Jump to content

Roxio Community

M2Ts File Format

Does NXT work with m2ts files

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Norman1955

Norman1955

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Malabar, FL

Posted 18 September 2012 - 03:38 AM

I have a Sony HD avchd camera.  I used C2011 to work m2ts files and everything sorted correctly (1,2,3,4 etc)  on two vacations,  after reformating the HDD and 3 weeks in Sweden C2011 sorts 1,3,6,2,5 etc.  TechSup said it does not support the format.  WORKED BEFORE!  Does NTX support m2ts and sort correctly?  Thanks

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 18 September 2012 - 04:16 AM


Input Formats:


  • Video: AVI, DV, HDV, DV-AVI, MPEG-1/2/4, MPEG2-HD, DVD-Video, DVR-MS, TiVo, ASF, MOV, WMV, QuickTime, 3GP, MPE2 Transport Stream, AVC(H.264), AVCHD, 3D over/under full and half-height, side-by-side full and half-width, 3D MPO
  • Audio: Audio CD, MP3, WAV, WMA, Dolby® Digital AC-3, AAC, Ogg Vorbis, FLAC, M4a, MP4, Playlists (WPL, ASX, M3U, PLS, XSPF)
  • Image: 3D MPO, JPG, PNG, TIFF, BMP, GIF, RAW file support from over 300 camera models with PaintShop PRO

PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#3 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,734 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 September 2012 - 05:37 AM

View PostNorman1955, on 18 September 2012 - 03:38 AM, said:

I have a Sony HD avchd camera.  I used C2011 to work m2ts files and everything sorted correctly (1,2,3,4 etc)  on two vacations,  after reformating the HDD and 3 weeks in Sweden C2011 sorts 1,3,6,2,5 etc.  TechSup said it does not support the format.  WORKED BEFORE!  Does NTX support m2ts and sort correctly?  Thanks

You will have to explain with more detail what your problem is? Of course Roxio supports the m2ts format and has for several versions. I have no idea what support is talking about when they say it does not support the format. Sorting is done by "windows" and is done alphabetically and depends on the filenames you have created.

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#4 Norman1955

Norman1955

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Malabar, FL

Posted 01 October 2012 - 03:52 AM

sorry for slow responce.  had a few weeks of work.

this is how Roxio sorts the files
20120722082702.m2ts
20120720105759
20120720105945
20120722084937
20120720112115
20120722085024

Windows sorts  correctly while Roxio is out of order.

#5 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 01 October 2012 - 04:51 AM

Yep, strange.  Are they sorted by size or perhaps date of capture?  Right click on them and see if there is anything you can glean from the properties.

Windows sorts alphanumerically. I don't know how the Roxio application sorts -- Edit Video - Advanced.  

What do you need to have them sorted in order?  If you hover over the panel in story-line view, you will see the names of the files. I just tried this with several videos and they all came into VideoWave in order.

I wonder if Video Wave only looks at the first 7 or so characters.  

My suggestion at this point if it is important is to use a free utility to batch rename your files.  I looked at cnet and found this onewhich seems to be ideal (free).  This is not a recommendation for this software but is here for information only.    Here are others.  Read their description carefully.

Edited by sknis, 01 October 2012 - 04:54 AM.

PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#6 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34,228 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:06 AM

FIRST this has absolutly nothing to do with "NXT Sales" and need to be moved! Edit: my bad, missed that!

Aside from that (and I do have to test this) I suspect this is a user error...

However, I really need a lot more info from you on this :huh:

You say 'Roxio doesn't sort right' but there is NOTHING called 'Roxio'.

There are something like 30 programs in the NXT Suite and each and everyone of them have a name... So we need to know the Name of the specific program you are talking about as well as HOW you get the resutls you do - Step by Step...

Then we can play with it and see what happens ;)

Edited by Jim_Hardin, 02 October 2012 - 03:26 AM.
I goofed!

Posted Image

#7 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,734 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 October 2012 - 09:54 AM

View PostNorman1955, on 01 October 2012 - 03:52 AM, said:

sorry for slow responce.  had a few weeks of work.

this is how Roxio sorts the files
20120722082702.m2ts
20120720105759
20120720105945
20120722084937
20120720112115
20120722085024

Windows sorts  correctly while Roxio is out of order.

I created a folder and placed some m2ts files into that folder and then renamed them to the names you show. Roxio C2012 sorts them correctly when you select "names" sort. It is identical to the Windows sort.

When you have the "insert photos/video window" open and are in the folder containing your m2ts video, click on the "sort By" icon and check on which sort method is being used.
I have attached a screenshot of the folder I created containing the files which have been sorted correctly by Roxio. Of course if I sort on one of the other columns
the name order will change.

SortTest.jpg

Edited by myguggi, 01 October 2012 - 09:58 AM.


Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#8 Norman1955

Norman1955

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Malabar, FL

Posted 02 October 2012 - 03:13 AM

Thanks for all the responce.  This is as I said Creator 2011 Pro.  I was asking if the new version has a problem or not.  
I use Video Wave and my OLDER files of trips DO SORT CORRECTLY.  The new trip files  DO NOT SORT.  Name, size, Date created seem to be the date taken from the camera as ALL are the same.  Nothing seems to matter.  I can do ascending and deascending but that is out of order also.  I hope the newer version will correct what ever is wrong, but do not want to order if it too will not sort correctly.
Thanks.

#9 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34,228 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 October 2012 - 03:56 AM

Norman: Sorry, I did miss your reference to Creator 2011, my bad!

I fired up Creator 2011, VideoWave and this is what I get...


