Jump to content

Roxio Community

Error Message


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 rickluc

rickluc

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 17 May 2011 - 02:01 PM

Haven't used for a while. Was working OK last time I used it. While tryiong to start in Capture Video it gives me two error messages. Tryed to update software and it said I was up todate.

Error messages; Runtime Error Abnormal Program Termination; it gives me the option to click on OK and then another error comes up

Error Message; R6025 Pure Virtual Function Call

Please help, Thanks

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 17 May 2011 - 02:27 PM

View Postrickluc, on 17 May 2011 - 02:01 PM, said:

Haven't used for a while. Was working OK last time I used it. While tryiong to start in Capture Video it gives me two error messages. Tryed to update software and it said I was up todate.

Error messages; Runtime Error Abnormal Program Termination; it gives me the option to click on OK and then another error comes up

Error Message; R6025 Pure Virtual Function Call

Please help, Thanks


I would start here (link).

PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#3 rickluc

rickluc

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 17 May 2011 - 06:24 PM

View Postsknis, on 17 May 2011 - 02:27 PM, said:

Tryed what the link said. No fix.
Went to Roxio folder on hard drive and clicked on Media Import 9 folder and then clicked on mediacapture9.exe, got same result. Click on MediaCapture9.exe and then repair and it said I was missing file "PLCommonDlg.dll". Can I get this file? On Roxio's webpage I don't see the Roxio Creator Basic v9. I think it came on my computer. How do I uninstall it and get it back on my computer? Thanks

Maybe someone could give me another ideal on what I should do. All I use this program for is to take videos I have recorded of the family and move them to my computer. It's a very old video camera. I don't do any editing o the videos. Is there another program that will do that without haveing tobuy one of the upgrades? Thanks

Edited by rickluc, 18 May 2011 - 02:59 AM.


#4 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 18 May 2011 - 03:00 AM

View Postrickluc, on 17 May 2011 - 06:24 PM, said:

Tryed what the link said. No fix.
Went to Roxio folder on hard drive and clicked on Media Import 9 folder and then clicked on mediacapture9.exe, got same result. Click on MediaCapture9.exe and then repair and it said I was missing file "PLCommonDlg.dll". Can I get this file? On Roxio's webpage I don't see the Roxio Creator Basic v9. I think it came on my computer. How do I uninstall it and get it back on my computer? Thanks

Have you looked at the discs that came with your computer to see if it is on one of those?  

Contact the computer manufacturer. You have an OEM (teaster) piece of software specified and supported by the computer/other hardware manufacturer.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#5 rickluc

rickluc

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 18 May 2011 - 05:12 PM

Gave up trying to save Roxio Creator Basic v9. All I want to do is move videoes from my HDV camcorder on to my computer.

I purchased Roxio Easy DVD Copy Premier about a year ago and it doesn't recognize my camcorder. Don't want to move them onto DVD anyway.

If I upgrade to Roxio Creator 2011 will it reconize my older camcorder?

Before I download and install Roxio Creator 2011 should I uninstall Roxio Creator Basic v9?

Thanks

#6 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 19 May 2011 - 12:43 AM

View Postrickluc, on 18 May 2011 - 05:12 PM, said:

Gave up trying to save Roxio Creator Basic v9. All I want to do is move videoes from my HDV camcorder on to my computer.

I purchased Roxio Easy DVD Copy Premier about a year ago and it doesn't recognize my camcorder. Don't want to move them onto DVD anyway.

If I upgrade to Roxio Creator 2011 will it reconize my older camcorder?

Before I download and install Roxio Creator 2011 should I uninstall Roxio Creator Basic v9?

Thanks

Is the camcorder an analog or digital?  How do you have it connected?  That program is used for captruing a digital signal but willl not capture an analog signal.   It would have been a big help if you would have given us more information in the first place.  What is the make and model of the Camcorder.   What operating system are you using?  What are your computer specs?

If the camcorder is analog, then you need the A/D converter that   looks like this (Link).  If you are going to spend some $$ and have a Cosco near you, you can look at Creator 2011 SE.  It has the converter with it.  You can get it from Amazon.  If you buy it directly from Roxio, then you have a 30 day warenty to return both the hardware and software.

