• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 John Shepard

John Shepard

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 January 2012 - 02:46 PM

Hello, I've been using Easy VHS to DVD for Mac for a few months now. Every so often, after I stop the recording, the program will crash part way though the process of creating the MPG file, before permitting me to send the recording to Toast, edit with iMove, or send to QuickTime. What I end up with is an incomplete MPG file. I assume that the program records the data, while recording from VHS, to some hidden, temporary file on my computer and then, after I stop recording, creates the MPG file, but although I've searched for information on such a temp file (and searched my computer for hidden or unhidden temp files), I haven't found any information (or temp files for the program). Does anyone know if the data is actually available, say after a crash of the program, as some hidden (or not hidden) temporary recording file that I might be able to use to recover the complete MPG file?

Also, after the crash, I get a dialog that asks me if I want to send a report to Apple. Viewing the report, I see:

Exception Type:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x00000000c00000bc
Crashed Thread:  8

I don't know if that's enough information, but can anyone tell me what is the nature of such a crash? (I can post more information from crash reports if that would help.)

Thank you for any help!

Edited by John Shepard, 06 January 2012 - 02:52 PM.

#2 John Shepard

John Shepard

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 03:54 PM

I have discovered the temporary files (and folders) used by Easy VHS to DVD (Mac), and thought I'd post the information here - someone else may find it helpful.