Jump to content

Roxio Community

Re Chapter Menus - Can't Find An Answer To This


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 twieser

twieser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 06:35 PM

I am using Creator 2011 with all the needed service patches installed (XP OS).

What drives me crazy is the following:
In MyDVD, under Menu view I have:
--Production
------Chapter Menu 1
---------Chapters 1-6
------------ NEXT
---------------Chapter Menu 2
------------------Chapters 7-9

That is to say: I created 9 Chapters from one movie and the system automatically allocated 6 Chapters under Chapter Menu #1 and 3 Chapters under Chapter Menu #2.  How can I add an additional Chapter Menu and allocate the Chapters evenly between 3 Chapter Menus so each Chapter Menu will have 3 Chapters and each Chapter Menu will have the NEXT link so it will look like this:

--Production
------Chapter Menu 1
---------Chapters 1-3
------------ NEXT
---------------Chapter Menu 2
------------------Chapters 4-6
----------------------NEXT
-----------------------Chapter Menu 3
--------------------------Chapters 7-9

Thank you!

#11 twieser

twieser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 January 2012 - 09:00 AM

*
Best Answer

View Postmyguggi, on 04 January 2012 - 03:10 PM, said:

There is a way to do what you want, 3 chapters  per chapter menu page.

Use the Beach menu style (which has 3 chapters per page). Change the menu background, audio etc and anything else. Then save your new menu style as a custom menu.

Great workaround!  Thank you!

#2 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,568 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2012 - 08:45 PM

View Posttwieser, on 03 January 2012 - 06:35 PM, said:

I am using Creator 2011 with all the needed service patches installed (XP OS).

What drives me crazy is the following:
In MyDVD, under Menu view I have:
--Production
------Chapter Menu 1
---------Chapters 1-6
------------ NEXT
---------------Chapter Menu 2
------------------Chapters 7-9

That is to say: I created 9 Chapters from one movie and the system automatically allocated 6 Chapters under Chapter Menu #1 and 3 Chapters under Chapter Menu #2.  How can I add an additional Chapter Menu and allocate the Chapters evenly between 3 Chapter Menus so each Chapter Menu will have 3 Chapters and each Chapter Menu will have the NEXT link so it will look like this:

--Production
------Chapter Menu 1
---------Chapters 1-3
------------ NEXT
---------------Chapter Menu 2
------------------Chapters 4-6
----------------------NEXT
-----------------------Chapter Menu 3
--------------------------Chapters 7-9

Thank you!

Why would you want to do that? You want users to get to the chapter as soon as possible so why add an extra step?
Nobody pays much attention to menus.

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
Intel® 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#3 twieser

twieser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 January 2012 - 08:29 AM

View Postmyguggi, on 03 January 2012 - 08:45 PM, said:

Why would you want to do that? You want users to get to the chapter as soon as possible so why add an extra step?
Nobody pays much attention to menus.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
DG, I really appreciate your VERY speedy reply and I understand your point but my question is still pending.  Assuming I have a good reason, how do I do that?  Not to mention that 6 Chapters posted on one Chapter Menu is way too crowded and does not leave space for short titles for each chapter.  Are you saying that there is no way to add a Chapter Menu if I wish so?

Thank you!

#4 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,568 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 January 2012 - 08:39 AM

View Posttwieser, on 04 January 2012 - 08:29 AM, said:

-------------------------------------------------------------------
DG, I really appreciate your VERY speedy reply and I understand your point but my question is still pending.  Assuming I have a good reason, how do I do that?  Not to mention that 6 Chapters posted on one Chapter Menu is way too crowded and does not leave space for short titles for each chapter.  Are you saying that there is no way to add a Chapter Menu if I wish so?

Thank you!

Have you tried one of the other menu styles? There are many that have only 4 menu items per page.

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
Intel® 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#5 twieser

twieser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 January 2012 - 09:39 AM

Thank you once again.  I ended up doing precisely that; meaning using a different menu style.  With that said, this is a bad workaround and it forces me to use an undesired style.  If indeed there is no way to add manually another Chapter Menu and allocate chapter per menu as I wish, than this is an application flaw.  Do you agree?

Thank you!

#6 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,191 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 January 2012 - 12:39 PM

View Posttwieser, on 04 January 2012 - 09:39 AM, said:

Thank you once again.  I ended up doing precisely that; meaning using a different menu style.  With that said, this is a bad workaround and it forces me to use an undesired style.  If indeed there is no way to add manually another Chapter Menu and allocate chapter per menu as I wish, than this is an application flaw.  Do you agree?

Thank you!

The menu styles are working the way that they were designed to.  That isn't a flaw.
Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

Main System:
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard; Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
PLEXTOR Black DVD Burner, Model PX-880SA; Pioneer Black 8X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R Burner
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670 2GB Video Card
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series Sound Card
Windows XP Pro w/SP3

Backup Computer:
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Windows 7 Pro w/SP1

#7 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,562 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 January 2012 - 12:40 PM

You have to do it manually...

Create your Chapters anyway you want to. (I would let it create the Pages for me just so I have a leg up)

Then create the extra pages and buttons (3 per page)

Starting at the first page, delete the 4th or 4-6 buttons, move to Page 2.

Click the first button, and assign the Play from setting to Chapter 4, etc. - delete excess buttons and move to the next page and repeat.

But in Video it pays to keep it simple. People want to SEE video, not wade through page after page of navigation like some X-box game :lol:

Compare your work to commercial movies... how much time do you really spend in the chapter menus there?
Posted Image

#8 twieser

twieser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 January 2012 - 01:01 PM

Thank you all for the replies.

#9 twieser

twieser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 January 2012 - 01:42 PM

I tried to do it manually but no success.  What do you mean by saying creating a “page”?  It is not a term or concept that Creator uses? If you meant to say “Chapter Menu”, I did not find a function that allows me to do that; that was my original question.  Creator allows you to add “Sub menu” but after doing it I realized that it was something else; ; the created hierarchy is not as clear as the auto one and I needed to undo.  What is “Submenu” anyway?

Thank you.

#10 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,568 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 January 2012 - 03:10 PM

View Posttwieser, on 04 January 2012 - 09:39 AM, said:

Thank you once again.  I ended up doing precisely that; meaning using a different menu style.  With that said, this is a bad workaround and it forces me to use an undesired style.  If indeed there is no way to add manually another Chapter Menu and allocate chapter per menu as I wish, than this is an application flaw.  Do you agree?

Thank you!

There is a way to do what you want, 3 chapters  per chapter menu page.

Use the Beach menu style (which has 3 chapters per page). Change the menu background, audio etc and anything else. Then save your new menu style as a custom menu.

Edited by myguggi, 04 January 2012 - 03:10 PM.


Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
Intel® 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#12 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,192 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:43 PM

Watch this video ;  hopefully it will help.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#13 twieser

twieser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:51 PM

View Postsknis, on 05 January 2012 - 12:43 PM, said:

Watch this video ;  hopefully it will help.

You are the best; thank you!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users