• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 loriehall

loriehall

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 November 2011 - 06:42 PM

I would like to know if there is a way to get more photos on one cd?  I am copying them for a client and I am new to actually copying my files, I normally just download them to my website and they order from there.  I don't know if my photos are way too big and can be re-sized or not.  They are currently 5184x3456 pixels at 230 dpi.  Does this sound too big?  I want them to be at a good size for my clients to print photos if they so desire.  I currently have 823 photos I would like to share with them.  My CD-R's are 700MB, are these the largest size of cds?  It shows that this amount of photos will take 18 cds.  That just seems like too many, or does that sound correct with the information I have given you.  One last question, is there a simple and easy way to send my photos to a company to have them copied to cds professionally?  I just really don't know about this side of photography at all.  Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  I apologize if my question appears to be elementary.  Thanks.

#2 d_deweywright

d_deweywright

Digital Guru

• Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,015 posts

Posted 15 November 2011 - 04:03 AM

The information we really need to know is the "data" size of your pictures, not the size in pixels.  Now, based on what you've said, 823 pictures over 18 CDs, that would tell me that your pictures are about 15MB each?  If that's true, then 823 pictures will indeed take about 18 CD-R discs.  If you go to DVD discs, then you'll only need 3 or 4 discs.  

You say you want your clients to be able to print photos.  What size photos?  They're definitely bigger than necessary for a 4"x6" print, but if they're going to be printing a 10"x8" or larger, then maybe they're not too big.