Jump to content

Roxio Community

Dell Roxio Creator Starter Startup Error


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 BusIT

BusIT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 November 2011 - 12:04 PM

I have a Dell Optiplex 990 with Roxio Creator Starter.  It has been uninstalled by us (IT) since the user will not be using the burner.  However, the user needs it now and we reinstalled it with the Backup Disc that came with the PC.  Now the user gets stuck on the Product Registration screen with the error "No Internet Connection".  The user is able to get on the internet just fine.  Attached is a screen shot of the message and to show the PC can go on the internet.  The program has been uninstalled/reinstalled a few times on the local administrator account.  Also, once on the Product Registration screen the Cancel button does not work.  To exit the screen, you have to go to task manager and end the Roxio program.

Attached Files



#2 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 25 November 2011 - 12:28 PM

View PostBusIT, on 25 November 2011 - 12:04 PM, said:

I have a Dell Optiplex 990 with Roxio Creator Starter.  It has been uninstalled by us (IT) since the user will not be using the burner.  However, the user needs it now and we reinstalled it with the Backup Disc that came with the PC.  Now the user gets stuck on the Product Registration screen with the error "No Internet Connection".  The user is able to get on the internet just fine.  Attached is a screen shot of the message and to show the PC can go on the internet.  The program has been uninstalled/reinstalled a few times on the local administrator account.  Also, once on the Product Registration screen the Cancel button does not work.  To exit the screen, you have to go to task manager and end the Roxio program.

Contact Dell as they provide ALL support for their OEM versions.

#3 BusIT

BusIT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 November 2011 - 12:36 PM

View Postogdens, on 25 November 2011 - 12:28 PM, said:

Contact Dell as they provide ALL support for their OEM versions.

I did that first and they said to contact Roxio as it is their product.  When Roxio told me to contact Dell, I did and Dell again referred me to Roxio.

#4 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,787 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 November 2011 - 12:41 PM

View PostBusIT, on 25 November 2011 - 12:36 PM, said:

I did that first and they said to contact Roxio as it is their product.  When Roxio told me to contact Dell, I did and Dell again referred me to Roxio.

Read this link for Roxio OEM policy

Is it possible that your Firewall is blocking the connection to Roxio?

Edited by myguggi, 25 November 2011 - 12:42 PM.


Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
Intel® 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#5 BusIT

BusIT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 November 2011 - 12:45 PM

View Postmyguggi, on 25 November 2011 - 12:41 PM, said:

Read this link for Roxio OEM policy

Is it possible that your Firewall is blocking the connection to Roxio?

My computer has the same software installed and I was able to launch the program and go through the Registration page.  Both the user's PC and mine are going through the same corporate firewall.  The firewall is setup to allow the same access throughout the company.

Edited by BusIT, 25 November 2011 - 12:47 PM.


#6 cdanteek

cdanteek

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Prairie Rapids Crossing.

Posted 25 November 2011 - 01:21 PM

View PostBusIT, on 25 November 2011 - 12:45 PM, said:

My computer has the same software installed and I was able to launch the program and go through the Registration page.  Both the user's PC and mine are going through the same corporate firewall.  The firewall is setup to allow the same access throughout the company.


How old is this Roxio Software?
cd
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Computer Specs click show.
Spoiler

1.Click here   Beginners Guide - Blank DVD Media Type Definitions & What A Firmware Upgrade Is for Your Burner.
2.Click here Firmware HQ - site  dedicated to providing you with the latest firmware releases for your optical disc drives.  
3.Click here CD-DVD Speed
4.Click here CD-DVD Speed - A user guide
5.Click here Enabling/Checking DMA in Windows Vista, XP, 2000, Me, 9x.
6.Click hereYou can no longer access the CD drive or the DVD drive.
7.Click here Drive Not Recognized By Roxio, PX Engine 3_00_58a. Old Version<-> EMC 7.5 Up  PX Engine 4.18.16a. Update .Click here  PX Engine Fix, Click here The Latest 4.10.28a Click here
8.Click here  How to uninstall IE 7 and WMP 11.
9.Click here ImgBurn Current version: v2.5.8.0 (3,389 KB)  CD / DVD / HD DVD / Blu-ray burning application
10.Click here InfoTool  (Drive, Disk, Configuration, Software, Hardware, DMA settings, etc.).
11.Click here   Complete Uninstall of Creator 2011 & Creator 2012
12.Click here Complete Uninstall of Creator 2009 and 2010 (Windows Vista and 7)
13.Click here Complete Uninstall of Creator 2009 and 2010 (Windows XP)
14.Click here Complete Uninstall of Easy Media Creator 9 & 10 on Windows Vista  
15.Click here Complete Uninstall of Easy Media Creator 7.5,  8, 9, & 10 on Windows XP
16. Click here WinZip Data Compression Utility <>  Click here WinRAR Data Compression Utility   Click here 7-Zip Data Compression Utility
17. Click here Finding Your Computer Specs And Roxio Software Version Number.

