Jump to content

Roxio Community

Re-Editing Avchd


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 rsongduck

rsongduck

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 November 2011 - 08:52 AM

I use Roxio Creator 2011 Pro edit video advanced to edit a movie and instead of making a DVD I save it in a folder on my computer.  I have tried to re-edit these files later or just combine some of them to make a new file and it won't work.  It always will let me do the edits but gets to the end of the burning process and freezes every time.  I had problems with VOB files but saved them as .mpg and that worked.  Do I have to do something similar?  I am surprised that I can't re-edit files that I saved using Roxio...Thanks for any help!

#2 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,799 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 November 2011 - 09:21 AM

View Postrsongduck, on 15 November 2011 - 08:52 AM, said:

I use Roxio Creator 2011 Pro edit video advanced to edit a movie and instead of making a DVD I save it in a folder on my computer.  I have tried to re-edit these files later or just combine some of them to make a new file and it won't work.  It always will let me do the edits but gets to the end of the burning process and freezes every time.  I had problems with VOB files but saved them as .mpg and that worked.  Do I have to do something similar?  I am surprised that I can't re-edit files that I saved using Roxio...Thanks for any help!

Could you explain exactly what you are doing? You mention AVCHD in your subject line but where does that have to do with your project. Videowave accepts vob files without any problems especially if created with Roxio.

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#3 rsongduck

rsongduck

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 November 2011 - 10:14 AM

View Postmyguggi, on 15 November 2011 - 09:21 AM, said:

Could you explain exactly what you are doing? You mention AVCHD in your subject line but where does that have to do with your project. Videowave accepts vob files without any problems especially if created with Roxio.

Sorry, I should have just stuck to the point and not included any talk about VOB files.  Basically, I am taking movies or football games or any video file and using Roxio Creator 2011 Pro edit video advanced to edit a movie and instead of making a DVD I save it in a folder on my computer as an AVCHD file.  This saves the file as a MPEG-TS file in my folder.  I then assumed that I could take that file and either edit it or combined it with other video files and make a new file.  Example would be editing a football game, then editing another game and saving those separately to a folder.  I then later took those 2 files and tried to edit them and make one file to burn and save to my folder but it gets all the way to the last frame and freezes.  It only does this when one of the files was a MPEG-TS file that was created with Roxio.  Hopefully this makes sense this time.  Thanks,

#4 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,799 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 November 2011 - 10:42 AM

View Postrsongduck, on 15 November 2011 - 10:14 AM, said:

Sorry, I should have just stuck to the point and not included any talk about VOB files.  Basically, I am taking movies or football games or any video file and using Roxio Creator 2011 Pro edit video advanced to edit a movie and instead of making a DVD I save it in a folder on my computer as an AVCHD file.  This saves the file as a MPEG-TS file in my folder.  I then assumed that I could take that file and either edit it or combined it with other video files and make a new file.  Example would be editing a football game, then editing another game and saving those separately to a folder.  I then later took those 2 files and tried to edit them and make one file to burn and save to my folder but it gets all the way to the last frame and freezes.  It only does this when one of the files was a MPEG-TS file that was created with Roxio.  Hopefully this makes sense this time.  Thanks,

What are the settings you use when exporting the video?

How long in time are the source videos you are working with?

Edited by myguggi, 15 November 2011 - 10:44 AM.


Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#5 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,543 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 15 November 2011 - 10:53 AM

View Postrsongduck, on 15 November 2011 - 10:14 AM, said:

Sorry, I should have just stuck to the point and not included any talk about VOB files.  Basically, I am taking movies or football games or any video file and using Roxio Creator 2011 Pro edit video advanced to edit a movie and instead of making a DVD I save it in a folder on my computer as an AVCHD file.  This saves the file as a MPEG-TS file in my folder.  I then assumed that I could take that file and either edit it or combined it with other video files and make a new file.  Example would be editing a football game, then editing another game and saving those separately to a folder.  I then later took those 2 files and tried to edit them and make one file to burn and save to my folder but it gets all the way to the last frame and freezes.  It only does this when one of the files was a MPEG-TS file that was created with Roxio.  Hopefully this makes sense this time.  Thanks,

It sounds like you are making a folder set.  A folder set is almost like an ISO file so it is pretty much what you burn/have on a disc. A folder set allows you to add "other files" to a disc when an ISO file doesn't.

