Jump to content
  • 0
FEast

Copying Problem

Question

I copied a bunch of videos from my hard drive to a blank DVD via Creator 10, with the thought that I could then delete the ones on my hard drive, in order to make more space.

 

However, when I inserted the disk and tried to paste copies of the videos back on to the hard drive, I was told that they are read only, which defeats my purpose. It also means that all the other videos I copied in that fashion, then deleted from my hard drive, are no good to me, other than for viewing purposes.

 

Among other things, I want to make copies of the videos to send to members of my family, but I want to select which ones to send to each person. Is it possible to convert the read only to something that can be pasted to my hard drive, so I can do whatever I want to do with the videos?

 

Also, when next I burn copies to a DVD, is there a setting I can change in Creator 10, so that the videos can be used for purposes other than just viewing? If so, where is it? Thank you!~Fuchsia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

That shouldn't be a problem. Yes, when you put a file onto optical media such as CD-R or DVD +/- R, the file becomes read-only, but you can still copy it back to your HD, then all you need to do is right-click on the file in Windows Explorer, select Properties, and uncheck the "Read Only" attribute. That should get you back where you want to be.

 

Hope that helps!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

That shouldn't be a problem. Yes, when you put a file onto optical media such as CD-R or DVD +/- R, the file becomes read-only, but you can still copy it back to your HD, then all you need to do is right-click on the file in Windows Explorer, select Properties, and uncheck the "Read Only" attribute. That should get you back where you want to be.

That worked beautifully, once I figured out every single step. Thank you so much, Dave! It's a huge relief to learn that I haven't lost any of the clips I've stored to DVD, and will be able to do other things with them when I choose.

 

To save time, however, is there a setting in Creator 10/Burn Data Disk that will prevent the Read Only from happening?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

No, you can't prevent that from happening. Here's why, when you write a file to CD-R or DVD +/- R disc, can you edit it while it's there? No, it really is a read only file, and Windows knows that when it reads the file(s) back to your hard drive and keeps that attribute set.

 

Now, you don't have to select each file individually to change the read-only attribute, you can select a bunch of them (ctrl-click, or shift-click, or drag over a bunch of files) then do the right-click -> properties -> uncheck sequence, and change them all at once.

 

Hope that helps too!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

No, you can't prevent that from happening. Here's why, when you write a file to CD-R or DVD +/- R disc, can you edit it while it's there? No, it really is a read only file, and Windows knows that when it reads the file(s) back to your hard drive and keeps that attribute set.

 

Now, you don't have to select each file individually to change the read-only attribute, you can select a bunch of them (ctrl-click, or shift-click, or drag over a bunch of files) then do the right-click -> properties -> uncheck sequence, and change them all at once.

 

Hope that helps too!

Yes, I clicked Select All, right-clicked Properties, and unchecked Read Only. Was hoping to avoid doing that, but at least all is not lost, and my videos can be used over and over, for whatever I need. Thanks, Dave!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now

×