Jump to content

Roxio Community

Can No Longer Open My Dvd Nor Videowave


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Larna

Larna

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:UK

Posted 08 March 2012 - 02:09 AM

I haven't used Roxio for about 12 months but it was working perfectly last time.  

Looking at some forums, it seems that IE can cause this problem although I really don't understand how.  I have IE8, but can't remember when I upgraded.  Currently I use Google Chrome as I find it quicker, but IE8 is still on my PC.

I need to create a simple DVD using photos and a short video of a Golden Wedding the other day, and they are all waiting to see it! Help!  (I have made a few DVDs before, very successfully, using this same software)
Dell Dimension 5150 Desktop pentium 4
Roxio 'My DVD Premier Suite 8'
HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GWA4164B. Firmware E113.
Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit Advanced HD
ATI Radeon X600 256MB HyperMemory graphics card (0x5B62)
Windows XP Home Edition
Intel® Pentium® 4CPU 3.00 GHz
ACPI Multiprocessor PC
146GB storage (92GB free)
1024MB RAM (397MB available memory)
WMP Version 11.0.5721.5280
IE8
Dell Inspiron 1525 Laptop
Intel® Celeron® CPU 550@ 2.00GHz;
Windows Vista Home Premium
TSST corp DVD+-RWTS-L632H ATA Device
2GB RAM
160GB hard drive

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 08 March 2012 - 04:13 AM

View PostLarna, on 08 March 2012 - 02:09 AM, said:

I haven't used Roxio for about 12 months but it was working perfectly last time.  

Looking at some forums, it seems that IE can cause this problem although I really don't understand how.  I have IE8, but can't remember when I upgraded.  Currently I use Google Chrome as I find it quicker, but IE8 is still on my PC.

I need to create a simple DVD using photos and a short video of a Golden Wedding the other day, and they are all waiting to see it! Help!  (I have made a few DVDs before, very successfully, using this same software)

IE 9 doesn't cause any issues.  IE 9 BETA was a cause of many problems.

What did you do with your computer in the last year?  Did you upgrade the operating system to Vista or Windows 7?  

Are you getting any error messages?   What happens, you did say if the Easy media Creator doesn't open, if Video Wave doesn't open, if you are getting any error messages so that is important.

When was the last time you did any computer maintenance?

What kind of video are you trying to add?  Where did you get it (type of camcorder).  

You gave us some information but not a lot of details, please give us more so we can help.
PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#3 Larna

Larna

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:UK

Posted 08 March 2012 - 07:23 AM

View Postsknis, on 08 March 2012 - 04:13 AM, said:

IE 9 doesn't cause any issues.  IE 9 BETA was a cause of many problems.

What did you do with your computer in the last year?  Did you upgrade the operating system to Vista or Windows 7?  

Are you getting any error messages?   What happens, you did say if the Easy media Creator doesn't open, if Video Wave doesn't open, if you are getting any error messages so that is important.

When was the last time you did any computer maintenance?

What kind of video are you trying to add?  Where did you get it (type of camcorder).  

You gave us some information but not a lot of details, please give us more so we can help.

As soon as I click on Videowave I just get a pop up window saying that 'VideoWave 8 has encountered a problem and needs to close', and to 'Please tell Microsoft about this problem'. Same thing happens with 'My DVD'.  I have not even had a chance to add any video but it is only about 4 minutes long taken with a Sony Camcorder which I have used before.
From time to time I do run defrag, and back up all my files to an external drive.
Can't remember if I have done anything to my PC in the last year that would affect this software, but I am not a technical person so my use is just mainly just surfing the internet, and sending an occasional email.
Dell Dimension 5150 Desktop pentium 4
Roxio 'My DVD Premier Suite 8'
HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GWA4164B. Firmware E113.
Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit Advanced HD
ATI Radeon X600 256MB HyperMemory graphics card (0x5B62)
Windows XP Home Edition
Intel® Pentium® 4CPU 3.00 GHz
ACPI Multiprocessor PC
146GB storage (92GB free)
1024MB RAM (397MB available memory)
WMP Version 11.0.5721.5280
IE8
Dell Inspiron 1525 Laptop
Intel® Celeron® CPU 550@ 2.00GHz;
Windows Vista Home Premium
TSST corp DVD+-RWTS-L632H ATA Device
2GB RAM
160GB hard drive

#4 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 08 March 2012 - 07:44 AM

Just to make sure.  Are you trying to open the program on your laptop?  It won't work because it is not compatible with Vista.
For the desk top, do you have all the Xp updates installed?

Edited by sknis, 08 March 2012 - 07:49 AM.

PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#5 ogdens

ogdens

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

Posted 08 March 2012 - 08:05 AM

View PostLarna, on 08 March 2012 - 07:23 AM, said:

As soon as I click on Videowave I just get a pop up window saying that 'VideoWave 8 has encountered a problem and needs to close', and to 'Please tell Microsoft about this problem'. Same thing happens with 'My DVD'.  I have not even had a chance to add any video but it is only about 4 minutes long taken with a Sony Camcorder which I have used before.
From time to time I do run defrag, and back up all my files to an external drive.
Can't remember if I have done anything to my PC in the last year that would affect this software, but I am not a technical person so my use is just mainly just surfing the internet, and sending an occasional email.


