 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,041 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 23 July 2010 - 03:49 PM

I have not changed my operating system ever - it is WINXP.



C'mon, gimme a break!!

When do we eat?

What's the Neapolitan 6th chord in G-flat minor?

Whose on first? You bet!


I could care less if you don't answer the questions , your the one with the problem.

Just trying to help you.

#9 Bunkie

Bunkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkeley Springs WV
  • Interests:food, practical gardening, old movies, Victorian novels, homeschooling, Catholicism, 1940's pop music

Posted 24 July 2010 - 07:44 AM

I could care less if you don't answer the questions , your the one with the problem.

Just trying to help you.


My problem in EMC 7 is clearly described in my 1st post. Files created in EMC 7 and compiled as 'projects' are stored in my computer and tagged with 'project' names. There are no discernable extensions, but all are in MP3 format, if that matters.
The files are stored in my C drive and also in an external hard drive in 'My Documents'. When I select 'create audio CD' from the EMC 7 Creator Classic main window, then select 'My Documents', the folder names appear in the upper right window. If I select a known-to-be music (MP3) file from a folder and add it to the project window, right-click on the file and then click 'play' nothing plays and I get a display scrolling through all the files. Do I really have to speak more detailed computerese to describe what seems simple to my simple mind?
Just a thought: is it possible my invidious 'register cleaner' deleted the files' contents and left me with only their listing?

#10 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 24 July 2010 - 07:53 AM

Let's do it one step at a time. Can you play the mp3 files with any other music player - WMP, VLC, etc?

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#11 Bunkie

Bunkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkeley Springs WV
  • Interests:food, practical gardening, old movies, Victorian novels, homeschooling, Catholicism, 1940's pop music

Posted 24 July 2010 - 07:59 AM

Let's do it one step at a time. Can you play the mp3 files with any other music player - WMP, VLC, etc?

YES, and I can even play the individual files in EMC 7, but I can't play them in the EMC 7 project or play or burn the project.

#12 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 24 July 2010 - 08:17 AM

My guess is that you are opening the application and then adding the "project" if that is true, and you get the performance you describe, then the projects are corrupt.

As you know, you are working with an old program that I do not have on my computer. Try searching your computer for the name of the project. If that doesn't work, then the second thing I would try is to search for files that have the extension "dmsa". If you can't find them, then 1) The file extension way back then is different from what it is now or 2) They are gone and the application hasn't been cleaned up to reflect that. Try searching your computer for the name of the project

I'm sure someone who still has EMC 7 on their computer will come and tell us the right extension.

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#13 Bunkie

Bunkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkeley Springs WV
  • Interests:food, practical gardening, old movies, Victorian novels, homeschooling, Catholicism, 1940's pop music

Posted 24 July 2010 - 08:28 AM

My guess is that you are opening the application and then adding the "project" if that is true, and you get the performance you describe, then the projects are corrupt.

As you know, you are working with an old program that I do not have on my computer. Try searching your computer for the name of the project. If that doesn't work, then the second thing I would try is to search for files that have the extension "dmsa". If you can't find them, then 1) The file extension way back then is different from what it is now or 2) They are gone and the application hasn't been cleaned up to reflect that. Try searching your computer for the name of the project

I'm sure someone who still has EMC 7 on their computer will come and tell us the right extension.


I find the projects OK, but when I open them in EMC 7 I cannot access the individual files.
Extensions like 'dsma' are also part of my Greek Lexicon. (-; I am sure it is a misspelling of 'dismal'.

#14 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 24 July 2010 - 08:31 AM

I find the projects OK, but when I open them in EMC 7 I cannot access the individual files.
Extensions like 'dsma' are also part of my Greek Lexicon. (-; I am sure it is a misspelling of 'dismal'.


Sorry I don't know what else to suggest. It would probably have been quicker to just recreate them than this trouble shooting thread.

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#15 Bunkie

Bunkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkeley Springs WV
  • Interests:food, practical gardening, old movies, Victorian novels, homeschooling, Catholicism, 1940's pop music

Posted 24 July 2010 - 08:36 AM

Sorry I don't know what else to suggest. It would probably have been quicker to just recreate them than this trouble shooting thread.


Ground ball to 2nd base; missed it - nice try!
Thanx




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users