1 reply to this topic

#1 Johnboy Wilson

Johnboy Wilson

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 February 2012 - 02:36 PM

Hi

I'm relatively new to DVDit Pro HD and need some simple advice.  I am cutting in Avid Media Composer v5.0 and exporting Quicktime Reference Files referencing 1080p/25 footage.  I then need to create DVD (SD) and Bluray (HD) copies.  First of all I burnt the DVDs and everything worked perfectly.  So my next job is to burn the HD bluray copies.  I go back into the same project and at the bottom left of the screen change my disc option to BD-25 and then insert a blank BD-25 disc into the bluray burner.  The remaining space on the disc is 20.3gb meaning that the content on the disc is taking up 4.7gb.  When I burnt the DVD it took up the full DVD - 4.7gb.  This makes me think that DVDit is going to burn the same SD version but to a bluray.  I've tried changing the settings under file>project settings>HD transcoding but this doesn't seem to effect the amount of data that is going to be written to disc which is shown in the very bottom left of DVDit.

Do I have to tell DVDit that I want it to be HD.  I can't seem to find a way of knowing for sure that what will be produced will be HD.  My original footage is definitely HD.

Thanks

John

#2 MPPais

MPPais

Novice

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 17 February 2012 - 01:21 PM

Please see DVit! HD Pro's manual, page 42: http://forums.suppor...2-dvdit-manual/
I edit with Edius 6.0.6 and I export HD video and audio files according the settings before I choose at DVDit! HD Pro (manual, page 42: 24p, 25i, and so on). I import the files to DVDit! HD Pro and I do Blu-ray authoring and I burn my Blu-ray disk.
If I want also a DVD I change to DVD and DVDit! HD Pro transcode my files to SD and I can burn my DVD disk.
You must do the same!
DVDit! don't do the upscalling for SD files to HD but it do very well the downscalling HD to SD!!!