Jump to content

Roxio Community

Error: Unable To Load Skin


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Travel Man

Travel Man

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 March 2011 - 05:15 PM


After installing Creator 2011 Premium on my computer with Windows 7, I tried to run Create DVDs and got the message ERROR: unable to load skin.
Went on line and got the message about re-installation of MSXML. Deleted and re-install MSXML 4.0 SP3 .  However, the problem remains.

#2 Aqualung

Aqualung

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 March 2011 - 04:16 PM

I am having the same problem as Travel Man, anybody knows a solution?

#3 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,079 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 12 March 2011 - 04:43 PM

View PostAqualung, on 12 March 2011 - 04:16 PM, said:

I am having the same problem as Travel Man, anybody knows a solution?

Have you tried this  http://kb.roxio.com/...S=set-locale=en

#4 dirtboy75

dirtboy75

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 April 2011 - 06:05 PM

I have the same problem. "Error: Unable to load skin"
. i have tried the recommended fixes without resolution. anyong have successfully fixed this problem?

I have had many issues with ROXIO and now sick of it. If I can't get it resolved ASAP I will ask for a refund.  :angry2:

Edited by dirtboy75, 09 April 2011 - 06:07 PM.


#5 Mightec

Mightec

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 12 May 2011 - 02:35 AM

I have just installed Creator 2011 Pro and have experienced the same problem trying to access Create DVD's and Edit Video - Advance.  I have contacted Roxio but as yet ne response.
Regards
Mike
Processor 2.50 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core, 64-bit ready
Main Circuir Board ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2N68-CM Rev x.xx
Mermory 4096 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Operating System Windows Vista Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
Display NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT

#6 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 12 May 2011 - 03:10 AM

View PostMightec, on 12 May 2011 - 02:35 AM, said:

I have just installed Creator 2011 Pro and have experienced the same problem trying to access Create DVD's and Edit Video - Advance.  I have contacted Roxio but as yet ne response.


Did you try the link in post  #3?  What happens?
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#7 Mightec

Mightec

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 12 May 2011 - 08:19 AM

Yes, no success, also had words with Roxio support, removed and reinstalled Roxio, still no success.
Regards
Mike
Processor 2.50 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core, 64-bit ready
Main Circuir Board ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2N68-CM Rev x.xx
Mermory 4096 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Operating System Windows Vista Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
Display NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT

#8 Mightec

Mightec

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 12 May 2011 - 11:40 PM

Dirtboy 75
Did you get a refund, I have also asked them how I can get a full refund, I have only got 50% of the product functionality.  Does anyone know of a suitable alternative product.
Regards
Mike
Processor 2.50 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core, 64-bit ready
Main Circuir Board ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2N68-CM Rev x.xx
Mermory 4096 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Operating System Windows Vista Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
Display NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT

#9 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 13 May 2011 - 09:35 AM

View PostMightec, on 12 May 2011 - 11:40 PM, said:

Dirtboy 75
Did you get a refund, I have also asked them how I can get a full refund, I have only got 50% of the product functionality.  Does anyone know of a suitable alternative product.

You are kidding right?  Didn't you check out the alternatives before you bought?  If you bought directly from Roxio within the last 30 days, you can get a full refund with no questions asked.

Do you have any programs on your computer that change the appearance of Windows  (liWindows blindsnds)?  Is Windows language the same as the language that you selected for Creator?

Did you install the program and run as an administrator? When you installed the program did you follow these directions?

What computer do you have and what operating system?  Emulation?  


To the other posters, make sure you installed and are running the program as adminstrators.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#10 Mightec

Mightec

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 14 May 2011 - 05:36 AM

No I am NOT kidding, I had used Roxio Creator 10 successfully for a number of years and decided to upgrade, but didn't realise that Creator Pro was an inferior product.  I don't think that I have any program that changes windows and the language is the same.  I must thank you for the link, if only I had add this from Roxio Customer Support I may not have had so much trouble.  Thanks.
Regards
Mike
Processor 2.50 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core, 64-bit ready
Main Circuir Board ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2N68-CM Rev x.xx
Mermory 4096 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Operating System Windows Vista Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
Display NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT

#11 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 14 May 2011 - 06:01 AM

View PostMightec, on 14 May 2011 - 05:36 AM, said:

No I am NOT kidding, I had used Roxio Creator 10 successfully for a number of years and decided to upgrade, but didn't realise that Creator Pro was an inferior product.  I don't think that I have any program that changes windows and the language is the same.  I must thank you for the link, if only I had add this from Roxio Customer Support I may not have had so much trouble.  Thanks.

