Roxio Community

Help! I'm A Novice With Several File Types... Should I Buy This?!

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 supershopper

supershopper

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 05:04 AM

Hi,

I have several home video clips saved on my computer hard drive which came from 2 different types of camera (one Sony, one Panasonic), some from iphone and some from a DVD camcorder.
The various formats are:
movie clips - .mpg
video clips - .AVI
Quick Time movie - .MOV
AVCHD - .m2ts
3GPP audio - .3gp

I'd like to get all of these off my computer and onto DVDs which I can then play on any standard DVD player (not Blu-Ray or Playstation, don't have those!).

Looking at the Quick Time one for example, I'm guessing this has been created by how I've downloaded it to the computer, but I don't have the original clips any more (i.e. they've all been wiped from the cameras since downloading). Can I still convert them to DVD?!

We are running Windows 7 and think we have the other necessary system requirements.

I'm confused as to why I can't just use Windows DVD maker for this - but for the older format files it used to just freeze and now it doesn't seem to recognise the new formats.

As I'm not really sure what I'm doing, I don't know if it's worth spending this much money on something when I'm not sure if it will do the job I want - am guessing you can't send it back if it doesn't?!

Can someone please offer some advice...

Yours hopefully,

#2 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

Digital Guru

• Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,141 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 07:45 AM

Perfect! Should not be a problem:

Attached File  VideoWave - 1 Add.jpg   292.39K   0 downloads

However... having said that, there is NO guarantee that all files actually meet the Standards... We all encounter that from time to time and use any of the free converters available in that case to bring it back to standard.
Posted Image

#3 sknis

sknis

Digital Guru