Jump to content

Roxio Community

Tv Safe Area


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 joca

joca

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England UK
  • Interests:Video making, playing music (piano & organ) walking my dog, working with graphics

Posted 10 January 2012 - 01:32 PM

Can somebody please tell me if the TV safe app is absolute or does it apply for a specific screen i.e. 4.3 normal or 16.9 widescreen.
Served in HM forces 1958-1960
Running windows 7 pro 64bit
Printer:- Canon Pixmia MG6250
Canon MFS200 Vixia HD camcorder

1 x Kingston 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Memory Kit CL9 1.65V
1 x AMD Phenom II1 X4 955 Black Edition Socket AM3 3.2 GHz 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
1 x Asus M5A88-M EVO Socket AM3+ onboard Graphics 8 channel Audio mATX Motherboard
1 x Powercool Modular 550W PSU 80+ Dual 12V V2.2 High Efficiency  

1 x    Samsung 128GB 830 series SSD SATA 6Gb/s  
1 x Crucial 64GB M4 SSD - 2.5" SATA-III - Read 415MB/s Write 95MB/s -

1 x Asus 24x DVD±RW with DL and RAM SATA Optical Drive - OEM Black
1 x Sapphire HD 6570 1GB DDR3 DVI VGA HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card


Also
MacBookPro7,1
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache: 3 MB
  Memory: 4 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
  Boot ROM Version: MBP71.0039.B0B
  SMC Version (system): 1.62f6
  Sudden Motion Sensor:

#2 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 10 January 2012 - 01:55 PM

View Postjoca, on 10 January 2012 - 01:32 PM, said:

Can somebody please tell me if the TV safe app is absolute or does it apply for a specific screen i.e. 4.3 normal or 16.9 widescreen.


Did you ever try using the search function in the forum.

Top right on this page. Click on the little cog wheel (beside search), when the screen opens type in "tv safe area" (use the quotes), select forum, then enter.....you will get lots of hits, do some reading.

Edited by ogdens, 10 January 2012 - 02:32 PM.


#3 joca

joca

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England UK
  • Interests:Video making, playing music (piano & organ) walking my dog, working with graphics

Posted 10 January 2012 - 10:19 PM

View Postogdens, on 10 January 2012 - 01:55 PM, said:

Did you ever try using the search function in the forum.

Top right on this page. Click on the little cog wheel (beside search), when the screen opens type in "tv safe area" (use the quotes), select forum, then enter.....you will get lots of hits, do some reading.

Thanks a lot for your reply. Yeah I often think about hitting help buttons, but the downside on that is if everybody did that nobody would be doing any talking on here anymore, then there would be no discussion. I always think it's nice to talk to people and people answer in different ways so you get more than one idea.

Edited by joca, 10 January 2012 - 11:09 PM.

Served in HM forces 1958-1960
Running windows 7 pro 64bit
Printer:- Canon Pixmia MG6250
Canon MFS200 Vixia HD camcorder

1 x Kingston 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Memory Kit CL9 1.65V
1 x AMD Phenom II1 X4 955 Black Edition Socket AM3 3.2 GHz 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
1 x Asus M5A88-M EVO Socket AM3+ onboard Graphics 8 channel Audio mATX Motherboard
1 x Powercool Modular 550W PSU 80+ Dual 12V V2.2 High Efficiency  

1 x    Samsung 128GB 830 series SSD SATA 6Gb/s  
1 x Crucial 64GB M4 SSD - 2.5" SATA-III - Read 415MB/s Write 95MB/s -

1 x Asus 24x DVD±RW with DL and RAM SATA Optical Drive - OEM Black
1 x Sapphire HD 6570 1GB DDR3 DVI VGA HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card


Also
MacBookPro7,1
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache: 3 MB
  Memory: 4 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
  Boot ROM Version: MBP71.0039.B0B
  SMC Version (system): 1.62f6
  Sudden Motion Sensor:

#4 joca

joca

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England UK
  • Interests:Video making, playing music (piano & organ) walking my dog, working with graphics

Posted 10 January 2012 - 11:22 PM

Hi Ogdens I took your advice and did a search and to be honest it wasn't really that helpful, great for using a image cropper but it doesn't really answer my question. I don't want to be fitting a lot of text on to a reduced size screen by reducing the size of the font unless I have to making it more difficult to read than need be.So what aspect is the reduced screen 4.3 normal or 16.9 widscreen ? or is it for older obsolete tv technology.
Served in HM forces 1958-1960
Running windows 7 pro 64bit
Printer:- Canon Pixmia MG6250
Canon MFS200 Vixia HD camcorder

1 x Kingston 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Memory Kit CL9 1.65V
1 x AMD Phenom II1 X4 955 Black Edition Socket AM3 3.2 GHz 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
1 x Asus M5A88-M EVO Socket AM3+ onboard Graphics 8 channel Audio mATX Motherboard
1 x Powercool Modular 550W PSU 80+ Dual 12V V2.2 High Efficiency  

1 x    Samsung 128GB 830 series SSD SATA 6Gb/s  
1 x Crucial 64GB M4 SSD - 2.5" SATA-III - Read 415MB/s Write 95MB/s -

1 x Asus 24x DVD±RW with DL and RAM SATA Optical Drive - OEM Black
1 x Sapphire HD 6570 1GB DDR3 DVI VGA HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card


Also
MacBookPro7,1
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache: 3 MB
  Memory: 4 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
  Boot ROM Version: MBP71.0039.B0B
  SMC Version (system): 1.62f6
  Sudden Motion Sensor:

#5 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 11 January 2012 - 04:15 AM

View Postjoca, on 10 January 2012 - 11:22 PM, said:

Hi Ogdens I took your advice and did a search and to be honest it wasn't really that helpful, great for using a image cropper but it doesn't really answer my question. I don't want to be fitting a lot of text on to a reduced size screen by reducing the size of the font unless I have to making it more difficult to read than need be.So what aspect is the reduced screen 4.3 normal or 16.9 widscreen ? or is it for older obsolete tv technology.

How about rephrasing the question .  I'm not sure what you mean.

The size of the safe zone for either ratio is more dependent on the type of TV.  The old CRT tubes had safe zones at about 85 percent of the image while the newer ones are closer to 95%; monitors are even more.  As always though you have to play with what works for you.
PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#6 joca

joca

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England UK
  • Interests:Video making, playing music (piano & organ) walking my dog, working with graphics

Posted 11 January 2012 - 04:30 AM

View Postsknis, on 11 January 2012 - 04:15 AM, said:

How about rephrasing the question .  I'm not sure what you mean.

The size of the safe zone for either ratio is more dependent on the type of TV.  The old CRT tubes had safe zones at about 85 percent of the image while the newer ones are closer to 95%; monitors are even more.  As always though you have to play with what works for you.

Thanks for your reply. OK I looked at a roxio tutorial vid on text scrolling an answer to a query of mine. In the vid it was going to tv safe zone and this is where it first came to my attention.Not knowing what it actually meant I wanted to know if this is a blanket setting with everthing or if not to what extent should I be applying it, so, I asked the question. To rephrase the question because I don't want to pull everything to the centre of the screen when it plays on a modern tv. I produce my projects in 16.9 format which is widescreen.I have a clip that as an introduction it has a lot of text and to facilitate using a larger font I am scrolling it but, obviously if I am not bound to the tv safe zone then I can use more of the screen.



Served in HM forces 1958-1960
Running windows 7 pro 64bit
Printer:- Canon Pixmia MG6250
Canon MFS200 Vixia HD camcorder

1 x Kingston 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Memory Kit CL9 1.65V
1 x AMD Phenom II1 X4 955 Black Edition Socket AM3 3.2 GHz 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
1 x Asus M5A88-M EVO Socket AM3+ onboard Graphics 8 channel Audio mATX Motherboard
1 x Powercool Modular 550W PSU 80+ Dual 12V V2.2 High Efficiency  

1 x    Samsung 128GB 830 series SSD SATA 6Gb/s  
1 x Crucial 64GB M4 SSD - 2.5" SATA-III - Read 415MB/s Write 95MB/s -

1 x Asus 24x DVD±RW with DL and RAM SATA Optical Drive - OEM Black
1 x Sapphire HD 6570 1GB DDR3 DVI VGA HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card


Also
MacBookPro7,1
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache: 3 MB
  Memory: 4 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
  Boot ROM Version: MBP71.0039.B0B
  SMC Version (system): 1.62f6
  Sudden Motion Sensor:

#7 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,478 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 January 2012 - 06:20 AM

View Postjoca, on 11 January 2012 - 04:30 AM, said:

Thanks for your reply. OK I looked at a roxio tutorial vid on text scrolling an answer to a query of mine. In the vid it was going to tv safe zone and this is where it first came to my attention.Not knowing what it actually meant I wanted to know if this is a blanket setting with everthing or if not to what extent should I be applying it, so, I asked the question. To rephrase the question because I don't want to pull everything to the centre of the screen when it plays on a modern tv. I produce my projects in 16.9 format which is widescreen.I have a clip that as an introduction it has a lot of text and to facilitate using a larger font I am scrolling it but, obviously if I am not bound to the tv safe zone then I can use more of the screen.

Try your text, the way that you want it, and see if any is cut off on your TV.  Then you'll know whether or not you have to change the text.
Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

Main System:
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard; Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
PLEXTOR Black DVD Burner, Model PX-880SA; Pioneer Black 8X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R Burner
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670 2GB Video Card
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series Sound Card
Windows XP Pro w/SP3

Backup Computer:
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Windows 7 Pro w/SP1

#8 joca

joca

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England UK
  • Interests:Video making, playing music (piano & organ) walking my dog, working with graphics

Posted 11 January 2012 - 06:30 AM

View Postgrandpabruce, on 11 January 2012 - 06:20 AM, said:

Try your text, the way that you want it, and see if any is cut off on your TV.  Then you'll know whether or not you have to change the text.
Thank you for your reply. So it seems like it is a suck it and see then. Thats the obvious way to find out but this is in HD and I was hoping to avoid long render and burn and wasting a disk.




Served in HM forces 1958-1960
Running windows 7 pro 64bit
Printer:- Canon Pixmia MG6250
Canon MFS200 Vixia HD camcorder

1 x Kingston 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Memory Kit CL9 1.65V
1 x AMD Phenom II1 X4 955 Black Edition Socket AM3 3.2 GHz 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
1 x Asus M5A88-M EVO Socket AM3+ onboard Graphics 8 channel Audio mATX Motherboard
1 x Powercool Modular 550W PSU 80+ Dual 12V V2.2 High Efficiency  

1 x    Samsung 128GB 830 series SSD SATA 6Gb/s  
1 x Crucial 64GB M4 SSD - 2.5" SATA-III - Read 415MB/s Write 95MB/s -

1 x Asus 24x DVD±RW with DL and RAM SATA Optical Drive - OEM Black
1 x Sapphire HD 6570 1GB DDR3 DVI VGA HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card


Also
MacBookPro7,1
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache: 3 MB
  Memory: 4 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
  Boot ROM Version: MBP71.0039.B0B
  SMC Version (system): 1.62f6
  Sudden Motion Sensor:

#9 Larry

Larry

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,236 posts

Posted 11 January 2012 - 06:42 AM

View Postjoca, on 11 January 2012 - 04:30 AM, said:

Thanks for your reply. OK I looked at a roxio tutorial vid on text scrolling an answer to a query of mine. In the vid it was going to tv safe zone and this is where it first came to my attention.Not knowing what it actually meant I wanted to know if this is a blanket setting with everthing or if not to what extent should I be applying it, so, I asked the question. To rephrase the question because I don't want to pull everything to the centre of the screen when it plays on a modern tv. I produce my projects in 16.9 format which is widescreen.I have a clip that as an introduction it has a lot of text and to facilitate using a larger font I am scrolling it but, obviously if I am not bound to the tv safe zone then I can use more of the screen.


A couple thoughts. Keep in mind that the safe zone the programs display is for the most part a 'worst case' scenario, being roughly the 85% SKNIS noted. That would be about what older 4:3 sets tend to be for overscan. Newer wide screen sets tend to be less. My flat panel plasma for example has very little, less than 5% over scan.

Something else to keep in mind. If you're doing 16:9 projects, the top/bottom safe zone should be less important than the left/right ones for when it's going to be played on an older 4:3 set. When played on those, they should be getting 'letter boxed' to fit the video on the screen, meaning the top and bottom of the screen would have black bars, and the overscan area falls into those. The top/bottom of the video itself should display all the way to the edge.

Like GRANDPA BRUCE suggested, get a couple RW erasable discs to do some small test projects with and see what type of playback results you get, then adjust from there.
Larry
Registered Member Creator 2010 Pro, Creator 2009 Ultimate, EMC 10, 9, 8 Deluxe, 7.5, 7, ECDC 6,5,4

Dell Precision WorkStation 450 / 2 - Intel Xeon 2.80ghz CPU w/HT, 512mb L2 Cache, 533mhz Bus / 2gb RAM / 1800gb+ HDD's / NVIDIA GeForce 6200 / Lite-On 165H6S CD DVD+/- DVD+/-DL /  Plextor PX-708UF /
Hauppage WinTV HVR-950Q / Hauppage WinTV PVR PCI II 250 / Hauppage WinTV PVR USB2 / XP Pro SP3 / Windows 7

#10 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,478 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 January 2012 - 07:30 AM

View Postjoca, on 11 January 2012 - 06:30 AM, said:

Thank you for your reply. So it seems like it is a suck it and see then. Thats the obvious way to find out but this is in HD and I was hoping to avoid long render and burn and wasting a disk.

