Jump to content

Roxio Community

Product Key


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 mike200056

mike200056

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 June 2011 - 10:20 AM

your product key could not be validated. Please try again.
I get this mesage, any ideas?

#2 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 01 June 2011 - 04:01 PM

How about a little more information?

-what are you doing when you see this?
-what program are you running? Which version?
-in which Operating System?
-anything else which might help us to help you?
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

"I did it until . . "

#3 mike200056

mike200056

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 June 2011 - 06:01 AM

I'm running roxio easy cd & dvd. microsoft xp system. I put cd in hp dvd writer / cd-writer combo.Then I click english. Then I click welcome to the setup wizard for Roxio easy cd and dvd burning. Then I click the I accept the terms in the license agreement. Then I type my product key. Then a little inch and a half X inch and a half box comes up that says product is not activated. Ten I cklick the OK button. Then I get a red X and it says your product key could not be validated. Please try again.

#4 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 02 June 2011 - 06:30 AM

View Postmike200056, on 02 June 2011 - 06:01 AM, said:

I'm running roxio easy cd & dvd. microsoft xp system. I put cd in hp dvd writer / cd-writer combo.Then I click english. Then I click welcome to the setup wizard for Roxio easy cd and dvd burning. Then I click the I accept the terms in the license agreement. Then I type my product key. Then a little inch and a half X inch and a half box comes up that says product is not activated. Ten I cklick the OK button. Then I get a red X and it says your product key could not be validated. Please try again.

The product key is on the sleeve that the cd came in. The CD Key is in this format xx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx. This is a #0 not a letter o.

#5 mike200056

mike200056

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 June 2011 - 08:07 AM

It worked thank you.

#6 Harrydude

Harrydude

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 June 2011 - 04:23 PM

I'm getting the exact same message.  Installing on a Mac with Boot Camp and Win XP SP 3.  I entered the Product Key exactly as shown - there are no 0 or O characters so I know that's not the problem.  I have entered it at least a dozen times, re-read it, asked my wife to re-read it - still no luck.

Ideas?


Oh - and why is it when every place that supports home software offers phone support it's only available when home users aren't home?

#7 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 02 June 2011 - 11:00 PM

Harrydude,

I have versions 9.0.554 and 10.3.104. If yours is one of those, you could send me a PM [private message] telling me the version number and product key, and I'll check it by trying to install from my disc with your key.

I am one of the volunteer Gurus here, so I'm not offering this in order to pinch your product key. :)

Regards,
Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

"I did it until . . "

#8 Harrydude

Harrydude

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 June 2011 - 02:25 PM

View PostBrendon, on 02 June 2011 - 11:00 PM, said:

Harrydude,

I have versions 9.0.554 and 10.3.104. If yours is one of those, you could send me a PM [private message] telling me the version number and product key, and I'll check it by trying to install from my disc with your key.

I am one of the volunteer Gurus here, so I'm not offering this in order to pinch your product key. :)

Regards,
Brendon

Brendon,

I appreciate the offer.  I'm very opposed to sharing my product key - not on legal or moral grounds, but because as nervous as Roxio is about people pirating this software, they'll likely tell me that you successfully activated it and I'm now completely out of luck.

I'm not sure if the problem is with Roxio or with Wal-Mart.  Roxio wants us to scan our receipt and e-mail it to them - we finally got a response to the email we sent on 2 June.

What are the odds you can get someone's ear up there at Roxio and have them actually serve their customers with more than one e-mail per day?

#9 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 07 June 2011 - 03:45 PM

View PostHarrydude, on 07 June 2011 - 02:25 PM, said:

Brendon,

I appreciate the offer.  I'm very opposed to sharing my product key - not on legal or moral grounds, but because as nervous as Roxio is about people pirating this software, they'll likely tell me that you successfully activated it and I'm now completely out of luck.

The installer only needs to be run to the point where the key is accepted, and I can do that without an Internet connection, so "Your number vould be qvite safe vizz me [heavily accented]" :lol:
However I won't try to persuade you to do something that makes you feel uncomfortable, and I don't feel bad that you're reluctant.

One thing you might do, is to try entering the key with letter O instead of zero, and letter I instead of L, and vice-versa - just in case you've misread anything.

Quote

I'm not sure if the problem is with Roxio or with Wal-Mart.  Roxio wants us to scan our receipt and e-mail it to them - we finally got a response to the email we sent on 2 June.

What are the odds you can get someone's ear up there at Roxio and have them actually serve their customers with more than one e-mail per day?

If you've got a response from Roxio Support, that's progress. A response within a few days is good. I have no influence in Roxio/Rovi, so there's zero odds there I'm afraid. :)

My offer to do that quick private check on your key still stands if you later reconsider.

Cheers,
Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

"I did it until . . "

#10 lyoung

lyoung

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 July 2011 - 05:42 PM

I am having the same problem with the cd key # it says its invalid, HELP!!!

#11 lyoung

lyoung

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 July 2011 - 05:45 PM

View Postmike200056, on 01 June 2011 - 10:20 AM, said:

your product key could not be validated. Please try again.
I get this mesage, any ideas?


Did you get an answer to this problem??? Mine is doing the same thing!!!
lyoung

#12 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,448 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 July 2011 - 05:49 PM

View Postlyoung, on 12 July 2011 - 05:45 PM, said:

Did you get an answer to this problem??? Mine is doing the same thing!!!
lyoung

He sure did.  You might want to read the first 5 posts again, especially the 2nd post down.  That solved his problem.
Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

Main System:
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard; Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
PLEXTOR Black DVD Burner, Model PX-880SA; Pioneer Black 8X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R Burner
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670 2GB Video Card
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series Sound Card
Windows XP Pro w/SP3

Backup Computer:
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Windows 7 Pro w/SP1

#13 lyoung

lyoung

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 July 2011 - 05:49 PM

View Postlyoung, on 12 July 2011 - 05:45 PM, said:

Did you get an answer to this problem??? Mine is doing the same thing!!!
lyoung


I GOT IT!!! NEVER MIND!!!  :)

#14 Cadillac Mike

Cadillac Mike

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 01:09 PM

I suspect some fat fingers when typing the product activation key. Wait until you get a program with a 64 character key!!

Brendon, I don't remember NEEDING an active internet connection to get this installed. And as i posted elswhere, if the AV is off so is the internet.

Edited by Cadillac Mike, 11 October 2011 - 01:13 PM.


#15 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 11 October 2011 - 10:02 PM

View PostCadillac Mike, on 11 October 2011 - 01:09 PM, said:

Brendon, I don't remember NEEDING an active internet connection to get this installed.

Hi Mike,

That was never suggested.

I never said an Internet connection was needed. I was reassuring Harrydude that I could do what was necessary to check his key without being connected, and he didn't have to worry.

I see that the IPBoard software has shifted Ogdens' post up to position #2 in the topic now [confusing, isn't it!] so someone must have muddled up the key number.

Regards,
Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

"I did it until . . "




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users