Jump to content

Roxio Community

Copied Dvd Won't Play On Dvd Player


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Phillies Phan

Phillies Phan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 01:41 PM

I tried to copy my first DVD (home made and burnt from Adobe Premier) using Roxio Easy CD and DVD Burning software.  I am using Windows XP and the software box states that it is compatible with XP.  The program appeared to copy OK, but when I tried to play it on any of my DVD players or back on the computer  it didn't play.  I read somewhere in one of the forums that maybe I should have "finalized" the DVD.  When I next tried to do this the program told me I couldn't finalize a DVD+RW.  However, I am using DVD+R only so it should have finalized.  It was then that I noticed that when I went to try another copy thet the "Destination Selection" portion of the control panel showed _NEC DVD+RW (E:) when I am using just +R.  Would that cause a problem?  Is there any  way to chenge the "Destination Selection" to show that I am using only +R discs?  This may have been why the program wouldn't let me finalize the disc.

Also when I used Windows Explorer to look at both the original and the copied disc the same files were on both discs.  It would seem that the copy burnt OK but something is missing to allow the copied disc to play on my DVD players.

I would certainly appreciate any suggestions as I have spent considerable time on this project with no good results so far.

Thanks,
Phillie Phan

#2 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,381,910 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 03 August 2012 - 02:46 PM

Phillie Phan,

I'm pretty sure that what's showing in your Destination Selection panel related to your DRIVE rather than the DISC that's in the drive.
Can you tell us your 'Drive ID' please.

You can find that by opening Device Manager > DVD/CD-Rom drives like this, and telling us what you see where I've marked mine with a red mark.

dm.jpg


[1] How did you copy the disc? Did you just use the simple 'Copy Disc' item in the Copy menu, or did you make an image first and then burn from the image, or some other method?

[2] What does your burned disc show if you go down to Tools > Disc Information?
Mine below shows DVD+R, Closed, Data. Depending on what sort of disc you copied, yours might show something different.

disc info.jpg

[3] What does the disc made by Adobe show in Disc Info?



Regards,
Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
DVDRW IDE 16X, in Windws XP, 7, and 8

So, what happens now?

#3 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,527 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 August 2012 - 02:49 AM

Just so you know, Plus discs do not need to be finalized so it can't be done regardless of whether they are +R or +RW ;)
Posted Image

#4 Phillies Phan

Phillies Phan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:16 AM

Hello Brendon,

First let me thank you for taking the time to help me out!  As I am sure you could tell from my post, while I like to use programs such as Adobe Premier and Photoshop, etc. I am light years away from being a computer expert.  As a result, the problems I have been having with Roxio Easy CD and DVD Burning have really frustated me this past week.

Now for the answers to your questions.  I made the disc copy by using the simple "Disc Copy" routine.  I placed the original in my Samsung DVD-ROM SD-616T drive, and the disc to be copied in my _NEC DVD+RW ND-1100A drive (I hope this also answers your question as to "Drive ID").  I then clicked the "Copy Disc" button.

The original, Adobe produced disc shows the following in "Disc Info":  (Note: the Selected drive information below is for the burner drive that I used to make the copy.  The drive I used for the original is the Samsung drive listed above.  I couldn't get the "disc Info" for the disc using the Samsung drive.)  The rest of the information if for the original:
  Selected Drive
   Manufacturer & Model   _NEC DVD+RW ND-1100A
   Firmware revision 108B
   Supported media   CD-ROM, CD-R, CD-RW, DVD-ROM, DVD+R, DVD+RW
  Inserted disc
   Disc type   DVD+RW, Open, DVD-Video, Erasable
   No. of zones 1
   Free space    110.8MB (56,720 Sections)
   Used space   4,371.8MB (2,238,384 sections)
  DiscSessions and Tracks
   DVD+RW, Open, DVD-Video, Erasable
   Border 1
01-Zone-Easter Island Part 1   0:00 (000000) 4,371.8MB(2238.....

The information for the copied disc is:

  Selected drive  (Info is same as above.)
  Inserted disc
   Disc type   DVD+R, Closed, DVD Video
   Free space   0.0MB (0 sectors)
   Used space   1,571.8MB (804,800 sectors)
  DVD Sessions and Tracks
   DVD+R, Closed, DVD VIdeo
   Border 1
   01-Zone-Easter Island Part 1   0:00 (000000) 1,571.8MB (8048.....   