I assume that your computer exceeds the minimum specs   for the product; they are more stringent than those for EMC 10.  What operating system are you using.  Have you ever had IE 9 BETA on your computer?

I  know you are upset but I have askedd several questions and you are not responding to them. Did you install and are you runing as an Windows :Administrator Account"? Have you tried reinstalling as an administrator.  It is best to create a new administrator account and install it there and then allowing everyone access to the program.  

If you are seroius about help,  then answer all  these questions:  

By the way, if you bought the program directtly from the Roxio online store, then you have a 30 day return option.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#12 Mightec

Mightec

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 14 May 2011 - 07:01 AM

Sorry, I am running Vista and I am running IE9 but I have never had the BETA version, I am logged in as the Administrator, it is a high spec machine, I have just gone through the processes in Preparing your computer for installing Roxio products, all drives are up to date as is windows.
Regards
Mike
Processor 2.50 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core, 64-bit ready
Main Circuir Board ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2N68-CM Rev x.xx
Mermory 4096 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Operating System Windows Vista Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
Display NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT

#13 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 14 May 2011 - 07:16 AM

View PostMightec, on 14 May 2011 - 07:01 AM, said:

Sorry, I am running Vista and I am running IE9 but I have never had the BETA version, I am logged in as the Administrator, it is a high spec machine, I have just gone through the processes in Preparing your computer for installing Roxio products, all drives are up to date as is windows.

Sorry that I'm such a "Doubting Thomas" and I was not  the first to say "If a poster says high spec machine"  rather then just  giving the specs, then one should be wary.  What is high spec to you may not be to others.  For best results, post you computer specs in your signature.   Are you really serious about getting help?  Take time to answer so we don't have to  take time to ask again:angry2:.

Is you Windows language the same as the language you selected for this product?

Since you are runing Vista, make sure that you have MS DirectX 9c installed.  You need that one even if there are other versions installed..

Search this site for the phrase "Unable to load skin"  and you'll find several posts related to it.  We have given you two different solutions that worked for others; your turn to try to find  a solution.

Also remember that we are NOT tech support for Roxio.  We are users.   Perhaps your best bet is to call Roxio Tech Service again.  You have the free phone call and free tech support.

Edited by sknis, 14 May 2011 - 07:26 AM.

PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#14 Mightec

Mightec

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 14 May 2011 - 08:59 AM

I do apologize, I am in the UK, its a major soccer game today on TV, just had to watch it.  I have added my computer spec to my signature, hope that this is enough detail.  I appreciate that you are users and not Roxio support staff, thanks for all of your help, it is appreciated.
Regards
Mike
Processor 2.50 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core, 64-bit ready
Main Circuir Board ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2N68-CM Rev x.xx
Mermory 4096 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Operating System Windows Vista Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
Display NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT

#15 cdanteek

cdanteek

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Prairie Rapids Crossing.

Posted 14 May 2011 - 09:20 AM

View PostMightec, on 14 May 2011 - 08:59 AM, said:

I do apologize, I am in the UK, its a major soccer game today on TV, just had to watch it.  I have added my computer spec to my signature, hope that this is enough detail.  I appreciate that you are users and not Roxio support staff, thanks for all of your help, it is appreciated.

http://forums.suppor...g-creator-2011/
cd
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Computer Specs click show.
Spoiler

