10 replies to this topic

#1 Sasha.K.NY

Sasha.K.NY

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 September 2011 - 09:34 PM

Hi everyone,

Just joined. I am a photographer, and started capturing my photo shoots on video for promotional purposes - here is an example:

This is put together from a couple of 2D cameras. I am excited by the Creator 2012 2D->3D conversion promise and have a few questions about it and the software's support for the emerging consumer industry standard 3D formats for input and output.

1) How well does the 2D->3D conversion work? Does it use background vs foreground camera or subject motion to identify what is in front of what, or something else reasonable, or something crude and simple? Is it adjustable? How aggressive? Are there significant artifacts? What should I know / worry about?

My goal is to get a consumer 3D camcorder e.g. Sony HDR-TD10 and intercut footage from it from one angle and from my present Canon Vixia HF11 2D footage converted to 3D, from a different angle. I could do the 3D editing in another software, such as Sony Vegas Pro; the question is can I get the 2D HD stream from Canon Vixia HF11 converted to 3D using the Creator 2012 with reasonably good results, and output it in a "reasonable" (3D NLE friendly, settings support minimising quality loss?) format?

2) From reading this forum it does not seem as though there is a support yet for AVCHD MVC .mts (3D camcorder HD stream) files, for input or output. Is it planned for this release as an update or option, does anyone have any word?

Many thanks,
Sasha

#2 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

Digital Guru

• Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34,667 posts

Posted 29 September 2011 - 03:40 AM

I dabble in it but since I don't have anything capable of 3D Playback, I am limited to Anaglyph which keeps me in the beginners league :lol: