Jump to content

Roxio Community

Video Copy And Convert Batch Size Problems


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 Peter Phillips

Peter Phillips

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 January 2012 - 05:28 PM

I purchased Video Copy & Create a few days ago (Jan 2012).  It works great for converting large dvr-ms files to mp4.  But I have a strange problem when trying to convert multiple files at once.

I have 13 large files to convert (around 2.5-4 GB for each file).  I created a project with all 13 files and used the PS3 video settings, except I changed the dimensions to 640x480 and the bitrate to 8000kps instead of 2000kps.  The conversion works but the resulting files are not using the high bitrate.  They look blocky, and the birate is low (< 1000kps).  Each file ends up being 354MB in size.  If I convert a single file, the size is more like 2.3 GB.

Here is the strange part.  As I said, with 13 files, each resulting file is about 354MB.  If I reduce the number of files to 6, the resulting files are larger, about 761MB.  If I reduce it further to 3, the files are about 1231MB.  Finally, with just one file, the size is 2102MB.

In short, it seems the number of files in the project changes the resulting bitrate and quality of the files.  Has anyone else encountered this problem?  I'm going to convert my files one by one but I really wish the project batch feature worked as it is very convenient.

My computer is running Windows7 (64-bit sp1) on an i7-2600 with 16GB of RAM (and 600GB of free hard drive space).  I applied the two patches the update manager found but those did not help. (roxiocreator2010sp2.exe and roxiocreator2010update.exe).  The downloaded file install file was called RoxioEasyDVDCopyPremier_HX28CXD0DV1.exe.  The help box says build 122B04A ENU with the technical support ID 720603004874.

I can provide more details as necessary.  You might wonder how I know the bitrate is changing.  I check it by using the bitrate monitor on the PS3 video player.  But I can also tell because the file size is too small and (for the lower rates) the image is definitely blockier.

#4 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 07 January 2012 - 06:43 PM

*
Best Answer

Thanks Peter,

My Creator 2011 is 131B66A and my Creator 2010 is 121B93A, so I'd guess that your "Roxio Easy DVD Copy Premier" is a sliced-and-diced sub-set of Creator 2010 with SP2 applied.

I haven't managed to find the topic which dealt with that batch problem yet - the search utility on this board is rudimentary - but I think that has narrowed it down to the Creator 2010, 2011, or 2012 forums. I don't think it was that very long ago, either.

Regards,
Brendon



Edit:I think I found the topic.

You can read it HERE. It was about VCC13 in Creator 2011, so it might be a long-standing bug.

Edited by Brendon, 07 January 2012 - 06:52 PM.

P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

As a very wise man told me, "You do it until . . . . ."

#2 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 07 January 2012 - 05:43 PM

Hi Peter,

What software do you actually have [Name and version number??]

I believe somebody mentioned this problem a while back in either the Creator 2012 or 2011 forum, talking about the Video Copy and Convert [VCC] that's in the Creator suite.

Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

As a very wise man told me, "You do it until . . . . ."

#3 Peter Phillips

Peter Phillips

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 January 2012 - 06:09 PM

View PostBrendon, on 07 January 2012 - 05:43 PM, said:

Hi Peter,

What software do you actually have [Name and version number??]

Brendon

I guess the program is "Roxio Video Copy and Convert" (VCC) as you mention.  More details:

The program I first run is called "Roxio Easy DVD Copy Premier" and the about box says version 1.2.204 SP2.1;5.0.0.0.
From there I launch the converter program, called "Roxie Video Copy & Convert".  The help box says the build is 122B04A ENU.

It is a little confusing since I purchased "Easy Video Copy and Convert" (http://www.roxio.com...rt/default.html) but when it downloaded the name was different (and the PDF file said I was upgraded)

#5 Peter Phillips

Peter Phillips

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 January 2012 - 06:51 PM

View PostBrendon, on 07 January 2012 - 06:43 PM, said:

Thanks Peter,

My Creator 2011 is 131B66A and my Creator 2010 is 121B93A, so I'd guess that your "Roxio Easy DVD Copy Premier" is a sliced-and-diced sub-set of Creator 2010 with SP2 applied.

I haven't managed to find the topic which dealt with that batch problem yet - the search utility on this board is rudimentary - but I think that has narrowed it down to the Creator 2010, 2011, or 2012 forums. I don't think it was that very long ago, either.

Regards,
Brendon

Thanks Brendon.  I've been looking in the forums but nothing yet.  Do you happen to remember if the problem was resolved or not?  Thanks again!  I'll keep looking...

#6 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 07 January 2012 - 06:54 PM

You posted while I was editing. :)

I haven't read right through the topic yet.

Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

As a very wise man told me, "You do it until . . . . ."

#7 Peter Phillips

Peter Phillips

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 January 2012 - 09:32 AM

View PostBrendon, on 07 January 2012 - 06:54 PM, said:

You posted while I was editing. :)

I haven't read right through the topic yet.

Brendon

You've found it -- exactly the same issue.  I'll make a note on the opening post and "close" the topic.

#8 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,741 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 January 2012 - 10:59 AM

View PostPeter Phillips, on 09 January 2012 - 09:32 AM, said:

You've found it -- exactly the same issue.  I'll make a note on the opening post and "close" the topic.

What did you do to the opening post in this thread? It is gone now!

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#9 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,350 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 January 2012 - 12:01 PM

View Postmyguggi, on 09 January 2012 - 10:59 AM, said:

What did you do to the opening post in this thread? It is gone now!

It's back now.  :rolleyes:
Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

Main System:
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard; Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
PLEXTOR Black DVD Burner, Model PX-880SA; Pioneer Black 8X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R Burner
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670 2GB Video Card
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series Sound Card
Windows XP Pro w/SP3

Backup Computer:
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Windows 7 Pro w/SP1

#10 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,382,245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:16 PM

That erratic software for marking topics as "solved" did that.

I'll close the topic for you, Peter.

Regards,
Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
BENQ DW1640, in XP Pro and Windows 7

As a very wise man told me, "You do it until . . . . ."




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users