Yes, I would remove all other Roxio products using these instructions  or use REVO Uninstaller *free) in the Moderate Mode to remove the software.  Be sure to update your computer using thisbefore you try another install. .
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#7 rickluc

rickluc

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 19 May 2011 - 10:05 AM

I'm sorry but I don't know, could it have been .mov? Some how they were turned into .mpg in my video folder. What ever it is Roxio Creator Basic v9 used to reconize it. I'm using the wire that came with the camera. One end plugs into a single hole in the camera and the other end, 2 wires yellow and white, I'm pluging into the front of my (HP Pavllion m9040n's running Windows 7) A/V In audio white and composite yellow plugs. It's a Sharp Camcorder Model # VL-E36U with a Compact Video Cassette inside. Running Windows 7 on HP Pavillon m9040n with Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q6600 @ 240 GHz, 3.00 GB, 32 bit. Thanks Here's a picture of the camera on Ebay for sell, http://cgi.ebay.com/...em=260786332222


View Postsknis, on 19 May 2011 - 12:43 AM, said:

Is the camcorder an analog or digital?  How do you have it connected?  That program is used for captruing a digital signal but willl not capture an analog signal.   It would have been a big help if you would have given us more information in the first place.  What is the make and model of the Camcorder.   What operating system are you using?  What are your computer specs?

If the camcorder is analog, then you need the A/D converter that   looks like this (Link).  If you are going to spend some $$ and have a Cosco near you, you can look at Creator 2011 SE.  It has the converter with it.  You can get it from Amazon.  If you buy it directly from Roxio, then you have a 30 day warenty to return both the hardware and software.

Yes, I would remove all other Roxio products using these instructions  or use REVO Uninstaller *free) in the Moderate Mode to remove the software.  Be sure to update your computer using thisbefore you try another install. .

Edited by rickluc, 19 May 2011 - 10:45 AM.


#8 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 19 May 2011 - 01:11 PM

The first thing is that EMC 9 or even Creator 2009 will not work with WINDOWS 7. (THAT'S A PERIOD)


That must be a pretty old camcorder.  I can't find anything on it.  It may be analog (with small tapes).  If so, yoi will need an analog to digital converter to capture.  Where you able to capture using this computer before.

Does the camera record to tapes.  About the size of an audio tape or much smaller?  Froom several sites, it looks like it  uses 8mm video tapes which will   probably be analog.   You need that a/d converter.

What kind of plugs do you have in the front of that computer?
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#9 rickluc

rickluc

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 19 May 2011 - 04:51 PM

View Postsknis, on 19 May 2011 - 01:11 PM, said:

The first thing is that EMC 9 or even Creator 2009 will not work with WINDOWS 7. (THAT'S A PERIOD)


That must be a pretty old camcorder.  I can't find anything on it.  It may be analog (with small tapes).  If so, yoi will need an analog to digital converter to capture.  Where you able to capture using this computer before.

Does the camera record to tapes.  About the size of an audio tape or much smaller?  Froom several sites, it looks like it  uses 8mm video tapes which will   probably be analog.   You need that a/d converter.

What kind of plugs do you have in the front of that computer?

I know the camcorder was probably bought around 1990. The program is Roxio Creator Basic v9, what is EMC 9? I have used this camcorder and Creator Basic v9 for the last couple of years with no trouble. I installed Windows 7 back in 2009, or pretty much when it first came out. The software for Creator Basic is " Roxio Creator Basic v9
Version: 9.0.572
Build: 905B72A, HMP
Serial Number:Don't post this !
Copyright: Sonic Solutions 2007

Module Name: PX Engine
Build: 4.18.16﹭, 47
Copyright: Sonic Solutions 2007

Module Name: Roxio Core
Version: 3.4.0
Build: 340B34A,
Copyright: Sonic Solutions 2007

Module Name: Roxio Creator Copy
Version: 3.4.0
Build: 340B12A
Copyright: Sonic Solutions 2007

Module Name: Roxio Creator Audio
Version: 3.4.0
Build: 340B13C
Copyright: Sonic Solutions 2007

Module Name: Roxio Creator Data
Version: 3.4.0
Build: 340B12A
Copyright: Sonic Solutions 2007

Module Name: Roxio Creator Tools
Version: 3.4.0
Build: 340B11A
Copyright: Sonic Solutions 2006

Yes, it about the size of a audio tape.  I do think maybe it is 8MM. The plugs in the front of the computer are "1393" "USB 2.0" "headphone and microphone" "A/V In Audio R and L" "Video composite and S-video"

So then with an a/d converter and what software? Is that the converter you talked about earlier with the USB connector and the 3 or 4 wires coming out the other end. The 3 or 4 wires will plug into the two wires coming from my camcorder? And the other end plug into the USB port on the front of my computer?