Do a short project (time wise) as a test.
Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

Main System:
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard; Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
PLEXTOR Black DVD Burner, Model PX-880SA; Pioneer Black 8X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R Burner
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670 2GB Video Card
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series Sound Card
Windows XP Pro w/SP3

Backup Computer:
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Windows 7 Pro w/SP1

#11 joca

joca

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England UK
  • Interests:Video making, playing music (piano & organ) walking my dog, working with graphics

Posted 11 January 2012 - 07:34 AM

View PostLarry, on 11 January 2012 - 06:42 AM, said:

A couple thoughts. Keep in mind that the safe zone the programs display is for the most part a 'worst case' scenario, being roughly the 85% SKNIS noted. That would be about what older 4:3 sets tend to be for overscan. Newer wide screen sets tend to be less. My flat panel plasma for example has very little, less than 5% over scan.

Something else to keep in mind. If you're doing 16:9 projects, the top/bottom safe zone should be less important than the left/right ones for when it's going to be played on an older 4:3 set. When played on those, they should be getting 'letter boxed' to fit the video on the screen, meaning the top and bottom of the screen would have black bars, and the overscan area falls into those. The top/bottom of the video itself should display all the way to the edge.

Like GRANDPA BRUCE suggested, get a couple RW erasable discs to do some small test projects with and see what type of playback results you get, then adjust from there.
Thanks sounds good



Served in HM forces 1958-1960
Running windows 7 pro 64bit
Printer:- Canon Pixmia MG6250
Canon MFS200 Vixia HD camcorder

1 x Kingston 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Memory Kit CL9 1.65V
1 x AMD Phenom II1 X4 955 Black Edition Socket AM3 3.2 GHz 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
1 x Asus M5A88-M EVO Socket AM3+ onboard Graphics 8 channel Audio mATX Motherboard
1 x Powercool Modular 550W PSU 80+ Dual 12V V2.2 High Efficiency  

1 x    Samsung 128GB 830 series SSD SATA 6Gb/s  
1 x Crucial 64GB M4 SSD - 2.5" SATA-III - Read 415MB/s Write 95MB/s -

1 x Asus 24x DVD±RW with DL and RAM SATA Optical Drive - OEM Black
1 x Sapphire HD 6570 1GB DDR3 DVI VGA HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card


Also
MacBookPro7,1
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache: 3 MB
  Memory: 4 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
  Boot ROM Version: MBP71.0039.B0B
  SMC Version (system): 1.62f6
  Sudden Motion Sensor:

#12 joca

joca

    Digital Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England UK
  • Interests:Video making, playing music (piano & organ) walking my dog, working with graphics

Posted 11 January 2012 - 07:35 AM

View Postgrandpabruce, on 11 January 2012 - 07:30 AM, said:

Do a short project (time wise) as a test.
Thanks grandpa will do



Served in HM forces 1958-1960
Running windows 7 pro 64bit
Printer:- Canon Pixmia MG6250
Canon MFS200 Vixia HD camcorder

1 x Kingston 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Memory Kit CL9 1.65V
1 x AMD Phenom II1 X4 955 Black Edition Socket AM3 3.2 GHz 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
1 x Asus M5A88-M EVO Socket AM3+ onboard Graphics 8 channel Audio mATX Motherboard
1 x Powercool Modular 550W PSU 80+ Dual 12V V2.2 High Efficiency  

1 x    Samsung 128GB 830 series SSD SATA 6Gb/s  
1 x Crucial 64GB M4 SSD - 2.5" SATA-III - Read 415MB/s Write 95MB/s -

1 x Asus 24x DVD±RW with DL and RAM SATA Optical Drive - OEM Black
1 x Sapphire HD 6570 1GB DDR3 DVI VGA HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card


Also
MacBookPro7,1
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache: 3 MB
  Memory: 4 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
  Boot ROM Version: MBP71.0039.B0B
  SMC Version (system): 1.62f6
  Sudden Motion Sensor:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users