Jump to content

Roxio Community

Importing Mov Video From Canon 7D


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 monusharun

monusharun

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 02:32 AM

Hello All
This may be a topic discussed in the past - however I was unable to run a search to find any related threads.

Attempting to import HD video from a Canon 7D DSLR into Creator 2012 PRO.  Imports the file/s, however on playback within VideoWave editor, the sound drops off after a few seconds for each clip imported.  Video is 1080p - and a .mov file as output from the DSLR (saved on hard disk).


Any suggestions / help?  I am sure there is a fix - just need to know what it is!  :)

Ananth
DELL Studio XPS 435T /Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz; 9 GB RAM; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
64-bit OS; Windows 7 Home Premium - service pack 1;

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 21 February 2012 - 04:32 AM

View Postmonusharun, on 21 February 2012 - 02:32 AM, said:

Hello All
This may be a topic discussed in the past - however I was unable to run a search to find any related threads.

Attempting to import HD video from a Canon 7D DSLR into Creator 2012 PRO.  Imports the file/s, however on playback within VideoWave editor, the sound drops off after a few seconds for each clip imported.  Video is 1080p - and a .mov file as output from the DSLR (saved on hard disk).


Any suggestions / help?  I am sure there is a fix - just need to know what it is!  :)

Ananth
DELL Studio XPS 435T /Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz; 9 GB RAM; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
64-bit OS; Windows 7 Home Premium - service pack 1;

Yes, you are correct, it has been reported before.  There are two things to try:

1) Try using Video Copy and Convert to convert the mov to mpg2 and use that in Video Wave.

2) If that doesn't work, use a third party converter to convert the file.  Cnet has a bunch of free ones available.  Be careful with cnet and read all the screens.  They have started to add some unwanted freeware along with the program you want.  I use "Any Video Converter" and it workes well.  It will do batch convert.  The options for high definition are sort of hidden so clcik on the resolution window and you'll gte a drop down.

Let us know which one works for you.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#3 monusharun

monusharun

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 05:08 PM

Thanks, I shall give those a try and post results shortly.

#4 monusharun

monusharun

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 05:31 PM

Tried the Video Copy and Convert - same problem, audio drops off after a few seconds into each clip.

Have downloaded the Any Video Convertor that you recommend - shall install it soon and give it a spin.

I was wondering if Canon had some sort of utility to do this conversion - I shall need to explore their applications area.  Strange that I can play the mov files using any of the many players I have incl Win medial player, VLC media player, Quick Time etc... and all play with audio all the way through.  The minute I load these video clips into Video Wave - on playback from within VW - the audio drops off....

Surely there is a more permanent fix to this!  I am sure there are some of us Canon DSLR users out there shooting away in HD and being able to successfully import clips into this software to do some editing work!

#5 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34,264 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 February 2012 - 02:01 AM

View Postmonusharun, on 21 February 2012 - 05:31 PM, said:

Tried the Video Copy and Convert - same problem, audio drops off after a few seconds into each clip.

Have downloaded the Any Video Convertor that you recommend - shall install it soon and give it a spin.

I was wondering if Canon had some sort of utility to do this conversion - I shall need to explore their applications area.  Strange that I can play the mov files using any of the many players I have incl Win medial player, VLC media player, Quick Time etc... and all play with audio all the way through.  The minute I load these video clips into Video Wave - on playback from within VW - the audio drops off....

Surely there is a more permanent fix to this!  I am sure there are some of us Canon DSLR users out there shooting away in HD and being able to successfully import clips into this software to do some editing work!
Not really... Canon chose to deviate from the file "Standards" and the world is not all that accepting of it :lol:

It only shows up in their Still Cameras when they are trying to take the place of a camcorder :huh:

I have one of thier Vixia SF21 camcorders and its' video files work fine.  :lol:
Posted Image

#6 Steve_Worrall

Steve_Worrall

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 09:17 PM

The Freemake Video converter works well, (better i my opinion than Any Video Converter) if production time is not an issue. We've had to buy competitive editing platforms because Roxio continues to ignore the DSLR video/audio synch issue, and we frequently have to get our materiual published very quickly and almost exclusively have moved to DSLR cameras in our work. The addition of external microphone jacks, the ability to select an almost unlimited choice of glass, and  the ease of use makes a Nikon DSLR perfect for our work flow. FYI, we have tried several other video editing programs similar in price, and none have issue editing the Nikon HD video and audio. I prefer the intuitive, pleasant to navigate, and effective editing platform offered by Roxio....if only the software would be corrected to properly edit DSLR video, I'd use nothing else unless editing for TV.

#7 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 06 October 2012 - 04:44 AM

Slow news day?
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#8 patricia gosse

patricia gosse

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:58 AM

I am facing similar problems with a gap between audio and video; this only occurs when editing the video through videowave and if the video comes from a canon recorder
Is there a solution to settle this matter?
Thanks

#9 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:13 AM

View Postpatricia gosse, on 01 December 2012 - 03:58 AM, said:

I am facing similar problems with a gap between audio and video; this only occurs when editing the video through videowave and if the video comes from a canon recorder
Is there a solution to settle this matter?
Thanks

Except for the last two posts, that earlier discussion is from Feb.   The original poster  hasn't been back since then so we don't know if the poster was able to solve the problem.  We have to assume he did.

Please start your own thread and provide this information (link)and also the dxdiag information on your computer (link). Please also state what a Canon recorder is (model); do you mean a Canon Camcorder?  Are the video files mov format?
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users