Instead of making the folder set, after you do the editing in Edit Video- Advanced (Video Wave),  export/output the edited video to an AVCHD file.  Select you options.    It will encode so that wil take some time.  

From there, you have two choices.  When you are ready to burn, just add the AVCHD files to Create DVD as movies or, you can re-open Video Wave add that file and any others you want to and edit them together.   When you have what you want, you can output again or just add to Create DVD.  In this case, you may want to add "chapters".  Chapters are just like chapters in a book.  You can select a starting point to watch the video and the video will continue to the end.  This is somewhat different than some other video editing programs.   If you want each game to be a stand alone, then you just stick with movies (one or a couple of games).
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#6 rsongduck

rsongduck

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 November 2011 - 11:24 AM

thanks for the replies...first the files are always going to be different lengths and sizes but many are short and some are longer so size or length should not be a factor.  On the other reply, It sounde dlike you understood mostly what I was doing but I am just trying to figure out why I can't then take the file that I burned(create folder set) and re-edit that file?  I have taken them and burned them to a DVD with Nero and then re-saved them to my computer and edited them again with Roxio but the quality is not as good and I want to be able to keep the quality and not have to waste a disc.  Does this make sense now?  It seems to be creating a file type that will not allow me to re-burn(create folder set) a second time.

#7 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,799 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 November 2011 - 11:30 AM

View Postrsongduck, on 15 November 2011 - 11:24 AM, said:

thanks for the replies...first the files are always going to be different lengths and sizes but many are short and some are longer so size or length should not be a factor.  On the other reply, It sounde dlike you understood mostly what I was doing but I am just trying to figure out why I can't then take the file that I burned(create folder set) and re-edit that file?  I have taken them and burned them to a DVD with Nero and then re-saved them to my computer and edited them again with Roxio but the quality is not as good and I want to be able to keep the quality and not have to waste a disc.  Does this make sense now?  It seems to be creating a file type that will not allow me to re-burn(create folder set) a second time.

You did not answer my question regarding settings. Of course length are a major factor since a AVCHD DVD can only hold 40 minutes of video.

Please explain step by step what you are doing.

Why are you even burning to a DVD if you going to "re-save" it back to the computer? Why not simply "export as " from Videowave and then use those files  to burn the final DVD?

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#8 rsongduck

rsongduck

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 November 2011 - 02:04 PM

My point on the length is that I have tried it with short videos and long ones and it didn't work.  I tried it with 2 minute long videos so it shouldn't be the length of the video.  Step by step:
I download a video.  I take that video and edit it using Roxio Creator 2011 Pro and do the editing in Edit Video-Advanced.  After I finish editing the video I click on 'Send To My DVD' icon then choose AVCHD for the type of video.  Then click on Burn Project.  Then I check 'Create Folder Set' which saves the edited file to a folder.  I then rename that file and save it on my external hard drive usually.  This file is now a MPEG-TS video file.  This all works great up to now.  The problem is if I decide that I want to edit this file further or join it with other files and do the exact same steps as listed in this reply, it will go through the burning process until it gets to the last frame of the video(s) and freeze.  Even if I go back and edit part where it froze it will just freeze at the end of the newly edited video.

#9 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,799 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 November 2011 - 02:33 PM

View Postrsongduck, on 15 November 2011 - 02:04 PM, said:

My point on the length is that I have tried it with short videos and long ones and it didn't work.  I tried it with 2 minute long videos so it shouldn't be the length of the video.  Step by step:
I download a video.  I take that video and edit it using Roxio Creator 2011 Pro and do the editing in Edit Video-Advanced.  After I finish editing the video I click on 'Send To My DVD' icon then choose AVCHD for the type of video.  Then click on Burn Project.  Then I check 'Create Folder Set' which saves the edited file to a folder.  I then rename that file and save it on my external hard drive usually.  This file is now a MPEG-TS video file.  This all works great up to now.  The problem is if I decide that I want to edit this file further or join it with other files and do the exact same steps as listed in this reply, it will go through the burning process until it gets to the last frame of the video(s) and freeze.  Even if I go back and edit part where it froze it will just freeze at the end of the newly edited video.