E-mail spambots harvest e-mail addresses from material found on the Internet in order to build mailing lists for sending unsolicited e-mail, also known as spam. Such spambots are web crawlers that can gather e-mail addresses from Web sites, newsgroups, special-interest group (SIG) postings, and chat-room conversations. .

Do not post your email address on any public forum!  

#7 BusIT

BusIT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 November 2011 - 01:30 PM

View Postcdanteek, on 25 November 2011 - 01:21 PM, said:

How old is this Roxio Software?

This came with the Dell Optiplex 990, which the company ordered last month.  On my computer, it shows version 12.1.0.439.

#8 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 25 November 2011 - 04:29 PM

Worst case scenario is bypass the registration (it will still work)
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#9 cdanteek

cdanteek

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Prairie Rapids Crossing.

Posted 25 November 2011 - 04:43 PM

View Postgi7omy, on 25 November 2011 - 04:29 PM, said:

Worst case scenario is bypass the registration (it will still work)

Did you read the fine print?

It says you must register this product to continue use.

I know there are some variants that require a internet connection to install/activate the software!

Dell bundled it, they have to step up and support it.
cd
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Computer Specs click show.
Spoiler

1.Click here   Beginners Guide - Blank DVD Media Type Definitions & What A Firmware Upgrade Is for Your Burner.
2.Click here Firmware HQ - site  dedicated to providing you with the latest firmware releases for your optical disc drives.  
3.Click here CD-DVD Speed
4.Click here CD-DVD Speed - A user guide
5.Click here Enabling/Checking DMA in Windows Vista, XP, 2000, Me, 9x.
6.Click hereYou can no longer access the CD drive or the DVD drive.
7.Click here Drive Not Recognized By Roxio, PX Engine 3_00_58a. Old Version<-> EMC 7.5 Up  PX Engine 4.18.16a. Update .Click here  PX Engine Fix, Click here The Latest 4.10.28a Click here
8.Click here  How to uninstall IE 7 and WMP 11.
9.Click here ImgBurn Current version: v2.5.8.0 (3,389 KB)  CD / DVD / HD DVD / Blu-ray burning application
10.Click here InfoTool  (Drive, Disk, Configuration, Software, Hardware, DMA settings, etc.).
11.Click here   Complete Uninstall of Creator 2011 & Creator 2012
12.Click here Complete Uninstall of Creator 2009 and 2010 (Windows Vista and 7)
13.Click here Complete Uninstall of Creator 2009 and 2010 (Windows XP)
14.Click here Complete Uninstall of Easy Media Creator 9 & 10 on Windows Vista  
15.Click here Complete Uninstall of Easy Media Creator 7.5,  8, 9, & 10 on Windows XP
16. Click here WinZip Data Compression Utility <>  Click here WinRAR Data Compression Utility   Click here 7-Zip Data Compression Utility
17. Click here Finding Your Computer Specs And Roxio Software Version Number.

E-mail spambots harvest e-mail addresses from material found on the Internet in order to build mailing lists for sending unsolicited e-mail, also known as spam. Such spambots are web crawlers that can gather e-mail addresses from Web sites, newsgroups, special-interest group (SIG) postings, and chat-room conversations. .

Do not post your email address on any public forum!  

#10 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 25 November 2011 - 04:44 PM

They must have changed that bit (it used to be bypassable but I registered anyway) but you're right about Dell - they ALWAYS try to wriggle out of support and pass the buck
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#11 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 25 November 2011 - 05:10 PM

Another clue to why Dell supplies support is they supplied the Backup Disc that was used to re-install the program.

