Jump to content

Roxio Community

Cannot Burn Iso Image, Creator 9 De


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Charging Bull

Charging Bull

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 October 2010 - 06:35 PM

I am using the following software which came with a Dell Precision M6400 running Windows Vista Professional 64-bit.

Roxio Creator DE
Version: 9.1.573 SP1
Serial Number: 15-HMSJ0-xxxxx-xxxxx
Copyright: Sonic Solutions 2007

When I choose Copy > Burn Image and insert a new CD-R disk, it reports that there is only 10 MB free space.  When I try to burn, a few seconds later the following message appears.

There was a problem writing to the disc.  You can try again by clicking the Retry button.  You will need another blank disc ready.

I have used these disks successfully on a different M6400 machine.

Must I go to Dell for support?  A message to my email would be much appreciated.

Please advise.  Thanks.

#2 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 11 October 2010 - 07:00 PM

I don't think you'll find anybody who will email answers to you. We find solutions in the forum so that everyone can see the answer. :)

Please tell us about the ISO image you're trying to burn to disc. [How big is it? What sort of disc was it made from?]
We need to know also, what CD-Rs you're trying to use. [Brand, speed, and size.]
What burner drive does your computer have? [Make and Model number]
What other error information do you get apart from "There was a problem writing to the disc. You can try again by clicking the Retry button. You will need another blank disc ready." when you're trying to burn? Is/Are there other error message(s) which pop up and give error text or numeric codes?

Your official support has to come from Dell since you're using their software on their machine, but we're a group of enthusiasts here and will help you all we can.
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

As a very wise man told me, "You do it until . . . . ."

#3 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,425 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 12 October 2010 - 01:55 AM

And how much defragged free space do you have on that computer's system drive?
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#4 Charging Bull

Charging Bull

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 12 October 2010 - 04:27 AM

I am not trying to get a private email answer.  I just want to know when someone posts a response on this thread.  It appears that I am getting notified.

This has happened with all of the .iso images that I have tried.  I am currently trying to burn the Ubuntu desktop 10.10.10 image.  It is currently burning on a different machine.

I am using Memorex CD-R 52X 700MB 80min media.  Disks from this package are working in the other machine.  In fact, one that failed on this machine is now burning on the other machine.

Burner: TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-D633A
Firmware: D200

Retry results in the same message.  No additional error text or numeric codes.

Any ideas or suggestions?

#5 Charging Bull

Charging Bull

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 12 October 2010 - 04:29 AM

View Postsknis, on 12 October 2010 - 01:55 AM, said:

And how much defragged free space do you have on that computer's system drive?

Please tell me how I would find that information?

Do you mean the largest, contiguous free space on the drive?

#6 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,425 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 12 October 2010 - 04:59 AM

View PostCharging Bull, on 12 October 2010 - 04:29 AM, said:

Please tell me how I would find that information?

Do you mean the largest, contiguous free space on the drive?

The defrag part was simply a reminder to defrag (and clean) your system drive.  I'm sure you know how to find out how much space you have left on your system drive.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#7 Dan34

Dan34

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 October 2010 - 08:04 AM

I use Easy Creator 10 and was having the same problem but after I "Finished" the session the .ISO worked just fine.  In EC10 select Copy, Burn Image; browse to find your .ISO and insert a blank CD-R; click Burn Image Button; disc ejects on completion; push the disc back in; click on tools, select "finalize disc"; click "Finalize Button"; disc will eject; cancel to complete.  I have a Superwrite Master Burning Rohm; Vista Premium 34-OS.  I believe the key is to "Finalize" the burn whatever software you are using; otherwise it probably you burner rom.
Dan
MB-Gigabyte EP 35C-DS3R; OS-Vista Home Premium SP1; HDD-Western Dig Caviar 640 GB, 3 Gb/s Sata, 16 MB Cach, 7200RPM; MEM- Corsair ZMS2, 4 GB DDR2; Processor-Intel Gore 2 Quad Q9550; Graphics-NVIDIA GEFORCE 9800 GT , 512 mb DDR3; PWS- ColerMaster Plus 500W; DVD-Samsung 20x DVDR LIGTSCRB.

