Jump to content

Roxio Community

Fix For Missing Or Corrupt Certificate Error


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
14 replies to this topic

#1 Sonic Boom

Sonic Boom

    Digital Master

  • Roxio Staff
  • 668 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:53 PM

We created a fix today for the Certificate Missing/Corrupt error during launch of some of the applications. It's not official yet so we need some people to verify it works.

To apply the fix.

1. IMPORTANT (Turn OFF Antivirus)
2. Close down all Roxio apps and then run the following RepairLicense2011.exe.
3. Click the button "Reset License and TimeLocks" and wait a few minutes (takes about 2 minutes)
4. Relaunch applications that failed.

http://www.dutran.co...icenseC2011.zip

Please post if this works for you. Also we need information on what machines this is reproducing on.
Please post your Operating System and Machine Manufacturer/Model. Also what antivirus software you're using.
Du Tran
Quality Assurance Lead (I break things, I don't fix them)
ROXIO, a division of Sonic Solutions

#2 p412

p412

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 September 2010 - 05:42 PM

Sorry, it is a poor patch. It is still not working for all my applications in Roxio Creator 2011 Pro (with same cerror "certifcate missing ..."
My laptop is: Dell Studio 15, Windows 7, 64bit machine.
I believe that your certificates generated in the directories are inconsistent with windows 7 regestry

#3 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 21 September 2010 - 06:16 PM

View Postp412, on 21 September 2010 - 05:42 PM, said:

Sorry, it is a poor patch. It is still not working for all my applications in Roxio Creator 2011 Pro (with same cerror "certifcate missing ..."
My laptop is: Dell Studio 15, Windows 7, 64bit machine.
I believe that your certificates generated in the directories are inconsistent with windows 7 regestry

If that was the case, don't you think there would have been hundreds of complaints by now? As it stands it's a rare occurence which Du is trying to work out - a LOT of others (myself included) have it installed with no problem on Windows 7 (64 bit Ultimate in my case) so it's not a 'bug' in that it isn't consistently occuring.

There are a lot of variable factors involved when it comes to installing - apps being left running in the background is one example, beta software installed (Internet Explorer 9 for example).

Keep working with Du and see if he can find out why you are having that problem - it has to be something specific to your setup really
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#4 Sonic Boom

Sonic Boom

    Digital Master

  • Roxio Staff
  • 668 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 September 2010 - 08:02 AM

View Postp412, on 21 September 2010 - 05:42 PM, said:

Sorry, it is a poor patch. It is still not working for all my applications in Roxio Creator 2011 Pro (with same cerror "certifcate missing ..."
My laptop is: Dell Studio 15, Windows 7, 64bit machine.
I believe that your certificates generated in the directories are inconsistent with windows 7 regestry

Will need a trace from you then

http://www.dutran.co...xio/Tracing.zip

1. Run tracing .exe
2. Launch application that fails (ie MyDVD from Start Menu)
3. Save log to text file

I'll send you my email to send to.
Du Tran
Quality Assurance Lead (I break things, I don't fix them)
ROXIO, a division of Sonic Solutions

#5 Sonic Boom

Sonic Boom

    Digital Master

  • Roxio Staff
  • 668 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 September 2010 - 10:20 AM

OK I found another interesting tidbit. You need to disable your antivirus as it looks like it tampers with Roxio certificate processing. I was testing with McAfee Total Solution. The patch did not work until I turned the Real-Time Scanning feature "OFF".
Du Tran
Quality Assurance Lead (I break things, I don't fix them)
ROXIO, a division of Sonic Solutions

#6 CorsaGirl

CorsaGirl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 September 2010 - 10:22 AM

Hooray, the fix has worked for me! I'm working on an HP HDX-16 Premium Series 64 bit laptop running Windows 7.

#7 DonnaE

DonnaE

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 October 2010 - 07:40 AM

View PostSonic Boom, on 21 September 2010 - 01:53 PM, said:

We created a fix today for the Certificate Missing/Corrupt error during launch of some of the applications. It's not official yet so we need some people to verify it works.

To apply the fix.

1. IMPORTANT (Turn OFF Antivirus)
2. Close down all Roxio apps and then run the following RepairLicense2011.exe.
3. Click the button "Reset License and TimeLocks" and wait a few minutes (takes about 2 minutes)
4. Relaunch applications that failed.

http://www.dutran.co...icenseC2011.zip

Please post if this works for you. Also we need information on what machines this is reproducing on.
Please post your Operating System and Machine Manufacturer/Model. Also what antivirus software you're using.

I am unable to download this fix because it is a Zip file. Now I have to purchase WinZip to download your file to fix the new software that I just bought yesterday fro $60.00 ? THIS IS RIDICULOUS!!!! I purchased the East VHS to DVD and I am getting this Certificate is missing or corrupt. Took forever to even find a mention of this for this product!

Edited by DonnaE, 02 October 2010 - 07:43 AM.


#8 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 02 October 2010 - 07:43 AM

Who said anything about purchase?

Both winzip and winrar are both available in fully functioning free trial versions

Apart from which, Windows WILL open and extract standard .zip files without the need for an external program
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#9 ggrussell

ggrussell

    Digital Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,940 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 October 2010 - 01:13 PM

WinXP , Vista and Vista can open a ZIP file without any additional software. Plus there are tons of free stuff that will do like JZip.

Edited by ggrussell, 02 October 2010 - 01:13 PM.