With Windows Explorer:

Sort 1.jpg


With VideoWave, Add Photo/Video (note sorting arrow):

Sort 2.jpg


Sorting inverted (I picked all that were shown):

Sort 3.jpg


Inserted Order:

Sort 4.jpg

(they are in the same order I just can't show all of them)


As you can see mine do come in in order, based on the sort that I set up in the Add Photo/Video selector???
Posted Image

#10 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,734 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:10 AM

View PostNorman1955, on 02 October 2012 - 03:13 AM, said:

Thanks for all the responce.  This is as I said Creator 2011 Pro.  I was asking if the new version has a problem or not.  
I use Video Wave and my OLDER files of trips DO SORT CORRECTLY.  The new trip files  DO NOT SORT.  Name, size, Date created seem to be the date taken from the camera as ALL are the same.  Nothing seems to matter.  I can do ascending and deascending but that is out of order also.  I hope the newer version will correct what ever is wrong, but do not want to order if it too will not sort correctly.
Thanks.

I did my sort in C2012 and Jim did his in C2011 and in both cases it works correctly. I would tend to believe that NXT also does it correctly.

Could you post a screenshot of the folder for the photo files as you are using them just like Jim and I have done.

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#11 Norman1955

Norman1955

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Malabar, FL

Posted 02 October 2012 - 11:55 AM

On the left is W7U sort and right is VideoWave sort.roxio capture.JPG
i hope this attachment help as I could not get the screen in the post.

#12 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34,228 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 October 2012 - 01:14 PM

Thanks Norman, that helps!

In the Roxio list, try clicking on the "File Name" then toggle the sort arrow.

See if that makes any difference?

Can anyone else reproduce this behavior???
Posted Image

#13 Norman1955

Norman1955

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Malabar, FL

Posted 05 October 2012 - 03:03 AM

I have had many versions of Creator over time.  This is the first time I ever had this problem.
Tried your suggestion and it make no difference.  Yes the list changes and overall kinda sort A or D but neither direction is as W7 sorts.
Windows 7 Ultimate
6 drives with about 3 Tbites
12G of memory  Task Manager shows 5.5 G in use now

HP HPE-180T system w/dual mons, the system should be working fine.
I think I am about to just give up on this.

#14 Norman1955

Norman1955

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Malabar, FL

Posted 05 October 2012 - 03:21 AM

I just check older folders/files (past trips) and they sort CORRECTLY.  They too are Sony m2ts files.  All taken on the same camera.
What ever this is, happens only with all my new files (over 1000 clips of Sweden, Norway and Denmark)

#15 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 05 October 2012 - 04:37 AM

Are all the other files named the same way 14 characters with date/month/day/plus 6 additional digits?

Have you considered renaming the files since they sort in order?  If you have them in one folder or put them in one folder, you can have Windows rename them as a batch (I just found this out yesterday)  

Rename a file

Right-click the file that you want to rename, and then click Rename.

  • Type the new name, and then press Enter.  If you're prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.
Tip
  • You can also rename several files at one time, which is useful for grouping related items. To do this, select the files, and then follow the steps above. Type one name, and then each of the files will be saved with the new name and a different sequential number at the end (for example, Renamed File (2), Renamed File (3), and so on).
You may want to set up folders for each of the countries/date  and rename the files for the country.  They should still keep the original order.

Edited by sknis, 05 October 2012 - 04:40 AM.

PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#16 Jim_Hardin

Jim_Hardin

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34,228 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 October 2012 - 05:02 AM

Really is strange and it does not look as though anyone else has this problem???

I know I was ripping my hair out one day (DOS days) when someone could not download a perticular file from the server :huh:

Took be quite a while to realize that a space was in front of the filename!

Still curious, I'll send you an IM about this. Look in the upper right:

IM 1.jpg


Posted Image

#17 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,734 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 October 2012 - 06:20 AM

View PostNorman1955, on 05 October 2012 - 03:21 AM, said:

I just check older folders/files (past trips) and they sort CORRECTLY.  They too are Sony m2ts files.  All taken on the same camera.
What ever this is, happens only with all my new files (over 1000 clips of Sweden, Norway and Denmark)

Does it sill happen with any pictures you take now?

Edited by myguggi, 05 October 2012 - 06:21 AM.


Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#18 Norman1955

Norman1955

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Malabar, FL

Posted 07 October 2012 - 04:28 AM

checked picture files from same trip and they sort CORRECTLY

As questioned earlyer, I tried to rename the files.  I did only about 15 files and THAT WORKS.
Why should I have to do that?

#19 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 07 October 2012 - 04:33 AM

View PostNorman1955, on 07 October 2012 - 04:28 AM, said:

checked picture files from same trip and they sort CORRECTLY

As questioned earlyer, I tried to rename the files.  I did only about 15 files and THAT WORKS.
Why should I have to do that?


If we knew that, this thread would have been a lot shorter.  :P

You now have a reasonable workaround that doesn't take a lot of time.  Is that good enough?
PC  Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit  
Velocity Micro ProMagix ©HD 60; evga x58 motherboard, Intel i7 @2.93, 12G RAM, 250G SSD,  EVGA Nvidia 560TI superclocked video card, SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme audio card, Buffalo external blu-ray burner; Creator 2012, Creator NXT2 Pro. PhotoShow 6, VHS to DVD 3Plus and others.

Laptop - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4.  I-7 third generation @2.4,  8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Apple =OSX 10.5
MacBook Pro; 15.4-inch widescreen display, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, 200GB hard drive, 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB of GDDR3 memory.  ILife 08, Toast 10, Final Cut Express 4 and Photoshop 4.

#20 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,734 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 October 2012 - 06:22 AM

View PostNorman1955, on 07 October 2012 - 04:28 AM, said:

checked picture files from same trip and they sort CORRECTLY

As questioned earlyer, I tried to rename the files.  I did only about 15 files and THAT WORKS.
Why should I have to do that?

Does it still happen with any clips you take NOW?

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition  SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users