Jump to content

Roxio Community

Error While  Writing Format


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Golferjack

Golferjack

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 24 February 2011 - 04:37 PM

In MY DVD I get a message "Project_BuildToDevice() AuthorScript call failed. Error while  Writing Format".  I don't know what his means.  The message occurs after MYDVD has encoded the menu and begins the Write Format part.  I clicked on details in the message, but it just repeats the error.  I am trying to make a AVCHD.  There are about 35 photos and no sound track--very simple DVD.  The input to MYDVD came from VideoWave.  Any help?????????  I have made many AVCHDs so I know the software is not missing something.

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 25 February 2011 - 05:55 AM

View Postgolferjacl, on 24 February 2011 - 04:37 PM, said:

In MY DVD I get a message "Project_BuildToDevice() AuthorScript call failed. Error while  Writing Format".  I don't know what his means.  The message occurs after MYDVD has encoded the menu and begins the Write Format part.  I clicked on details in the message, but it just repeats the error.  I am trying to make a AVCHD.  There are about 35 photos and no sound track--very simple DVD.  The input to MYDVD came from VideoWave.  Any help?????????  I have made many AVCHDs so I know the software is not missing something.

That is a well known error that has been around since Creator 2010 and that no one knows why it happens. It shows up randomly as you have found. The process described in this post (link) seems to be the best work around and does not take much more time espacially compared with having to do it over again.

Let us know if it works for you.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#3 Golferjack

Golferjack

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 12 April 2011 - 10:35 AM

Hello,
Thanks for the reply.  Last time I tried the AVCHD burn it failed and the next time it worked (same input).  This time I tried your suggested MP4 route, but with the same message(Project_BuildToDevice() AuthorScript call failed. Error while  Writing).  I randomly can make AVCHDs.  I contaced Customer Support and they told me to make an ISO file first.  I guess they don't really read their mail, becasue I had told them that was what I had done.  I am not sure still what the message is saying, and it is unfortunate that this product remains sort of pesky.  I have been using various versions since Videowave was from MGI and am used to work arounds.  I am hoping that someone can provide a consistant work around for this issue.

#4 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34,299 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 April 2011 - 11:19 AM

'consistent work around'???

Not sure such an animal exists :lol:

For whatever reason, I have had good luck with Burning to a FOLDER... Then use the simple Data/Copy: Burn Data Disc to burn the contents of the folder...

But like Steve's post, I also find it necessary to Export As from VW too :(
Posted Image

#5 Golferjack

Golferjack

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 16 April 2011 - 04:17 AM

Here is the latest.  I just tried to make another AVCHD, but continue to get the write error msg.  Tried the MP4 route with no success.  As a lark, and becasue I have a very fast prodessor, I changed the color of the menu buttons to white and checked double pass on the encode and I had success.  I tried the same on my original movie but with no success.  I am still looking for a consistant work around--not just a "one timer".

#6 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34,299 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 April 2011 - 04:43 AM

I think they keep Constant Work Arounds on the 3rd shelf, right by the Unicorns!!!  :lol:

Attached File  unicorn.jpg   10.05K   0 downloads


Posted Image

#7 Golferjack

Golferjack

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 21 July 2011 - 03:53 AM

As I stated in my original post the files are from Videowave, but they are just photos from a SLR camera--very very simple.  This is not a complex question.  I wanted to know what the message is saying, becasue it is not documented, and no one seems to be able to explain it.  The reply from ROXIO was silly, because if they really read my note, they would have seen that I had already tried to make an ISO rather than go directly to the burn.  I have been doing videos in Videowave for probably 15 years - long before it was part of ROXIO.  This is a software problem and an undocumented error.  I don't think the requested hardware information is relevant to the problem, but at a high level I have two machines, a home built one with an I7 2600 processor, 8 GB ram and a DELL I5 with 6 GB ram. Both run W7 home 64bit and neither have video cards.

#8 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 21 July 2011 - 04:02 AM

View PostGolferjack, on 21 July 2011 - 03:53 AM, said:

As I stated in my original post the files are from Videowave, but they are just photos from a SLR camera--very very simple.  This is not a complex question.  I wanted to know what the message is saying, becasue it is not documented, and no one seems to be able to explain it.  The reply from ROXIO was silly, because if they really read my note, they would have seen that I had already tried to make an ISO rather than go directly to the burn.  I have been doing videos in Videowave for probably 15 years - long before it was part of ROXIO.  This is a software problem and an undocumented error.  I don't think the requested hardware information is relevant to the problem, but at a high level I have two machines, a home built one with an I7 2600 processor, 8 GB ram and a DELL I5 with 6 GB ram. Both run W7 home 64bit and neither have video cards.


Sorry golferjack, I was replying to the threadjacker.

No one should add to a thread as tsido:angry2: did because that is what happens. That has been taken care of ! ;)

Since you had not been back since April, we thought you solved your problem.

Edited by sknis, 21 July 2011 - 04:06 AM.

PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users