Jump to content

Roxio Community

Photo

Easy Audio Capture Won't Open


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Ugliduklng

Ugliduklng

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:58 AM

Roxio Easy Media Creator 9
When I click on "easy audio capture" it appears in the tray but no window comes up. Everything else in the software works fine. Can someone please, please help. I've used it many times and it has worked fine... Suddenly... it won't open. Thank you for your time if you have any suggestions I might try.
  • lakeland recording likes this

#2 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 29 September 2012 - 12:28 PM

What operating system are you using? Try opening it from your Windows list of applications rather than from the EMC 9 Home page. I seem to remember that this was a frequent problem for some people. It may be related to a registry cleaner if you have one.

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#3 Ugliduklng

Ugliduklng

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 01:01 PM

Thank you for replying. I'm using Windows Vista Home Premium and don't have registry cleaner. Maybe I need one.

#4 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 29 September 2012 - 01:12 PM

Thank you for replying. I'm using Windows Vista Home Premium and don't have registry cleaner. Maybe I need one.


NO ! Not just No but hell no !

Did you open the program through Windows/All Programs/Roxio etc as I suggested above?

Edited by sknis, 29 September 2012 - 01:14 PM.

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#5 Ugliduklng

Ugliduklng

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 01:15 PM

Yes... I've tried all angles I could think of to open it. It's strange because if you place the pointer over the tray where it indicates it is open, you can see a small pic of it and it appears to even be working as far as picking up sound from the mic, but won't open a window so that you can control it.

#6 sknis

sknis

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hou,Tx

Posted 29 September 2012 - 01:32 PM

Did you simply right click on it and select to un-minimize it . That application may simply be opening in a minimized state. Note that different Windows version have different wording for getting it to full screen.
Also right clcik on it and shut it down and then reopen it from the Windows Application menu.

PC  Desktop -CPU Solutions (Wisconsin): Windows 1064 bit,  I7 -4790k, 16G memory, MSI GeForce N-760 Video Card, 500G SSD, Creator NXT 2Pro

Laptop - Windows 8.1  Ultimate 64 bit
Alienware M17XR4. I-7 third generation @2.4, 8G RAM, 500G SSD, GTX660M, SoundBlaster 3Di,

Laptop - Windows 10

Dell 13 inch convertible.


#7 Ugliduklng

Ugliduklng

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 01:47 PM

Yes. I've tried all that and everything else I can think of with the same results. Frustrating. May be time for a new program.

#8 myguggi

myguggi

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,969 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 September 2012 - 01:51 PM

Yes. I've tried all that and everything else I can think of with the same results. Frustrating. May be time for a new program.


Obviously something has changed (Windows update, you added new programs, etc) on your system since you stated it was working fine and now suddenly doesn't.

Perhaps a uninstall and reinstall might fix the problem.

Walt

Dell Dimension 4500S;Windows XP Home Edition SP3; IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.00GHz, 784MB RAM
(NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 MB memory disabled because of failure)
IntelŪ 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller; DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
SoundMAX Digital Audio
SamsunG CDR/DVD-ROm SM 332B
HLDS GSA-5120D External LG Super-Multi ReWriter
WDC WD400BB-75DEA0, 40 GB HD; Prolific PL3507 Combo External Hard Drive, 80 GB; Maxtor 6 L200R0 USB Hard Drive, 250GB

HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook; Intel Duo CPU 64 bit, T6400 @ 2.0Ghz; 4.0 GB RAM; Vista Home Premium 64bit
Toshiba MK3252GSX ATA 286GB hard drive; HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50L ATA burner
Intel 4Series Express Chipset


#9 Ugliduklng

Ugliduklng

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:15 PM

I guess that's what I'll have to try... start from scratch. I really appreciate your effort in helping and all the time you've spent on this. Thank you again very much, and have a wonderful evening!

#10 grandpabruce

grandpabruce

    Digital Guru

  • Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,628 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 September 2012 - 05:04 PM

Thank you for replying. I'm using Windows Vista Home Premium and don't have registry cleaner. Maybe I need one.


Do you have the 9.1 update installed? If not, EMC 9 may work for awhile in Vista, but it eventually, the software will have problems.

If you don't have the update, you can get it here:

http://www.roxio.com...re_updates.html

Life is good!
GrandpaBruce
Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users