27 replies to this topic

#1 Anasazi

Anasazi

Rookie

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 29 March 2012 - 03:30 PM

Looking for a solution to Videowave crashes.  Most often occurs when I right-click my mouse, such as to cut & paste a video clip to a different location.  Today it crashed when I backspaced on a blank title page.  

I have been using Roxio Creator 2011 since Feb 2011, was so frustrated with frequent crashes that I switched to Avid Studio 1 month ago.  Even more crashes, way more complicated and time consuming than Roxio, so I was lucky Best Buy refunded me, despite their no software return policy.  But I did learn about Forums so am now seeking solutions here since Roxio meets my basic video editing and dvd burning needs.  

Is there a patch for this problem, or is it fixed in 2012 version?  I have been reluctant to upgrade since I don't need or want more features, just no crashes.

I use an HP Envy 3D laptop, which runs hot, so bought a chill pad last night, since when the fan goes on it seems to prompt a Roxio crash.  But still it crashed last night (and it wasn't hot) and again just now.

Also thought a potential issue was inadequate connection with mouse since I was using a wireless mouse (because the built in keypad placement is awkward), so I got a wired mouse.  Better connection, but still the crash.

Suggestions?
Many thanks!
Anasazi's computer:

HP Envy 17 Notebook PC 1190 NR
Intel ® Core TMi7 cpu
Q720@ 1.60 GHZ
6.00 GB Ram
64 bit OS
Windows 7 (2009) Home Premium - Service Pack 1

#2 cdanteek

cdanteek

Digital Guru

• Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,211 posts

Posted 29 March 2012 - 03:44 PM

View PostAnasazi, on 29 March 2012 - 03:30 PM, said:

Looking for a solution to Videowave crashes.  Most often occurs when I right-click my mouse, such as to cut & paste a video clip to a different location.  Today it crashed when I backspaced on a blank title page.