Roxio Community

Photo

Source Gb Vs Used Gb When Creating A Dvd.

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 csmith0916

csmith0916

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 August 2013 - 08:04 AM

I just downloaded Video Lab HD last night and when I add movies to my project, the MBs used are a lot bigger than the actual file source. Is this due to whatever conversion is going on? My source is MP4 and the total is less than 4 GB when I view it in my folder. Even if I put the setting on the Extended Play (EP) it will say that I have used over 6 GB as opposed to the <4 GB that it should be.

Is the software up-converting the source to a better resolution?

Sorry if this is a simple one but I am new to the world of authoring DVDs.

Thanks!

#2 myguggi

myguggi

Digital Guru

• Digital Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,938 posts

Posted 01 August 2013 - 08:30 AM

I just downloaded Video Lab HD last night and when I add movies to my project, the MBs used are a lot bigger than the actual file source. Is this due to whatever conversion is going on? My source is MP4 and the total is less than 4 GB when I view it in my folder. Even if I put the setting on the Extended Play (EP) it will say that I have used over 6 GB as opposed to the <4 GB that it should be.

Is the software up-converting the source to a better resolution?

Sorry if this is a simple one but I am new to the world of authoring DVDs.

Thanks!

File size is almost meaningless when working with video because of the different methods (formats) used to compress/decompress a video.
The important parameter is time: a standard 4.7GB DVD can only hold 60 minutes of video at the best quality setting. Any longer and the video has to be compressed to fit on a DVD with the result that you lose quality.

So how long is the video your are trying to put on a DVD? Keep in mind that your program is "cut-down" version of a full program suite and may well have several features disabled or removed.

Walt