Could I just get that .dll that is missing and make Creator Basic v9 work again?

Thanks

Edited by sknis, 20 May 2011 - 03:09 AM.
Removed product key


#10 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 20 May 2011 - 03:08 AM

There is no use discussing this further.  Creator 9 Basic will not work with Windows 7.  Some people have had similar situations where the application worked for a short time but never again.  

If you live near and are a Cosco Cutromer, consider this.   You can also get it at places like Amazon.  

Make sure to see if your computer exceeds the minimum specs for the product.   If you do buy the program, come back and read the pinned posts in the install section of the Creator 2011 forum..
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#11 rickluc

rickluc

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 20 May 2011 - 08:10 AM

View Postsknis, on 20 May 2011 - 03:08 AM, said:

There is no use discussing this further.  Creator 9 Basic will not work with Windows 7.  Some people have had similar situations where the application worked for a short time but never again.  

If you live near and are a Cosco Cutromer, consider this.   You can also get it at places like Amazon.  

Make sure to see if your computer exceeds the minimum specs for the product.   If you do buy the program, come back and read the pinned posts in the install section of the Creator 2011 forum..

Like to throw something else at you. I need a a/d converter and software. Will Easy VHS to DVD do what I want to do, it's a little cheaper. Or will it only move my video over to a DVD and not onto my computer? What do you mean by the pinned post in Creator 2011? Thanks

#12 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 20 May 2011 - 08:32 AM

View Postrickluc, on 20 May 2011 - 08:10 AM, said:

Like to throw something else at you. I need a a/d converter and software. Will Easy VHS to DVD do what I want to do, it's a little cheaper. Or will it only move my video over to a DVD and not onto my computer? What do you mean by the pinned post in Creator 2011? Thanks

Yes, Easy VHS to DVD will do what you want  but only that.   If all you want to do is capture, edit (some) and burn then than VHS2DVD is OK.   I believe that the editing software in that program is not the same as in Creator 2011.   I think you can do some trimming and editing but not as much as in the Video Wave Editor in Creator 2011.  

You may be able to find Creator 2010 SE; the older version.  You will not have the 3D function but I doubt if you want that.   Make sure it is the SE version with the A/D converter included.

You can look at some of the posts in the VHS2DVD part of this forum to get some feel about that program.  Although it is not needed, it is included in Creator 2011 SE.

If you go to these forums and to the Creator 2011 Install/Uninstall part of that forum, then you will see a bunch of topics that have a key to the left and are marked pinned.  These are important topics to read regardless of what you do eventually buy.

Edited by sknis, 20 May 2011 - 08:42 AM.

PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#13 rickluc

rickluc

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 20 May 2011 - 08:51 AM

View Postsknis, on 20 May 2011 - 08:32 AM, said:

Yes, Easy VHS to DVD will do what you want  but only that.   If all you want to do is capture, edit (some) and burn then than VHS2DVD is OK.   I believe that the editing software in that program is not the same as in Creator 2011.   I think you can do some trimming and editing but not as much as in the Video Wave Editor in Creator 2011.  

You may be able to find Creator 2010 SE; the older version.  You will not have the 3D function but I doubt if you want that.   Make sure it is the SE version with the A/D converter included.

You can look at some of the posts in the VHS2DVD part of this forum to get some feel about that program.  Although it is not needed, it is included in Creator 2011 SE.

If you go to these forums and to the Creator 2011 Install/Uninstall part of that forum, then you will see a bunch of topics that have a key to the left and are marked pinned.  These are important topics to read regardless of what you do eventually buy.


Thanks! Will get back with you when all is done.

#14 rickluc

rickluc

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 21 May 2011 - 12:57 PM

Sharp the maker of the camcorder just got back to me and said that it is analog.

#15 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 21 May 2011 - 02:29 PM

View Postrickluc, on 21 May 2011 - 12:57 PM, said:

Sharp the maker of the camcorder just got back to me and said that it is analog.

So our guess was correct and you do need the A/D converter.  Good luck.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users