#8 Charging Bull

Charging Bull

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 12 October 2010 - 09:35 AM

View PostDan34, on 12 October 2010 - 08:04 AM, said:

I use Easy Creator 10 and was having the same problem but after I "Finished" the session the .ISO worked just fine.  In EC10 select Copy, Burn Image; browse to find your .ISO and insert a blank CD-R; click Burn Image Button; disc ejects on completion; push the disc back in; click on tools, select "finalize disc"; click "Finalize Button"; disc will eject; cancel to complete.  I have a Superwrite Master Burning Rohm; Vista Premium 34-OS.  I believe the key is to "Finalize" the burn whatever software you are using; otherwise it probably you burner rom.

I am not sure this is the same problem.  I cannot ever get the image to burn to completion.  The error message appears within 30 seconds of starting the burn.

#9 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,734 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 October 2010 - 11:27 AM

View PostCharging Bull, on 12 October 2010 - 09:35 AM, said:

I am not sure this is the same problem.  I cannot ever get the image to burn to completion.  The error message appears within 30 seconds of starting the burn.

Google for ImgBurn and use it to burn the iso file.

Also dump those Memorex discs and get some quality discs.

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
Intel® 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#10 Charging Bull

Charging Bull

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 12 October 2010 - 11:38 AM

View Postmyguggi, on 12 October 2010 - 11:27 AM, said:

Google for ImgBurn and use it to burn the iso file.

Also dump those Memorex discs and get some quality discs.

I take it that you are suggesting that I not use Roxio software.  Is that correct?

Imgburn may be all that I need.  I am not a movie maker or audio buff.  I will give Imgburn a try.

#11 Charging Bull

Charging Bull

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 12 October 2010 - 12:25 PM

View Postmyguggi, on 12 October 2010 - 11:27 AM, said:

Google for ImgBurn and use it to burn the iso file.

Also dump those Memorex discs and get some quality discs.

Imgburn is providing a lot more information when the error occurs.  The log and the error dialog box that appears (this box should be copyable) follow.  Do these provide any clues?

===

I 14:09:50 ImgBurn Version 2.5.2.0 started!
I 14:09:50 Microsoft Windows Vista Business x64 Edition (6.0, Build 6002 : Service Pack 2)
I 14:09:50 Total Physical Memory: 8,375,312 KB  -  Available: 5,392,408 KB
I 14:09:50 Initialising SPTI...
I 14:09:50 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
I 14:09:50 -> Drive 1 - Info: TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-D633A D200 (E:) (ATAPI)
I 14:09:50 Found 1 DVD±RW/RAM!
I 14:10:46 Operation Started!
I 14:10:46 Source File: C:\Master\Ubuntu\ubuntu-10.10-desktop-i386.iso
I 14:10:46 Source File Sectors: 354,896 (MODE1/2048)
I 14:10:46 Source File Size: 726,827,008 bytes
I 14:10:46 Source File Volume Identifier: Ubuntu 10.10 i38
I 14:10:46 Source File Application Identifier: GENISOIMAGE ISO 9660/HFS FILESYSTEM CREATOR © 1993 E.YOUNGDALE © 1997-2006 J.PEARSON/J.SCHILLING © 2006-2007 CDRKIT TEAM
I 14:10:47 Source File File System(s): ISO9660 (Bootable), Joliet
I 14:10:47 Destination Device: [0:1:0] TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-D633A D200 (E:) (ATAPI)
I 14:10:47 Destination Media Type: CD-R (Disc ID: 97m15s17f, Ritek Co.) (Speeds: 10x, 16x, 20x, 24x)
I 14:10:47 Destination Media Sectors: 359,843
I 14:10:47 Write Mode: CD
I 14:10:47 Write Type: SAO
I 14:10:47 Write Speed: 10x
I 14:10:47 Lock Volume: Yes
I 14:10:47 Test Mode: No
I 14:10:47 OPC: No
I 14:10:47 BURN-Proof: Enabled
I 14:10:47 Write Speed Successfully Set! - Effective: 1,764 KB/s (10x)
I 14:10:47 Filling Buffer... (40 MB)
I 14:10:49 Writing LeadIn...