Why don't you simply "export As" in Videowave? Why send to myDVD to create a folder set?

Edited by myguggi, 15 November 2011 - 02:35 PM.


Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#10 rsongduck

rsongduck

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 November 2011 - 03:52 PM

Never used that before but I will try.  I want to be able to keep the quality as 720p or 1080p depending on the file.  Any suggestions on the best format to choose from that list? I tried to use same quality and it worked for a file that wasn't already saved in the steps shown above.  But as soon as I added a MPEG-TS file it freezes at the end once again.  I tried saving a new file this way and tried to then again edit and burn that video and it worked so I might have to start doing it that way but the quality was not quite as good even though the option was to keep same quality.  I exported a file that was 50.5MB and it saved as 40.2MB.  Then exported this new file (with no editing either time) once again and it was 33.7MB.  I tried a few and none seem to keep a file at 1080p but I can re-edit them so if no one knows why I can't re-edit the other files or how to fix it then maybe I will have to go with not as good of quality???

#11 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,543 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 15 November 2011 - 05:37 PM

View Postrsongduck, on 15 November 2011 - 03:52 PM, said:

Never used that before but I will try.  I want to be able to keep the quality as 720p or 1080p depending on the file.  Any suggestions on the best format to choose from that list? I tried to use same quality and it worked for a file that wasn't already saved in the steps shown above.  But as soon as I added a MPEG-TS file it freezes at the end once again.  I tried saving a new file this way and tried to then again edit and burn that video and it worked so I might have to start doing it that way but the quality was not quite as good even though the option was to keep same quality.  I exported a file that was 50.5MB and it saved as 40.2MB.  Then exported this new file (with no editing either time) once again and it was 33.7MB.  I tried a few and none seem to keep a file at 1080p but I can re-edit them so if no one knows why I can't re-edit the other files or how to fix it then maybe I will have to go with not as good of quality???

Please re-read muy post #5 carefully.  You do not have files if you have the folder set.  You have a type of image that goes on a DVD.  It has all of the instructions regarding what to put where on a disc so that your player knows that it is a DVD.  You cannot edit those very easily.

Why don't you want to export the Video Wave file to an AVCHD file?
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#12 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,799 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 November 2011 - 05:59 PM

View Postrsongduck, on 15 November 2011 - 03:52 PM, said:

Never used that before but I will try.  I want to be able to keep the quality as 720p or 1080p depending on the file.  Any suggestions on the best format to choose from that list? I tried to use same quality and it worked for a file that wasn't already saved in the steps shown above.  But as soon as I added a MPEG-TS file it freezes at the end once again.  I tried saving a new file this way and tried to then again edit and burn that video and it worked so I might have to start doing it that way but the quality was not quite as good even though the option was to keep same quality.  I exported a file that was 50.5MB and it saved as 40.2MB.  Then exported this new file (with no editing either time) once again and it was 33.7MB.  I tried a few and none seem to keep a file at 1080p but I can re-edit them so if no one knows why I can't re-edit the other files or how to fix it then maybe I will have to go with not as good of quality???

What is this MPEG-TS file you keep referring to? What extension does it have?

I have no idea what your are doing in this statement: "I exported a file that was 50.5MB and it saved as 40.2MB.  Then exported  this new file (with no editing either time) once again and it was  33.7MB."
What settings did you use when you exported (in Videowave I presume)?

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#13 rsongduck

rsongduck

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 November 2011 - 08:59 AM

Nevermind but thanks for the help.  I figured out a way to make it work.

#14 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,799 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 November 2011 - 09:02 AM

View Postrsongduck, on 16 November 2011 - 08:59 AM, said:

Nevermind but thanks for the help.  I figured out a way to make it work.

So would mind telling us what you did to make it work?

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users