Jump to content

Roxio Community

Error:unable To Load Skin

unable to load skin

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 QuizicalGin

QuizicalGin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 10 September 2012 - 04:35 PM

Roxio has become the bane off my computer and dvd burning experience for that infuriating error. After digging through google and yahoo answers other than "download MSXML 4" to replace something else, updating directX, updating media player, and reinstalling the flipping software nothing has come up.

My problems all began when I used roxio 2010. After using the program for over a year I would notice that even small files made the program say I was overloading the discs I was using (4.7gb). With that frustrating development it meant that a lot of what I wanted to burn I couldn't. From there I stupidly thought "well hey maybe 2011 will be better". I couldn't have possibly been more wrong.

After a clean install of the program and at first start up I got the message saying that roxio needed to update and configure itself then said it needed a reboot. Well, several reboots later I ignored that message and just tried to use the program. Only to find much to my dismay the very function I wanted to use couldn't work since the title would pop up in the dialogue box. Well after a dig through the net and exhausting the few options I could find I said "screw this load of bull I'll just reinstall 2010". Again couldn't have been more flipping wrong. To my even greater displeasure it started showing the very same messages.

After all of that I'm at hair tearing levels of frustration and brought to my knees and to flipping tears because it won't work no matter what I've tried to do to a T to get it to work again. Please please I seriously need help here. Dell N4010 with Windows 7 home premium

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 11 September 2012 - 03:56 AM

Please let us look at your laptop other than having each of us search for it.  Attach (not copy and paste) the text file from the dxdiag.exe evaluation.  Follow these instructions.  http://forums.suppor...rivers-windows/

Also are you using the same language for both Windows and Creator?   If you Googled for that error, you saw that it was associated with other video editing programs also.

Edited by sknis, 11 September 2012 - 04:03 AM.

PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#3 QuizicalGin

QuizicalGin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 11 September 2012 - 01:08 PM

Alrighty file attached and yes they are the same languages since english is the only language I can speak and read. Forgive me if I come across as crass but to me I've already gone through far too much trouble just to get a simple program to work. It's a wonder I'm not bald from all my hair tearing. x.x;

Attached Files



#4 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 11 September 2012 - 04:38 PM

What is that crash all about?  Have you been having other problems?

Your video driver is over 2 years old  ( 7/20/2010) update it directly from Intel; do not trust Windows to do a proper job.   Go here to do that.
PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#5 QuizicalGin

QuizicalGin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 11 September 2012 - 05:14 PM

Downloading now. I just get the "unable to load skins" thing to my knowledge everything else seems to work fine. it still bewilders me why both 10 and 11 would repeatedly say it needs to configure on start up then claim to require a reboot. Aside from that no other issues.

Edit: crap in a hat. I get a message saying my laptop doesn't meet the minimum requirements for the driver x.x

Edit again: After some looking to see why I honestly have no idea what driver to install. Could you tell me please?

Edited by QuizicalGin, 11 September 2012 - 05:47 PM.


#6 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 12 September 2012 - 03:05 AM

I'm beginning to believe that you are having more problems than just those with Creator.   Please read the following closely.  

How much experience do you have with computers and with video editing?

Are you sure you updated msxml 4? I would strongly suggest you do an update to your computer using this guide (link).  Do not update the firmware for your DVD burner (yet).

You have "Intel® HD Graphics".  I got that from the dxdiag file you posted.  Go here and read the options.  One of them is to do an automatic detection and installation.

Always tun off your anti-virus temporarily when you are installing new software or drivers.  Some of them can block things from being written to you computer's registry.

If it were me, after updating your drivers, I would do a clean uninstall of the Roxio programs, turn off your anti-virus and reinstall.  I'm not sure a repair will do it.

Look at the pinned posts at the top of the Install/Uninstall part of this forum (Creator 2010).  There is a procedure to do a clean uninstall/install.   If that is too involved for you, come back and we can suggest a different way of doing it.

Edited by sknis, 12 September 2012 - 03:17 AM.

PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#7 QuizicalGin

QuizicalGin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:31 PM

when it comes to computers I'm no expert but I'm no novice either. Yes I'm sure I replaced the msxml and as far as my anti virus I have norton. I wouldn't be surprised if it was banging a hammer on a nut and bolt. I can't seem to download the utility at all even with the firewall off so I'm digging to find the one I need. I think I'll just scrap norton since I've got two other programs that do its job and don't mess anything up like it does. I've had nothing but issues since it's install.

#8 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 13 September 2012 - 01:13 PM

How many anti-virus pieces of software are you running at one time? :blink:  Did you have all the anti-virus programs turned off when you did the latest installs?
PC  
Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin):  Windows 8.1 64 bit, I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#9 QuizicalGin

QuizicalGin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 13 September 2012 - 02:25 PM

Not that many really just a file cleanup and malware bits to pick up nortons slack.  That might be my issue then *face palms* lemme give that a go

edit: also I can't update my driver from intel. According to the utility which finally decided to work my laptop is using a generic that dell uses and that I can't get squat from them and the Dell site doesn't look like it even has an update. Probably why I though my comp was still all up to date. I throw my hands up at this. I'll just give installing roxio with all walls down and see how that goes (figures its the one thing I forget *facepalms again* )

Edited by QuizicalGin, 13 September 2012 - 02:42 PM.


#10 QuizicalGin

QuizicalGin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 14 September 2012 - 11:44 AM

Ok having the anti virus off didn't help and I can't update my graphics driver for whatever reason





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: unable to load skin

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users