Is the fact that I am trying to copy a DVD+RW onto a DVD+R blanc disc a problem?

Once again thanks for your interest and help!

Best regards,
Bill (Phillie Phan)

#5 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,381,910 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 04 August 2012 - 04:27 PM

Hello Bill,
Sorry to get here so late in the day - I'm in a different time zone and our hockey girls were just playing yours in the Olympics :)

View PostPhillies Phan, on 04 August 2012 - 06:16 AM, said:

<snip>
  Inserted disc
   Disc type   DVD+RW, Open, DVD-Video, Erasable
   No. of zones 1
   Free space    110.8MB (56,720 Sections)
   Used space   4,371.8MB (2,238,384 sections)
  DiscSessions and Tracks
   DVD+RW, Open, DVD-Video, Erasable
   Border 1
01-Zone-Easter Island Part 1   0:00 (000000) 4,371.8MB(2238.....

The information for the copied disc is:

  Inserted disc
   Disc type   DVD+R, Closed, DVD Video
   Free space   0.0MB (0 sectors)
   Used space   1,571.8MB (804,800 sectors)
  DVD Sessions and Tracks
   DVD+R, Closed, DVD VIdeo
   Border 1
   01-Zone-Easter Island Part 1   0:00 (000000) 1,571.8MB (8048.....   

Is the fact that I am trying to copy a DVD+RW onto a DVD+R blanc disc a problem?

There is a +RW in your drive's ID string and that can't be changed. It doesn't affect operations.
It shouldn't be a problem that the source is an RW disc while the destination is an R disc, but I see something has gone wrong with the copy.

Copy disc closed the destination +R disc as it should, but if you look at the 'Used Space' field you'll see that only 1572 MB out of the 4372 MB on the source disc actually made it over to the destination.

I don't know why that happened, but that will be the reason that the destination disc won't play. If you OPEN the discs in Windows Explorer you'll see a VIDEO_TS folder, and in that folder you should see a bunch of .VOB, .IFO, and .BUP files. Compare those files on source and destination, and you should find the destination is short a whole bunch .

Okay, we've worked out what has happened, but not why. At this point I'd be repeating things over and over to find out [because I'm like that] but you want to copy your disc rather than doing an autopsy on the process.
There is another process available to you which should work, and I'd like you to try it if you will. . . .

Would you please go back to the Copy menu, and make an image of your original to an .ISO file on your hard drive, as long as you have the room. Then once you've done that, burn the disc image to disc. Then tell me how it went.

copy.jpg

This is doing in two stages what the 'Copy Disc' module should have done in one operation. It should image the disc to a temp file, and then write that file to the destination. We're just doing that a bit more deliberately.
Once you've written a successful copy, you can delete the image we made if you want.

Regards,
Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
DVDRW IDE 16X, in Windws XP, 7, and 8

So, what happens now?

#6 Phillies Phan

Phillies Phan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 09:17 AM

Hello Brendon,

Thanks for your response.  I followed your suggestion and compared both the original disc and the copy in Windows Explorer.  Here's a good one!!  The Video_TS folder for both shows 4.21GB and 11 files.  Looking at each file in the Video_TS folders for both the original and copy discs shows exactly the same files and sizes.

Visually observing the working side of the original disc shows that most of the disc was burnt.  However, looking at the working side of the copy disc shows a much smaller protion of the disc has been written on, which agrees with what the "Disc Info" in Roxia showed and I reported above.  I wonder why Windows Explorer thinks both discs contain the same info?

I will now try your suggestion to make an .ISO file of the original disc on my hard drive and then burn it to a blank disc.

Thanks for sticking with me!

Best regards,
Bill

#7 Brendon

Brendon

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • -8,381,910 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, N.Z.

Posted 05 August 2012 - 04:25 PM

Hi Bill,

That's a strange one. The 'Table of Contents' has been written across so Windows Explorer thinks the files are all there, but the actual contents obviously haven't all made it over. I don't remember ever seeing that before.

I wish you success with the ISO. It will be the size of the contents plus a little extra for disc system structures, so you'll be able to see if it's close to 1600 MB or 4400 MB before you go to burn the image to plastic.

Cheers,
Brendon
P4 @3.20GHz on Albatron PX-865PE Pro II with 2GB DDR-SDRAM, FX5900XT video, Viewsonic monitors,
DVDRW IDE 16X, in Windws XP, 7, and 8

So, what happens now?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users