Intel i7 4770k, 16GB 2400, LG 47" 3D TV, Two Kingston HyperX 240GB SSD, Hitachi 1TB HD, WD 3TB external USB3, LiteOn iHBS112 Bluray, LG WH14NS40 Bluray, ATI HD7870, Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z5500 THX certified 5.1 speakers, Epson 4490 scanner, Canon 9000Pro MarkII printer, Canon MF8380CDW, Sony TRV740 8mm digital, Canon HV20 HDV camcorder and Sony SLTA65VK for still photos, Win8 Pro 64bit
---------
System 2: HP DV7-3079wm, AMD Turion M60 2.4Ghz, $GB RAM, Patriot Pyro 128GB SSD, WD 320GB, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650, Win8 Pro 64bit.

Gary Russell
TNUSA

#10 collinsfriend

collinsfriend

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 October 2010 - 03:13 PM

After many hours and days of uninstalling and re-installing THIS WORKED for my Windows 7 Home Premium. THANKS! Between the errors and corrupt certificate missing file messages, Windows kept telling me it was incompatible. It drove me crazy because the whole thing APPEARED to install, I even had the home page. I had disabled all firewalls, pop up blockers, I even tried creating a Roxio administrator,lowered the security level did everything and nothing worked until this. I was about to see about a refund. Maybe you should offer this as an optional or suggested patch in the support section.

Edited by collinsfriend, 02 October 2010 - 03:18 PM.


#11 biskie03

biskie03

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 October 2010 - 07:24 PM

Thank you so much!  It WAS the anti-virus!  I was receiving the same thing about the corrupt file and then the permissions error.  As soon as I turned off my antivirus software and ran the license tool, everything worked.  I have yet to try to burn a dvd, but my gui is up.   :D

#12 kklucas@mahaska.org

kklucas@mahaska.org

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 October 2010 - 04:33 PM

View PostSonic Boom, on 21 September 2010 - 01:53 PM, said:

We created a fix today for the Certificate Missing/Corrupt error during launch of some of the applications. It's not official yet so we need some people to verify it works.

To apply the fix.

1. IMPORTANT (Turn OFF Antivirus)
2. Close down all Roxio apps and then run the following RepairLicense2011.exe.
3. Click the button "Reset License and TimeLocks" and wait a few minutes (takes about 2 minutes)
4. Relaunch applications that failed.

http://www.dutran.co...icenseC2011.zip

Please post if this works for you. Also we need information on what machines this is reproducing on.
Please post your Operating System and Machine Manufacturer/Model. Also what antivirus software you're using.

It just worked for me! I had no response when I clicked the Roxio Creator 2011 icon on my desktop... until I followed the instructions you provided here and executed the file "RepairLicenseC2011.exe" THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!  
Dell XPS 7100
Windows 7 Home Premium
McAfee Total Protection

#13 mbebber

mbebber

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 October 2010 - 09:00 PM

Just worked for me too!!!!!  I downloaded the www.dutran.co...icenseC2011.zip file.  I ran msconfig and turned off all startup files.  Rebooted the computer and then went to the control panel and ran admin tools, Computer managment, services and apps, and opened services.  Scroll down and turn off all Mcafee services.  Unzip and run www.dutran.co...icenseC2011.zip file.  Wait a few minutes then close all open apps.  Run msconfig again and turn all the startup apps back on and reboot the computer.  I am running Windows 7 Pro 64bit on a MSI X58Pro-E MB, Intel i7 930 Processor, 12 GB Ram. Iam also running Mcafee Total Protection software.

I have been fighting with this software install for two weeks and I finally got it running!!!!!  It should no be that hard to install!!!  At least I can get back to work now on my Editing.

Mike

#14 pmetech

pmetech

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 October 2010 - 10:07 PM

it does work, the key is to for sure disable all startups and mcafee services, reboot, install all 3 programs, restart, run the patch, give it some time, start program and if you now can run it (yippe), reenable all your mcafee and startups, restart, your back in business. btw, im running vista ultimate 64 bit on a 2tb raid 01,

Edited by pmetech, 17 October 2010 - 10:11 PM.


#15 Meringue

Meringue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 October 2010 - 01:54 AM

View PostSonic Boom, on 21 September 2010 - 01:53 PM, said:

We created a fix today for the Certificate Missing/Corrupt error during launch of some of the applications. It's not official yet so we need some people to verify it works.

To apply the fix.

1. IMPORTANT (Turn OFF Antivirus)
2. Close down all Roxio apps and then run the following RepairLicense2011.exe.
3. Click the button "Reset License and TimeLocks" and wait a few minutes (takes about 2 minutes)
4. Relaunch applications that failed.

http://www.dutran.co...icenseC2011.zip

Please post if this works for you. Also we need information on what machines this is reproducing on.
Please post your Operating System and Machine Manufacturer/Model. Also what antivirus software you're using.

MANY THANKS that worked for me after:
  - disconnecting internet
  - disabled all security modes in Norton 360 (safe surfing, identity safe, backup, backup status overlays, automatic LiveUpdates, Smart Firewall, Norton Tamper Protection)
  - used RepairLicense2011.exe and waited approx. 2 minutes
  - Could launch several Roxio applications which failed before
  - enabled all above security modes in Norton 360
  - Checked again that several Roxio applications can still be launched and it WORKED
  - Many THANKS!

Hard- and Software used:
DELL Precision M4500
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (6.1 build 7600)
Processor Intel Core i7 x940 2.13 GHz
16GB RAM
Roxio Creator 2011 Pro
Symantec Norton 360

However it took me a while to find this solution and it was quite frustrating.
Maybe you want to be a bit more pro-active on this and release a newsletter/E-Mail update to all registered customers.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users