===

I/O Error!

Device: [0:1:0] TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-D633A D200 (E) (ATAPI)

ScsiStatus: 0x02
Interpretation: Check Condition

CDB: 2A 00 FF FF FF BA 00 00 20 00
Interpretation: Write (10) - Sectors: -118 - -87

Sense Area: 70 00 05 00 00 00 00 0A 00 00 00 00 21 02 00 00 00 00
Interpretation: Invalid Address For Write

#12 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 12 October 2010 - 02:46 PM

That could be the media or the drive itself (about to die)
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#13 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,425 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 13 October 2010 - 03:01 AM

What brand and type of disc are you trying to use and what burner do you have - make and model number please.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#14 cdanteek

cdanteek

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,036 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Prairie Rapids Crossing.

Posted 13 October 2010 - 06:18 AM

Quote

I am using Memorex CD-R 52X 700MB 80min media.


All kinds of folks might bad mouth your Memorex disc's. Memorex is a brand name not a manufacture name, the manufacture that made those disc is in the ImgBurn log ( Ritek Co)..

Since you say they work in another machine they're probably fine. What X speed are they? ImgBurns highest X speed was 24X, that means old media or old burner/firmware?
'

Quote

Burner: TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-D633A Firmware: D200

What is your PC a Dell and came with the TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-D633A Firmware: D200?

How old and have you ever updated the firmware for the burner?

Next time post the whole ImgBurn log please..
cd
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Computer Specs click show.
Spoiler

1.Click here   Beginners Guide - Blank DVD Media Type Definitions & What A Firmware Upgrade Is for Your Burner.
2.Click here Firmware HQ - site  dedicated to providing you with the latest firmware releases for your optical disc drives.  
3.Click here CD-DVD Speed
4.Click here CD-DVD Speed - A user guide
5.Click here Enabling/Checking DMA in Windows Vista, XP, 2000, Me, 9x.
6.Click hereYou can no longer access the CD drive or the DVD drive.
7.Click here Drive Not Recognized By Roxio, PX Engine 3_00_58a. Old Version<-> EMC 7.5 Up  PX Engine 4.18.16a. Update .Click here  PX Engine Fix, Click here The Latest 4.10.28a Click here
8.Click here  How to uninstall IE 7 and WMP 11.
9.Click here ImgBurn Current version: v2.5.8.0 (3,389 KB)  CD / DVD / HD DVD / Blu-ray burning application
10.Click here InfoTool  (Drive, Disk, Configuration, Software, Hardware, DMA settings, etc.).
11.Click here   Complete Uninstall of Creator 2011 & Creator 2012
12.Click here Complete Uninstall of Creator 2009 and 2010 (Windows Vista and 7)
13.Click here Complete Uninstall of Creator 2009 and 2010 (Windows XP)
14.Click here Complete Uninstall of Easy Media Creator 9 & 10 on Windows Vista  
15.Click here Complete Uninstall of Easy Media Creator 7.5,  8, 9, & 10 on Windows XP
16. Click here WinZip Data Compression Utility <>  Click here WinRAR Data Compression Utility   Click here 7-Zip Data Compression Utility
17. Click here Finding Your Computer Specs And Roxio Software Version Number.

E-mail spambots harvest e-mail addresses from material found on the Internet in order to build mailing lists for sending unsolicited e-mail, also known as spam. Such spambots are web crawlers that can gather e-mail addresses from Web sites, newsgroups, special-interest group (SIG) postings, and chat-room conversations. .

Do not post your email address on any public forum!  

#15 Charging Bull

Charging Bull

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 October 2010 - 08:51 AM

I tried to install the current drive firmware from http://support.dell.com/ which appears to be more recent than the http://www.firmwarehq.com/ package.  The firmware load failed.  Now this slot drive will not even pull a disk in.

A call to Dell technical support resulted in a replacement drive being shipped to arrive tomorrow.

Many thanks to everyone for your help and suggestions.  After installing the replacement drive, I will try to remember to post the results here.  Thanks.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users