Here are the System Requirements for EMC 8   http://kb.roxio.com/...S=set-locale=en

#6 Larna

Larna

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:UK

Posted 08 March 2012 - 08:33 AM

View Postogdens, on 08 March 2012 - 08:05 AM, said:

Here are the System Requirements for EMC 8   http://kb.roxio.com/...S=set-locale=en

Thanks ogdens but from what I can understand I seem to have all the system requirements as I have been using 'My DVD Premier Suite 8' on & off for a few years and have created a few successful DVDs.
Dell Dimension 5150 Desktop pentium 4
Roxio 'My DVD Premier Suite 8'
HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GWA4164B. Firmware E113.
Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit Advanced HD
ATI Radeon X600 256MB HyperMemory graphics card (0x5B62)
Windows XP Home Edition
Intel® Pentium® 4CPU 3.00 GHz
ACPI Multiprocessor PC
146GB storage (92GB free)
1024MB RAM (397MB available memory)
WMP Version 11.0.5721.5280
IE8
Dell Inspiron 1525 Laptop
Intel® Celeron® CPU 550@ 2.00GHz;
Windows Vista Home Premium
TSST corp DVD+-RWTS-L632H ATA Device
2GB RAM
160GB hard drive

#7 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,883 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 March 2012 - 08:35 AM

View PostLarna, on 08 March 2012 - 07:23 AM, said:

As soon as I click on Videowave I just get a pop up window saying that 'VideoWave 8 has encountered a problem and needs to close', and to 'Please tell Microsoft about this problem'. Same thing happens with 'My DVD'.  I have not even had a chance to add any video but it is only about 4 minutes long taken with a Sony Camcorder which I have used before.
From time to time I do run defrag, and back up all my files to an external drive.
Can't remember if I have done anything to my PC in the last year that would affect this software, but I am not a technical person so my use is just mainly just surfing the internet, and sending an occasional email.

In post #1 you state you are using IE8. I believe that this IE version breaks EMC 8, it definitely breaks EMC 7/7.5

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
Intel® 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#8 Larna

Larna

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:UK

Posted 08 March 2012 - 08:36 AM

View Postsknis, on 08 March 2012 - 07:44 AM, said:

Just to make sure.  Are you trying to open the program on your laptop?  It won't work because it is not compatible with Vista.
For the desk top, do you have all the Xp updates installed?

No I don't use my laptop for making DVDs, only my desktop.  My desktop is set up to automatically install all updates.
Dell Dimension 5150 Desktop pentium 4
Roxio 'My DVD Premier Suite 8'
HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GWA4164B. Firmware E113.
Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit Advanced HD
ATI Radeon X600 256MB HyperMemory graphics card (0x5B62)
Windows XP Home Edition
Intel® Pentium® 4CPU 3.00 GHz
ACPI Multiprocessor PC
146GB storage (92GB free)
1024MB RAM (397MB available memory)
WMP Version 11.0.5721.5280
IE8
Dell Inspiron 1525 Laptop
Intel® Celeron® CPU 550@ 2.00GHz;
Windows Vista Home Premium
TSST corp DVD+-RWTS-L632H ATA Device
2GB RAM
160GB hard drive

#9 Larna

Larna

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:UK

Posted 08 March 2012 - 08:38 AM

View Postmyguggi, on 08 March 2012 - 08:35 AM, said:

In post #1 you state you are using IE8. I believe that this IE version breaks EMC 8, it definitely breaks EMC 7/7.5

"Breaks" it?!  Oh no.  Can it be mended?
Dell Dimension 5150 Desktop pentium 4
Roxio 'My DVD Premier Suite 8'
HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GWA4164B. Firmware E113.
Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit Advanced HD
ATI Radeon X600 256MB HyperMemory graphics card (0x5B62)
Windows XP Home Edition
Intel® Pentium® 4CPU 3.00 GHz
ACPI Multiprocessor PC
146GB storage (92GB free)
1024MB RAM (397MB available memory)
WMP Version 11.0.5721.5280
IE8
Dell Inspiron 1525 Laptop
Intel® Celeron® CPU 550@ 2.00GHz;
Windows Vista Home Premium
TSST corp DVD+-RWTS-L632H ATA Device
2GB RAM
160GB hard drive

#10 Larna

Larna

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:UK

Posted 13 March 2012 - 10:30 AM

View PostLarna, on 08 March 2012 - 08:38 AM, said:

"Breaks" it?!  Oh no.  Can it be mended?
I still can't open My DVD or Videowave, and I really hope that IE8 hasn't broken it as I don't want to have to buy new software.  

I was perfectly happy with My DVD 8, and don't use it very often so don't really want to spend more money especially as I am a pensioner.

Anyone with any ideas?
Dell Dimension 5150 Desktop pentium 4
Roxio 'My DVD Premier Suite 8'
HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GWA4164B. Firmware E113.
Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit Advanced HD
ATI Radeon X600 256MB HyperMemory graphics card (0x5B62)
Windows XP Home Edition
Intel® Pentium® 4CPU 3.00 GHz
ACPI Multiprocessor PC
146GB storage (92GB free)
1024MB RAM (397MB available memory)
WMP Version 11.0.5721.5280
IE8
Dell Inspiron 1525 Laptop
Intel® Celeron® CPU 550@ 2.00GHz;
Windows Vista Home Premium
TSST corp DVD+-RWTS-L632H ATA Device
2GB RAM
160GB hard drive




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users