1.Click here   Beginners Guide - Blank DVD Media Type Definitions & What A Firmware Upgrade Is for Your Burner.
2.Click here Firmware HQ - site  dedicated to providing you with the latest firmware releases for your optical disc drives.  
3.Click here CD-DVD Speed
4.Click here CD-DVD Speed - A user guide
5.Click here Enabling/Checking DMA in Windows Vista, XP, 2000, Me, 9x.
6.Click hereYou can no longer access the CD drive or the DVD drive.
7.Click here Drive Not Recognized By Roxio, PX Engine 3_00_58a. Old Version<-> EMC 7.5 Up  PX Engine 4.18.16a. Update .Click here  PX Engine Fix, Click here The Latest 4.10.28a Click here
8.Click here  How to uninstall IE 7 and WMP 11.
9.Click here ImgBurn Current version: v2.5.8.0 (3,389 KB)  CD / DVD / HD DVD / Blu-ray burning application
10.Click here InfoTool  (Drive, Disk, Configuration, Software, Hardware, DMA settings, etc.).
11.Click here   Complete Uninstall of Creator 2011 & Creator 2012
12.Click here Complete Uninstall of Creator 2009 and 2010 (Windows Vista and 7)
13.Click here Complete Uninstall of Creator 2009 and 2010 (Windows XP)
14.Click here Complete Uninstall of Easy Media Creator 9 & 10 on Windows Vista  
15.Click here Complete Uninstall of Easy Media Creator 7.5,  8, 9, & 10 on Windows XP
16. Click here WinZip Data Compression Utility <>  Click here WinRAR Data Compression Utility   Click here 7-Zip Data Compression Utility
17. Click here Finding Your Computer Specs And Roxio Software Version Number.

E-mail spambots harvest e-mail addresses from material found on the Internet in order to build mailing lists for sending unsolicited e-mail, also known as spam. Such spambots are web crawlers that can gather e-mail addresses from Web sites, newsgroups, special-interest group (SIG) postings, and chat-room conversations. .

Do not post your email address on any public forum!  

#16 Major Dredd

Major Dredd

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 08:54 PM

View Postsknis, on 12 May 2011 - 03:10 AM, said:

Did you try the link in post  #3?  What happens?
I have gone for a clean install several times with no luck, trying everything, got no help from Roxio, so went ahead and set up Creator 2011 as an admin and ran it
in compatiblity mode as Vista SP3.. Runs fine this way. You can run in other compatibility modes, no problem. Hate to run this way, but will do it until Roxio comes up with a fix.. You all might try it if you're still having so many problems with
the create DVD's and Edit Videos Advanced modes.. It a work around for you to use.. It's just my opinion.....

#17 Mightec

Mightec

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 29 May 2011 - 12:01 AM

View PostMajor Dredd, on 26 May 2011 - 08:54 PM, said:

I have gone for a clean install several times with no luck, trying everything, got no help from Roxio, so went ahead and set up Creator 2011 as an admin and ran it
in compatiblity mode as Vista SP3.. Runs fine this way. You can run in other compatibility modes, no problem. Hate to run this way, but will do it until Roxio comes up with a fix.. You all might try it if you're still having so many problems with
the create DVD's and Edit Videos Advanced modes.. It a work around for you to use.. It's just my opinion.....

This sound a solution for my problems, Roxio have given up trying to solve the problem.  When I try to setup in compatibility mode, I don't have an option for Vista SP3, but then it maybe that it is because my operating system is Vista.  How did you get this option?

Edited by Mightec, 29 May 2011 - 12:04 AM.

Regards
Mike
Processor 2.50 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core, 64-bit ready
Main Circuir Board ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2N68-CM Rev x.xx
Mermory 4096 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Operating System Windows Vista Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
Display NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT

#18 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 29 May 2011 - 04:28 AM

View PostMightec, on 29 May 2011 - 12:01 AM, said:

This sound a solution for my problems, Roxio have given up trying to solve the problem.  When I try to setup in compatibility mode, I don't have an option for Vista SP3, but then it maybe that it is because my operating system is Vista.  How did you get this option?

There is no SP3 for Vista.  There is a SP3 for XP.

Perhaps Major mis-typed the information or was using Windows 7.  It has a compatibility mode.  Since you have Vista, it would not be applicable.

Do you have Vista SP2 installed?  It is needed to run the program.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#19 Mightec

Mightec

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 06 June 2011 - 03:57 AM

Yes I have all the lastest updates, just thinking of installing Windows 7 as an upgrade.
Regards
Mike
Processor 2.50 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core, 64-bit ready
Main Circuir Board ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2N68-CM Rev x.xx
Mermory 4096 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Operating System Windows Vista Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
Display NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT

#20 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 06 June 2011 - 04:07 AM

View PostMightec, on 06 June 2011 - 03:57 AM, said:

Yes I have all the lastest updates, just thinking of installing Windows 7 as an upgrade.

Is the Vista installed on your computer the English version and have you installed the English version of Creator 2011?

Did you install the program to an Administrator Account?

Edited by sknis, 06 June 2011 - 04:15 AM.

PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users