#12 BusIT

BusIT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 November 2011 - 06:41 PM

I will contact Dell again and have them troubleshoot this.

#13 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34,592 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 November 2011 - 03:58 AM

Let us know what you find out!
Posted Image

#14 BusIT

BusIT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 November 2011 - 11:40 AM

View PostJim_Hardin, on 26 November 2011 - 03:58 AM, said:

Let us know what you find out!

I called Dell and they want to remote into the PC and run some tools.  There will be a cost to this as it is not covered in the warranty.  The company will not pay extra for this, and Dell will not assist further unless we pay for the service charge.  Any suggestions?

#15 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 28 November 2011 - 12:44 PM

I'm not sure how the law works over there but here under the 'Sale of Goods Act' any item HAS to meet the requirements (that everything works as it should)

If Dell supplied something that doesn't work, the onus should be on them to fix it at no cost to the consumer
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#16 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 28 November 2011 - 12:50 PM

View PostBusIT, on 28 November 2011 - 11:40 AM, said:

I called Dell and they want to remote into the PC and run some tools.  There will be a cost to this as it is not covered in the warranty.  The company will not pay extra for this, and Dell will not assist further unless we pay for the service charge.  Any suggestions?


What is not covered by warranty, your computer is less than a month old, I would escalate it higher up in Dell.

#17 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34,592 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 November 2011 - 06:12 AM

View Postogdens, on 28 November 2011 - 12:50 PM, said:

What is not covered by warranty, your computer is less than a month old, I would escalate it higher up in Dell.
No, it worked when delivered. The user REMOVED the software and cannot reinstall it ;) In any case, I doubt the OP wants to enter litigation  :lol:

I personally believe this is a mistake on the part of Roxio when making the OEM software... The OP is stuck between Roxio's OEM Support Policy and a Dell tech robot that doesn't understand the problem...

I'll point this Topic out to Jon, perhaps he can get things rolling in the right direction.

In the meanwhile, maybe BusIT can see if Dell has a Download of the software under the specific Service Tag available and see if that one will install???

Start right here, DELL ;)
Posted Image

#18 gi7omy

gi7omy

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,033 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast, Ireland

Posted 29 November 2011 - 06:39 AM

If you lean a bit hard on Dell (presumably you have a corporate buying policy with paid support) just politely tell them that if they don't fix it, you'll find another source for future business (that should get sales screaming at tech support to fix the problem) ;)
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it until it breaks, then fiddle with it until you get it fixed

"Rincewind could scream for mercy in nineteen languages and just scream in another forty-four "

"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into a committee; that will do them in."

“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.” — Mitch Ratcliffe


Daithi

Home Brew computer
Intel I7 950 on Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo
12 GB Three Channel DDRAM
Radeon HD4850 512 MB GDR3 graphics
Signalink USB Audio Codec for ham radio connection
1 x 160 GB, 1 x 330 GB, 1 x 400 GB IDE drives
4 x 250 GB SATA 2
LG HL-DT-ST GGW-H20L BD-RE drive
22" Acer P223W monitor


EMC 7.5 on Windows XP 32 SP3
EMC10 on Windows XP64 SP2
Creator 2011 on Windows 7 Ultimate
ECD6 on Gentoo Linux (running under VMWare)

#19 BusIT

BusIT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 29 November 2011 - 10:59 AM

I have looked at the Dell site for the software but was unable to find it.  I will continue to contact Dell and Roxio regarding this issue.  Thanks everyone for your input.

#20 BusIT

BusIT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 December 2011 - 03:48 PM

Dell is not helpful so far.  I have been transferred many times and they all suggested to uninstall/reinstall.  I uninstalled/reinstalled on my computer now and I was able to reproduce the same problem as the other user I mentioned. I did the uninstall/reinstall under the local administrator account.  However, when I login with my account on the same computer, I am able to use the software.  This registration problem must be user specific.

I finally figured out a way to fix this problem.  By looking at the registry [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Sonic\Registration] under my login on my computer, I see more entries in there than when I login as the local administrator.  I exported that key, logged in as the local administrator, and imported the key.  Now the software launches.  I will try this on the user's PC and see if it fixes it.

After all the time I spent with Dell and Roxio Support, I fixed the problem.  Not sure if this is the proper way to fix it, but it works.  I still wonder about what is causing the original problem.

Thanks everyone for your assistance.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users