Jump to content

Roxio Community

Video Capture Fine - But Audio Playback Bad....?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 ValentineGirl

ValentineGirl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 24 October 2011 - 04:04 PM

I can play and capture videos from my Video Camcorder tapes - but when i play them back on my computer the audio is all messed up - it goes fast and slow and high and low - but the video is fine.

What can I do to fix that? I really need to preserve these videos in the BEST format possible.

I have Roxio Creator Special 2011 and the video capture usb

Thank you
Yesterday's Memories
Today's Technology
Tomorrow's Treasures


Helping preserve your precious memories
Ask me about this service :)

#2 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,142 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 October 2011 - 04:19 AM

HOW are you capturing, what settings?

You should be using the capture program from the 2011 Suite and it should be set to DV AVI  ;)
Posted Image

#3 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,723 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 25 October 2011 - 04:32 AM

What camcorder do you have?  Standard definition or high definition?

I assume that you have performaed maintenance on your computer recently especially cleaning your hard drive and defragging it.

What program are you using to play back those captured video files?

Edited by sknis, 25 October 2011 - 04:34 AM.

PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#4 ValentineGirl

ValentineGirl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 25 October 2011 - 06:08 AM

I'm using the capture from the 2011 suite under 'capture video' but the only option to capture is DV, DVD HQ/SP/LP & VCD.  So I've been using DV.

As far as playback I just play them back within the capture area after they are finished recording OR the basic windows media player...and the video is fine but audio is all nuts... :(

The camcorder is a Sanyo from 1996, but when its playing and being recorded it sounds perfectly fine - its only upon playing the RECORDED version on my computer that I have distortion.

Thank you for any help... I hope I dont have to try a different capture program - I love to use Roxio for all my multimedia needs - but these videos need to be saved in perfect condition.
Yesterday's Memories
Today's Technology
Tomorrow's Treasures


Helping preserve your precious memories
Ask me about this service :)

#5 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,142 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 October 2011 - 07:39 AM

Try the DVD HQ and see how that does...

Generally this sort of thing points to your PC. Specs would be nice to know, including your Video Card, Sound Card & HDD Free Space.
Posted Image

#6 ValentineGirl

ValentineGirl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 25 October 2011 - 11:38 AM

How do I quickly find the detailed specs?

I have a 1tb hard drive but its at 900gigs already - but I also have an external 2 and 3tb that I could maybe use if that would help.
It's an HP 64bit Windows 7 OS just purchased early this year...
Yesterday's Memories
Today's Technology
Tomorrow's Treasures


Helping preserve your precious memories
Ask me about this service :)

#7 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 25 October 2011 - 11:52 AM

View PostValentineGirl, on 25 October 2011 - 11:38 AM, said:

How do I quickly find the detailed specs?

I have a 1tb hard drive but its at 900gigs already - but I also have an external 2 and 3tb that I could maybe use if that would help.
It's an HP 64bit Windows 7 OS just purchased early this year...


Go here   http://www.piriform....speccy/download download the free version and run it.

#8 ValentineGirl

ValentineGirl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 25 October 2011 - 12:06 PM

Operating System
MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 1035T 54 °C
Thuban 45nm Technology
RAM
8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 666MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard
FOXCONN 2A92 (CPU 1) 49 °C
Graphics
HP 2509 (1920x1080@59Hz)
ATI Radeon HD 5570 (HP) 49 °C
Hard Drives
977GB Hitachi Hitachi HDS721010CLA332 SCSI Disk Device (RAID)
Yesterday's Memories
Today's Technology
Tomorrow's Treasures


Helping preserve your precious memories
Ask me about this service :)

#9 ValentineGirl

ValentineGirl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 25 October 2011 - 01:45 PM

Posted in the main forum if you can help...

Edited by ValentineGirl, 25 October 2011 - 06:05 PM.

Yesterday's Memories
Today's Technology
Tomorrow's Treasures


Helping preserve your precious memories
Ask me about this service :)

#10 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,902 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 October 2011 - 02:48 PM

View PostValentineGirl, on 25 October 2011 - 01:45 PM, said:

Which is better quality - AVI or MPEG?

The DV option says it will be 720x480 AVI and the DVD HQ 720x480 Mpeg-2 8mbps

Please, don't duplicate post. Stick with your other thread.

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#11 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,142 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 October 2011 - 06:30 AM

PC Specs look good, check the ATI updates for your card and software here, AMD. They are up to 11.9 this Month!!! :lol:

Did you try a test cap at DV HQ as I suggested?

Edited by Jim_Hardin, 26 October 2011 - 06:32 AM.

Posted Image

#12 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,723 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 26 October 2011 - 12:27 PM

What audio card/device do you have on that computer?  Have you updated the drivers for it and made sure it is the default playback device?
PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users