Jump to content

Roxio Community

Graphics Card


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 antski74

antski74

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 10 April 2012 - 11:45 AM

Im having a few problems with creator 2012 and was wondering if my graphics card is good enough. i am running a radeon x800 series. but i am having problems with text on my productions looking jagged and blurry when i view them in my dvd and from dvds i have burnt. problem also shows up when i view my saved productions from my hard disk. all text and transitions and effects work fine in videowave and look good!!

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 10 April 2012 - 04:22 PM

View Postantski74, on 10 April 2012 - 11:45 AM, said:

Im having a few problems with creator 2012 and was wondering if my graphics card is good enough. i am running a radeon x800 series. but i am having problems with text on my productions looking jagged and blurry when i view them in my dvd and from dvds i have burnt. problem also shows up when i view my saved productions from my hard disk. all text and transitions and effects work fine in videowave and look good!!

When you burn the projects to the DVD, are you selecting "Fit to disc"" ?   Never use fit; it gives lousy results. Always selet HQ (High Quality)  Also burn to a ISO file or a folder set especially oif the project may be close to or over one hour.  Use Copy and Convert to burn the ISO or folder set to the DVD as a separate process.

Also remember that if you are looking at your computer, then that is usually high resolution.  When you butn to disc, unless you are burning a blu-ray or AVCHD disc, then the resolution is 720 by 480.
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#3 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,580 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 April 2012 - 04:29 PM

Have you tried it using Software Render?

In VideoWave, Tools-Options-Render. (the default is Hardware even if it doesn't work too well ;) )
Posted Image

#4 antski74

antski74

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 April 2012 - 03:04 AM

Thanks for replys. First skins i allways use standard play when burning dvds as i know dvds get very twitchy when you use up too much space! I have burned an iso file and then played it back using roxios own player and get the same results. Wondering why it kooks fine in video wave but not anywhere else. Is it to do with how its being rendered? I had roxio creator 9xe before and never had this problem. Jim i will have a look at those settings and let you know.

#5 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,580 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 April 2012 - 07:04 AM

Ok, keep us informed!

Can you provide the specific settings of your Output and details to what text (font & size?; color?; moving or still?) so we can attempt to duplicate your results ;)
Posted Image

#6 antski74

antski74

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 April 2012 - 08:45 AM

Will have a look. I can tell you now that i have tried quite a few different text fonts and size to see if it happens and get same results. All looks good in video wave so i save it and then go to my dvd. When i preview my production there the text is now blurry or jaggedy. So to stop wasting dvds i follwed the tutorial on saving project as iso file so i can view it as a virtual dvd using roxio cinne player. And it plays back the same with blured or jaggedy text. I normaly use fade in and fade out on my credits but ive try fly from top and its the same problem.

#7 antski74

antski74

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 12:36 PM

ok i have been experimenting the last few days. i was wrong about the text looking bad in my dvd its fine in videowave and my dvd. the problem shows up once i burn an iso file and view it back or if i burn a dvd. i tried using software to render but found the same problem and it also stoped me using the text effects like add black edge or glow things like that. i tried using high quality as suggested by skins and indeed this did improve things greatly. my problem with that is tou run out of disc space real fast on high qaulity and i was able to use standard play in roxio 9xe with no problems with text or quality. i have since took roxio off my pc and reinstalled it and now i find i have lost a lot of the different texts to use in videowave and when you poen up transitions or effects all the thumbnails have question marks on them!!!!!!! they work when you select one but just no thumdnail anymore. aaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrhhhhhhhhhhhhh !!!!!!!

#8 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,580 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 April 2012 - 02:30 AM

A DVD is 720 X 480, andwhen rendered at HQ, 9mpbs... That is as good as it will ever be!

Now when you reduce the Quality, either the 720 or 480 or the MBPS to make something fit, you loose video detail rapidly!!!

At HQ, a DVD holds either 1 hour for a 4.7 GB or 2 hours for a 8.5 GB disc.

Just as you can't drive a car at 75 mph and get 40 mpg, these are facts of life :lol:

Use a larger disc but stay in the Time Limits is you want Quality  ;)
Posted Image

#9 antski74

antski74

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 20 April 2012 - 01:44 AM

Its the titles that i create using videowave that seem to suffer, the actual video footage comes out fine. I was able to create dvds on standard play using roxio creator9xe and they all come out fine and the titles i created allways looked good. Do you think i need a better graphics card for this version?

#10 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,580 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 April 2012 - 02:12 AM

It would make no difference. If you choose to abandon the guidelines I gave you, nothing can make up for the lack of quality :(
Posted Image

#11 antski74

antski74

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 20 April 2012 - 03:38 AM

Ok thanks for your input ill try creating a dvd in high quality and burn it to disc and see how it comes out. Any reason as to why it worked fine with my older copy of roxio and why i no longer get the thumbnail pictures for transitions and effects?

#12 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,195 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 April 2012 - 05:14 AM

View Postantski74, on 20 April 2012 - 03:38 AM, said:

Ok thanks for your input ill try creating a dvd in high quality and burn it to disc and see how it comes out. Any reason as to why it worked fine with my older copy of roxio and why i no longer get the thumbnail pictures for transitions and effects?

I haven't read this entire thread again, but go to the folder where you save your VideoWave projects.  You should see 2 files with your project name.  One has a .dmsm file extension, and the other file has a .dat extension.  Delete the file with the .dat extension.  Open VideoWave, and see if you have everything back the way it is supposed to be.

Also, in VideoWave, go to Tools/Options, and clear the Proxy files.  Close VideoWave, and open it again.
Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

Main System:
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard; Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
PLEXTOR Black DVD Burner, Model PX-880SA; Pioneer Black 8X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R Burner
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670 2GB Video Card
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series Sound Card
Windows XP Pro w/SP3

Backup Computer:
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Windows 7 Pro w/SP1

#13 antski74

antski74

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 08:58 AM

Hi grandpabruce tried your suggestions didnt change anything im affraid! I still have no images of transitions or effects. When i click on them the window opens up with all the choices of transitions or effects but all the squares have question marks on them. They do work if you select one and preview it and if you add it to your production. Still cant solve the blurry text credits when i make a dvd.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users