Jump to content

Roxio Community

Back On Track From Safe Mode


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Jungle Boy

Jungle Boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 June 2011 - 11:05 AM

Was recently "Malwared" by MS Removal Tool which disabled my ability to run any .exe app. Advice from my support group was "Boot in Safe Mode and run System Restore"
Perfect, I thought. I will make use of my Roxio Back on Track!!

However, when I tried to run Back on Track in Safe Mode, the message comes up "Cannot run Back on Track in Safe Mode" making my back up totally useless.

Can anyone think of any reason not to Uninstall Back on Track and return to System Restore?

#2 tbrewst

tbrewst

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taos,NM

Posted 29 June 2011 - 05:00 AM

If you are going to restore using Back on Track then you should have a Recovery disc that you would boot from.
If you're trying to boot it from Windows that won't work. BOT doesn't load in safe mode.

Edited by tbrewst, 29 June 2011 - 05:02 AM.

RIP Johnny Winter


Terry

64 bitWindows 8.1 OS
AMD FX-8320 8 core 3.5Ghz processor with Arctic Freezer 64 Pro cooling fan
Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 AM3+ motherboard
Galaxy  GeForce GTX 550 Ti video card with 1Gb memory
8Gb G Skill Ripjaws Series DDR3 1600 RAM
120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD drive
1Tb Hitachi SATA hard drive
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray drive
Lite-On iHAS224-06 SATA DVD drive
Rosewill Destroyer case
Cambridge Soundworks THX 5.1 speaker system
Onboard Realtek HD audio
I-inc iH-252HPB 25" widescreen monitor connected via HDMI
Samsung 2525W Laser Printer

#3 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 29 June 2011 - 02:34 PM

And if you didn't read the documentation and make a recovery disc, a standard recovery disc can be made from any machine with BoT installed.
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

"I did it until . . "

#4 Jungle Boy

Jungle Boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 June 2011 - 09:33 PM

View PostBrendon, on 29 June 2011 - 02:34 PM, said:

And if you didn't read the documentation and make a recovery disc, a standard recovery disc can be made from any machine with BoT installed.

I did read the documentation but obviously not properly. It talks about creating a recovery Disk but I assumed this was a CD (or DVD) and thought it not applicable to my Netbook that does not have an optical drive.

However, the on-line help says you can create the recovery disk on a USB stick but it does not hazard a guess as to what size of stick you might need. Do you have any idea? Obviously the full back up will need at least as much space as on the Netbook drive.

Also, I am not sure my Netbook can boot from a USB stick but I will experiment further.

Thanks for the excellent input.

Jim

#5 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 30 June 2011 - 12:41 AM

Hello Jim,

Sorry I couldn't get back here sooner, but I had to go and reinstall the software to find answers for you.

The bootable recovery disc contains 206 MB of data, so it'll fit on a CD with lots of room to spare.

At this point I got stuck trying to look for a reference to creating the bootable recovery disc on a memory stick. I have looked all over, and the help files seem to refer only to selecting an Optical disc to create the bootable recovery disc.

Quote

However, the on-line help says you can create the recovery disk on a USB stick

Can you point me to this part of the help file, please? At the moment I'm wondering how you might use BackOnTrack with a Netbook which doesn't have an optical drive.

Best regards,
Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

"I did it until . . "

#6 tbrewst

tbrewst

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taos,NM

Posted 30 June 2011 - 05:48 AM

You might consider getting a USB CD drive.
I've got one and it works just fine with my Netbook.
Comes in handy for loading new programs.
You can probably get one for less than $40 US.

Thanks for looking Brendon.I don't have BOT installed anymore.
I don't remember ever seeing being able to make the Recovery disc to a flash drive but maybe.
RIP Johnny Winter


Terry

64 bitWindows 8.1 OS
AMD FX-8320 8 core 3.5Ghz processor with Arctic Freezer 64 Pro cooling fan
Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 AM3+ motherboard
Galaxy  GeForce GTX 550 Ti video card with 1Gb memory
8Gb G Skill Ripjaws Series DDR3 1600 RAM
120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD drive
1Tb Hitachi SATA hard drive
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray drive
Lite-On iHAS224-06 SATA DVD drive
Rosewill Destroyer case
Cambridge Soundworks THX 5.1 speaker system
Onboard Realtek HD audio
I-inc iH-252HPB 25" widescreen monitor connected via HDMI
Samsung 2525W Laser Printer

#7 Jungle Boy

Jungle Boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 June 2011 - 11:37 AM

View Posttbrewst, on 30 June 2011 - 05:48 AM, said:

You might consider getting a USB CD drive.
I've got one and it works just fine with my Netbook.
Comes in handy for loading new programs.
You can probably get one for less than $40 US.

Thanks for looking Brendon.I don't have BOT installed anymore.
I don't remember ever seeing being able to make the Recovery disc to a flash drive but maybe.


Checked the HELP again and it says you can save the Back Up to USB but not the Recovery. Pls see attached.

I guess my best option is to buy an Optical Drive for my NETBOOk but... back to the original issue :-  The software came bundled with my HP Netboook so you would think that it would function well with that.

Anyway, I realize nothing is perfect in this world so I will just need to "pony up the bucks" and pay for security!!!

Thanks for the input

Jim (Jungle Boy)

Attached Files



#8 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 30 June 2011 - 12:16 PM

View PostJungle Boy, on 30 June 2011 - 11:37 AM, said:

Checked the HELP again and it says you can save the Back Up to USB but not the Recovery. Pls see attached.

I guess my best option is to buy an Optical Drive for my NETBOOk but... back to the original issue :-  The software came bundled with my HP Netboook so you would think that it would function well with that.

Anyway, I realize nothing is perfect in this world so I will just need to "pony up the bucks" and pay for security!!!

Thanks for the input

Jim (Jungle Boy)


Also, you have a HP OEM version, like a lot of OEM versions they have bits and pieces removed from them.

Info on OEM.s here: http://kb.roxio.com/...S=set-locale=en

Edited by ogdens, 30 June 2011 - 12:19 PM.


#9 Jungle Boy

Jungle Boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 June 2011 - 12:47 PM

View Postogdens, on 30 June 2011 - 12:16 PM, said:

Also, you have a HP OEM version, like a lot of OEM versions they have bits and pieces removed from them.

Info on OEM.s here: http://kb.roxio.com/...S=set-locale=en


So, in other words, I am a poor sap that has been duped by both HP and Roxio into thinking I am getting some "protection" when in fact I am just as exposed as if BOT was not bundled in the first place.

Incidentally, this is just the worst kind of marketing. I have bought Roxio Creator in the past and been happy with it, but now... having been apparently duped.... I will never pay for a Roxio product again. You can fool some of the people some of the time......

#10 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 30 June 2011 - 12:56 PM

View PostJungle Boy, on 30 June 2011 - 12:47 PM, said:

So, in other words, I am a poor sap that has been duped by both HP and Roxio into thinking I am getting some "protection" when in fact I am just as exposed as if BOT was not bundled in the first place.

Incidentally, this is just the worst kind of marketing. I have bought Roxio Creator in the past and been happy with it, but now... having been apparently duped.... I will never pay for a Roxio product again. You can fool some of the people some of the time......


Roxio makes the version to the specs that the OEM (in this case HP )asks for, so if you want to blame somebody contact HP, they are the ones that provide ALL support for THEIR version, not Roxio.

Edited by ogdens, 30 June 2011 - 12:57 PM.


#11 Jungle Boy

Jungle Boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 June 2011 - 01:11 PM

View Postogdens, on 30 June 2011 - 12:56 PM, said:

Roxio makes the version to the specs that the OEM (in this case HP )asks for, so if you want to blame somebody contact HP, they are the ones that provide ALL support for THEIR version, not Roxio.


Correct. And I will not be buying HP either....... but my point remains. Roxio think they are attracting customers by doing deals with hardware manufacturers but all they are doing is pissing customers off.

Some Roxio sales guy made "Salesman of the Year" on this deal and in two years time Roxio go bust or are taken over by Google or some other corporate behemoth!!! Too many corporations are slaves to the "Quarterly Results" to look forward to the long term consequences of their actions!!!

#12 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 30 June 2011 - 02:57 PM

Hi Jim,

I missed that discussion because my timezone was asleep.

I'm sorry to hear that the software you have isn't going to help too much with your hardware. If it cheers you up any, Roxio was acquired by Sonic, who have recently been acquired by Rovi, so I don't know where your 'sales guy' will be now.

Best regards,
Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

"I did it until . . "

#13 Jungle Boy

Jungle Boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 June 2011 - 09:58 PM

Yes, he probably got a job with HP!!!!

Anyway, thanks for all your input. I will try to figure out how best to manage the Recovery issues!!!

Regards

Jim




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users